Metadata Development Unit (MDU)

The Metadata Development Unit specializes in creating descriptive and discovery metadata for library resources including monographs, most non-books materials, and digital objects. Catalogers in the Unit apply PCC standards as a default and contribute to the BIBCO, NACO, and SACO cooperative cataloging programs, including the NACO Hebraica Funnel hosted at Stanford.

For questions about the Metadata Development Unit, please contact the unit head Joanna Dyla.

Contact us

Department FAX: (650) 725-1120

Name Initials Phone Email
Dyla, Joanna (Head) JKD (650) 723-2529 jdyla@stanford.edu
Allahyar, Behzad BA (650) 725-3426 behzada@stanford.edu
Czubik, Leszek LWC (650) 725-9259 czubik@stanford.edu
De Groat, Greta GDG (650) 725-0267 gdegroat@stanford.edu
Desai, Prema PAD (650) 721-1049 padesai@stanford.edu
Hughes, Margaret MWH (650) 723-1259 margaret.hughes@stanford.edu
Kim, Soobum SK (650) 725-1112 soobum@stanford.edu
Lerner, Heidi HGL (650) 725-9953 lerner@stanford.edu
Lipkind, Galina GVL (650) 725-4819
galinal@stanford.edu
Rohrbacher, Robert RJR (650) 725-7992 rrohrbac@stanford.edu
Sammons, Harold HHS (650) 725-0269 hsammons@stanford.edu
Teel, Kay KRT (650) 724-7346 kteel@stanford.edu
Tezcan, Asuman ATE (650) 721-6591 atezcan@stanford.edu
Thorsen, Hilary HKT (650) 725-4420 thorsenh@stanford.edu
Yang, Jane JY (650) 725-0280 zshi@stanford.edu

 

Last updated: January 25, 2017
Stanford University/MDU/Joanna Dyla

 

What we do

MARC Cataloging

The Metadata Development Unit (MDU) of the Metadata Department is responsible for original cataloging of monographs of the following types:

  • Rush and priority requests without valid LC subject access points
  • Reference materials without valid LC subject access points
  • Slavic belles lettres
  • Variant editions
  • Microforms with no usable copy
  • U.S. government documents and UN documents
  • Hebrew and Slavic language monographs for Special Collections
  • Other selected monographs in need of original cataloging

as well as original and copy cataloging of:

  • Audio-visual (media) materials
  • Electronic resources (including computer files and internet resources)
  • Serials, including serials for Special Collections
  • Materials in Middle Eastern and Central Asia languages in Arabic script, other languages that use Arabic script
  • Turkish language materials

The Unit does not catalog:

  • Monographs with available copy (copy cataloging done by Monographic Receiving, Acquisitions Department)
  • Monographs with copy but lacking usable call numbers (call numbers assigned by the Classification Unit)
  • Monographs without copy falling outside of scope of the Unit
  • Maps and atlases (cataloged by Branner Earth Sciences Library)
  • Scores and sound recordings (cataloged by Music Library)
  • Monographs for Special Collections Library (cataloged by Special Collections), except for Arabic, Hebrew/Yiddish, Slavic, and Turkish languages
  • Materials in CJK languages

Special projects

Metadata for digital collections

J.Dyla, Stanford University
Last updated: November 23, 2016