skip to page content | skip to main navigation
summary  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help   Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
ENGINEERING LIBRARY
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Subject Guides

Aeronautics and Astronautics | Bioengineering | Civil and Environmental Engineering | Electrical Engineering | Geothermal Engineering | Management Science and Engineering | Materials Science and Engineering | Mechanical Engineering

Aeronautics and Astronautics


Article and Conference Paper Indexes (Click for database details)

 
Return to Table of Contents

Aerospace & High Technology Database (1962-present)

Content: Indexes and abstracts  of articles, technical reports, and theses.   

Subject Coverage: Aeronautics, astronautics, and associated interests of NASA.  

Print Equivalent: International Aerospace Abstracts, produced by the AIAA, and Scientific and Technical Aerospace Reports (STAR), produced by NASA.

Access: An alternative version of the Aerospace & High Technology Database is also available on the WWW as the NTRS

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

AIAA Meetings Papers Database (1963-present)

Content: Index to papers  from 20 to 30 technical conferences annually, covering all aspects of aerospace.  Search by author, title, paper number, conference date and location, for citations to technical papers. To search further back in time, use the Aerospace Database.  

NOTE:  The Engineering Library has all of the AIAA Papers on microfiche. You can also access AIAA papers full-text 2001-present.

Subject Coverage: Contain the most recent discoveries in aerospace and related fields.

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

Business Source Premier (dates of coverage vary by publication)

Content: It provides more than 3,000 full text scholarly publications. In addition to the full text, this database provides indexing and abstracts for nearly 3,800 U.S. and international professional publications, academic journals, and trade magazines.

Subject Coverage: Business, management, finance, and economics. It is a good source for articles on the business and market aspects of aeronautics and astronautics.

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

Engineering Index (1884-present)

Content: Also known as EI/CompendexPlus, this indexes and abstracts approximately 4,500 journals, conferences, and technical reports annually.
Subject Coverage: Aeronautics, Civil, mechanical, industrial, electrical and chemical engineering; electronics and computer science; bio-engineering; energy technology and materials science.

Compendex® is the most comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database in the world. Compendex contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Coverage is from 1969 to present and the database is updated weekly. Combined with the Engineering Index Backfile, the database includes over 9.7 million records and spans back to 1884.

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

INSPEC (1898-present)

Content: INSPEC indexes and abstracts articles from over 4,000 scholarly journals and conferences.

Subject Coverage: The world's scientific and technical literature in physics, electronics, and computing; good for control, fluids, and propulsion

Print Equivalent: Earlier coverage is available in the printed Physics Abstracts (in the Physics Library), Electrical and Electronics Abstracts (in the Engineering Library), and Computer and Control Abstracts (in both the Engineering and Math/CS Libraries).

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

LexisNexis Academic 

Content: Includes full text of news, financial, and general reference publications.  A subset of Lexis-Nexis.

Subject Coverage: This database provides coverage of such journals as Aerospace America, Airline Business, Aviation Week and Space Technology, and Flight International. 

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

NASA Technical Reports Server (NTRS)  (1915-present)

Content: Use this site to search through two million NASA reports from all sites as well as much of the open aerospace literature from 1968. Contains ABSTRACTS ONLY. This database also contains most NACA reports from 1915-1957.

Subject Coverage: Worldwide coverage of literature of interest to the Aerospace community.

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

SAE Publications and Standards Database  (1906-present)

Content:  A comprehensive index to all Society of Automotive Engineer's publications back to 1906. This database indexes SAE's technical papers, special publications, journal articles, and standards. Each record includes bibliographic information (author, title, SAE paper number, etc.) and an abstract.

Subject Coverage: Covers a wide range of subjects in all automotive and aerospace engineering applications including engine performance, aerodynamic design, alternative fuels, materials and manufacturing, and safety.

Access:  On CD-ROM in the Engineering Library.  Request at Circulation Desk.

Print Equivalent: Cumulative Index of SAE Publications in the Engineering Library Indexes section under TL1 .C83.

NOTE: The Engineering Library owns a complete set of SAE Papers.  SAE Standards are included in the SAE Handbook located in the Reference collection under TL151 .S2 

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

SciSearch (1900-present)

Content:  Citations published in Science Citation Index (3,300 journals) and additional records from Current Contents (1,900 journals).   Abstracts beginning with January 1991.  SCI provides a unique approach to searching the literature by allowing the user to take an older article and identifies who has cited that article since it was published.

Subject Coverage: Indexes authors who have been cited in current literature across 100 scientific disciplines.

 
Return to Table of Contents Return to Alphabetical Listing for Indexes

Electronic Journals

 
Return to Table of Contents

Internet Resources

Return to Table of Contents

Organizations

Return to Table of Contents


Engineering Library
engreference@stanford.edu

 

 



Last modified: August 4, 2008

   
seal © Stanford University. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints