Guides & Publications
Resources
in Computer Science | Library
Resources in Math & Statistics | Guide
to Resources in Computer Science | Guide
to Resources in Math & Statistics
Online Resources in Computer Science
(SERG Workshop Handout, 2/19/2002; links updated 9/27/2005)
Socrates, The Library Catalog
http://socrates.stanford.edu/
- This IS the place to find out what books, journals, and technical
reports are owned by the Stanford University Libraries (SUL).
- This IS NOT the place to look for journal, magazine, or newspaper
articles (you will need to use an article index or database for
this).
- TIP: the truncation symbol in Socrates is $, e.g., comput$
finds any word beginning with this stem, including computer, computers,
computing, etc.
- TIP: one of the quickest ways to search for tech reports and
conference proceedings in Socrates is to type the conference name
into the search box and select "Search Everything" or use the
Keyword search box.
Online Guides & Indexes
INSPEC on the Web (1969- )
http://search.lanl.gov/ssplus/jsp/AdvancedSearch.jsp?collection=ins
INSPEC is the premier database in the world that indexes the literature
of physics, electronics, and computing. Coverage online is available
from 1969 to the present. The database is hyperlinked across records
and indexes, as well as to full-text journals of IOP, AIP, APS,
and others.
- TIP: the truncation symbol in INSPEC and other LANL-supplied
databases is *, e.g., comput* finds any word beginning
with this stem, including computer, computers, computing, etc.
Engineering Index (EI) on the
Web (1969- )
http://search.lanl.gov/ssplus/jsp/AdvancedSearch.jsp?collection=eix
Engineering Index, also known as EI/Compendex, indexes articles
in engineering, including computer engineering. Coverage online
is available from 1969 to the present. Coverage beginning in 1884
is available in the printed Engineering Index, located in the Engineering
Library's Reference Indexes Section under the call no. Z5851.E62.
SciSearch (Science Citation Index)
http://search.lanl.gov/ssplus/jsp/AdvancedSearch.jsp?collection=sci
or http://www.isiknowledge.com/
Although articles indexed in SciSearch are from 1974 to the present
(LANL) or from 1945 to the present (Web of Science), references
cited by these articles may be from earlier years. Use the Cited
Reference Search screen to browse by cited author. Unfortunately,
coverage of mathematics, statistics, and computer science journals
in SciSearch has been historically poor compared to other areas
of research, as it doesn't index many important conference proceedings.
- TIP: when searching for an author with a hyphenated last name,
enter it WITHOUT the hyphen, e.g., garciamolina.
Flashpoint
http://flashpoint.lanl.gov/
This service enables searching across all databases available through
the Los Alamos National Lab, including INSPEC, EI, SciSearch, BIOSIS,
Social Sciences Index, and the LANL e-print arXiv. While the results
displayed are not a combined list of citations from all indexes
searched, one can see which database has the most hits for a given
search strategy.
ResearchIndex (a.k.a. CiteSeer;
available to all)
http://citeseer.ist.psu.edu/
This is an autonomously generated digital library and citation
index of the scientific literature, concentrating on computer science.
It has over 400,000 documents and over 5 million citations. Search
terms are displayed in context of the citing document(s), and links
to the full text are included when available online.
- TIP: when searching for an author, use the last name only or
list all variants found in citations separated with "or", e.g.,
john c mitchell or j mitchell or j c mitchell.
Collection of Computer Science
Bibliographies (available to all)
http://liinwww.ira.uka.de/bibliography/index.html
This is a collection of about 1400 bibliographies of computer science
literature from various sources, covering most aspects of computer
science. These bibliographies are updated monthly from their original
locations and converted to BibTeX format in a standardized layout.
The search interface allows you to search all bibliographies at
once. You can also browse the bibliography collection by subject.
The collection currently contains more than one million references
(mostly to journal articles, conference papers and technical reports).
More than 18,000 references contain cross-references to citing or
cited publications. More than 130,000 references contain URLs to
an online version of the paper. There are more than 2000 links to
other sites carrying bibliographic information.
DBLP Computer Science Bibliography
(available to all)
http://www.informatik.uni-trier.de/~ley/db/
The DBLP server provides bibliographic information on major computer
science journals and proceedings. Initially focused on database
systems and logic programming, it is gradually being expanded toward
other fields of computer science. As of 9/2001, the server indexes
more than 226,000 articles and contains several thousand links to
home pages of computer scientists.
Computer Articles database (1988-
)
http://www.dbs.cdlib.org/?CSdb=comp (access cancelled as of 7/15/2005;
use Academic
Search Premier)
The Computer Articles database, available from the California Digital
Library, indexes articles from popular computer trade journals,
including PC World, MacWorld, Computerworld, and Computer Shopper.
Some articles in full text are available. A good place to look for
computer hardware and software reviews.
JCR Web (1997- )
http://www.isiknowledge.com/
Journal Citation Reports, the database of comprehensive statistical
information on journal relevance and relative importance (including
impact factors), is available online as JCR Web. The data used is
drawn from citation indexes such as SciSearch. Stanford has access
to both JCR Web Science Edition, which covers roughly 5000 journals,
and JCR Web Social Sciences Edition, which covers roughly 1500 journals.
Both files include data from 1997 through 2000. Earlier years are
available on microfiche (MFICHE 1815) and CD-ROM at the Physics
Library.
ACM Online Guide to Computing Literature
http://portal.acm.org/guide.cfm
The online version of the ACM print publication, one can search
a substantive bibliographic database from the key publishers in
computing, including books, journals, proceedings and theses. Browsing
by author, subject, and type of publication is available.
Computing Reviews
http://reviews.com
A retooled online version of the ACM print publication, its goal
is to provide expert critiques of published work in the computing
disciplines in a timely manner, and to stimulate online discussion
between the reviewer and readers.
Full-text Resources Online
Lecture Notes in Computer Science
(LNCS & LNAI)
http://link.springer.de/link/service/series/0558/tocs.htm
Selected volumes of Lecture Notes in Computer Science and Lecture
Notes in Artificial Intelligence (published by Springer) are available
online. Most of these are conference proceedings. Links are also
available in Socrates records.
Stanford Dissertations (1987- )
Over 4600 Stanford dissertations from 1987 to the present are available
for download in PDF. For instructions, see the SUL Dissertations
page at
http://library.stanford.edu/depts/ssrg/econ/dissertations.html.
Books24x7
http://library.stanford.edu/books24
The ITPro collection at Books24x7.com is composed of many popular
computer technical books, including selected books from the Dummies
series, Sams, Osbourne/McGraw-Hill, MIT Press, Peachpit Press, and
Sybex. There are also books on computers and society and e-commerce.
There's no need to register unless you want to personalize the site
using the "My Bookshelf" feature.
CogNet
http://cognet.mit.edu/library/
MIT CogNet™ Library Edition, a searchable collection of electronic
texts for cognitive and brain sciences and related fields is available
to Stanford users on the Web. Intended as an online community for
the cognitive and brain sciences, people on the Stanford network
can access full-text articles and books in these subjects, find
links to other reference tools on the Web, and participate in online
discussion groups. More content is added on a regular basis. There's
no need to register unless you wish to personalize your "Workspace"
at the site or to access members-only profile information.
eBrary
http://site.ebrary.com/lib/stanford/
eBrary™ is a searchable collection of electronic texts in
a broad range of fields available to Stanford users on the Web.
There are at least 800 titles dealing with computing in the collection.
Plug-in required. You are charged for copying or printing from the
text.
The Online Books Page (Free online
books)
http://digital.library.upenn.edu/books/
Search or browse over 15,000 listings of books available online
in a wide variety of subjects. However, computer books are listed
with books in mathematics in the QA Library of Congress call number
listing.
Journals & Conference proceedings
http://library.stanford.edu/ejournals
More journals are becoming available online. If you don't find
the electronic journal you're looking for on the list of available
e-journals or in Socrates, ask us if the journal is available online.
However, not everything is available online, and we have many more
journals available only in print. If we don't have a copy of the
journal article you need, we can usually obtain it from other sources.
ACM Digital Library
http://www.acm.org/dl/
This site provides searchable and browsable access to many ACM
journals and transactions beginning with volume 1 and conference
proceedings as far back as 1982, as well as many Special Interest
Group (SIG) publications. Many papers appear online before the print
issue is available in the library. Now part of the new ACM Portal
to Computing Literature: http://portal.acm.org.
IEEE Xplore (IEEE/IEE Electronic
Library)
http://ieeexplore.ieee.org
Journal articles, conference proceedings, and standards published
by the IEEE and IEE are available from as far back as 1988 to the
present via the IEEE Xplore interface. Currently, the print equivalent
is sometimes available in the library before it is available online,
and some material is only available in print.
Technical Reports and Preprints (available
to all)
Virtual Technical Reports Center
http://www.lib.umd.edu/ENGIN/TechReports/Virtual-TechReports.html
This metasite lists institutions that provide either full-text
reports or searchable extended abstracts of technical reports on
the World Wide Web and contains links to technical reports, preprints,
reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.
However, it does not include links to many corporate technical report
sites.
Stanford CS Department Technical
Reports
http://mathcslibrary.stanford.edu/research_help/guides/techreports.html
or ftp://db.stanford.edu/pub/cstr/
The Computer Science technical report ftp server allows access
to Stanford technical reports issued by the Computer Science department
that are available electronically from 1963 to 2000. The Math/CS
Library also has a large collection of technical reports received
on exchange from other universities and industry, as well as those
produced on the Stanford campus. These are cataloged in Socrates
and are shelved in the Storage Area of the library. More recent
reports are usually found on the Web.
NCSTRL (Networked Computer Science
Technical Reference Library)
http://www.ncstrl.org
This site allows one to search or browse technical reports from
many academic and other research institutions around the world.
However, it doesn't search the full text of the reports, but only
the author, title, and abstract.
Library Services
Interlibrary Services
If a Stanford University library doesn't have the book, dissertation,
technical report, or journal you need, you can request that the
library get a copy of the article or borrow the item from elsewhere.
Request forms are
available
online (SUNet ID required). Or click on "Interlibrary Services"
link on the Stanford University Libraries home page, then click
on the link "Document Delivery Online Request Forms".
However, if the item is available at UC Berkeley, you can request
the item yourself using the RLCP card. To register for an RLCP card,
see the Research
Library Cooperative Program.
Once you have an RLCP card, you can request the item yourself using
the online forms. To find out if UC Berkeley has the item search
their catalog at http://sunsite2.berkeley.edu:8000/.
Suggesting books or journals for
the library
Is there a book that you think the library should have in its collection?
Is there a journal that you think the library should subscribe to?
You can recommend a book or journal to be purchased for the library
online at http://library.stanford.edu/services/borrow_renew_request/request_a_new_title.html
(SUNet ID required).
You can also link to this form from the Math/CS Library home page,
or the Socrates home page, or send your recommendations and comments
directly to Linda Yamamoto at linday@stanford.edu.
We're here to help
For questions and comments about these and any other library resources,
including tours and instruction, feel free to contact Linda Yamamoto
at the Math/CS Library, linday@stanford.edu,
x3-0864, or stop by the library and we'll do our best to help you
find what you need.
Our URL: http://mathcslibrary.stanford.edu.
Linda Yamamoto
Last modified:
September 27, 2005
|