Guides & Publications
Resources
in Computer Science | Library
Resources in Math & Statistics | Guide
to Resources in Computer Science | Guide
to Resources in Math & Statistics
Library Resources in Math & Statistics
This brief guide is aimed at those who are new to Stanford and is
designed to highlight some of the library resources available in mathematics
and statistics.
Article and Conference
Paper Indexes
Master list of Article/Conference Indexes
MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews)
THE main index in the United States for mathematics literature published after 1940,
Mathematical Reviews is available on the World Wide Web as part of MathSciNet.
However, MathSciNet also gives you access to much more. It includes access to Current
Mathematical Publications (a current awareness journal), and the Combined Membership
List of American mathematical associations.
If MathSciNet has made arrangements with the publisher and the
library has a subscription to a journal indexed in MathSciNet, MathSciNet
provides links from reviews to original articles in full text. Currently,
MathSciNet provides active links from reviews to the full text of
more than 119,000 online articles in over 190 journals. To view
an article, just click on the "Article" icon.
The color booklet MathSciNet:
Mathematical Reviews on the Web: Guiding you through the literature of mathematics
is an informative introduction to MathSciNet, with detailed step-by-step explanations on
how to make use of the full range of search capabilities and features of MathSciNet. Print
copies are available in the library. You can also download the guidebook in PDF at
http://ams.rice.edu/msnhtml/guidebook.pdf.
Looking for mathematics articles before 1940?
MathSciNet (Mathematical Reviews) covers articles
in mathematics from 1940 to the present. But if you are looking for something that indexes
articles before 1940, here are some alternatives:
Jahrbuch über
die Fortschritte der Mathematik covers articles published
from 1868 through 1942. The free online version is available from
EMIS (The European Mathematical Information Service).
Zentralblatt für Mathematik (aka Mathematics
Abstracts) indexes articles from about 2,000 journals and serials, books, conference proceedings,
and other research papers from 1931 to the present.
Royal Society (Great Britain). Catalogue of Scientific Papers, 1800-1900, Subject Index, v.I, Pure Mathematics
[Math/CS Library Ref Z7403 .R88 V.1] contains 38,748 entries covering 700 serials during this
time period.
JSTOR offers full-text searching of every article from
every journal in the collection. If you are interested in a pre-1940 article in one of JSTOR's
journals, including
this is a way to locate them. MathSciNet also provides direct links to articles available through
JSTOR.
Other indexes of interest
Current Index to Statistics (CIS)
Current Index to Statistics (CIS) is the primary index for the statistical sciences, although
there is some overlap with MathSciNet. It indexes articles in journals, edited books and
proceedings from before 1975 up to about the last year. This index is also available in print at
the library in Reference through 1999.
SciSearch (Science Citation Index)
Although articles indexed in SciSearch are from 1900 to the present, references cited by these
articles may be from earlier years. Use the Cited Reference Search screen to browse by cited
author. Unfortunately, coverage of mathematics, statistics, and computer science journals in
SciSearch has been historically poor compared to other areas of research.
INSPEC
INSPEC is the premier database in the world that indexes the literature of physics, electronics,
and computing. Coverage online is available from 1898 to the present. The database is hyperlinked
across records and indexes, as well as to full-text journals of IOP, AIP, APS, and others.
JCR Web
ISI Journal Citation Reports
is a database of comprehensive statistical information on journal relevance and relative importance (including impact factors).
The data used is drawn from citation indexes such as SciSearch. Stanford has access to both JCR
Web Science Edition, which covers roughly 5000 journals, and JCR Web Social Sciences Edition,
which covers roughly 1500 journals. Both files include data from 1997 through 2008. Earlier years
are available on microfiche (MFICHE 1815) and CD-ROM at the Physics Library.
NOTE: JCR does not cover conference proceedings. MathSciNet has recently added a similar service for the articles it indexes for 2000-08.
Full-text Resources Online
Stanford Dissertations (1987- )
Stanford University dissertations from roughly 1987 to the present are freely available online to the Stanford com-munity under an agreement with ProQuest.
Online Books The number of books in mathematics available online has been growing steadily. Many are classic works from the 19 th and early 20 th centuries. The list on this web page is not intended to be comprehensive, but highlights some of the larger collections, including Lecture Notes in Mathe-matics, the Cornell Digital Library Math Book Collection, and the University of Michigan Historical Mathematics Collection. The Stanford University Libraries have some of these books available in print; search Socrates to see if what you want is available.
Historical Math Monographs at Cornell (free)
This is a collection consisting of 571 books that were scanned from originals held by the Cornell
University Library. They are classic works from the 19th and early 20th centuries. You can
browse books by author or by title. Print copies can be purchased from Cornell.
The Stanford University Libraries have some of these books available in print. Search Socrates
to see if the title you want is available.
Journals & Conference proceedings
Master list of electronic journals
The following journal providers have their articles linked directly from MathSciNet:
JSTOR
JSTOR is an electronic archive of major English-language scholarly journals in a wide variety of
disciplines. The goal is to have all volumes of these journals up to the last five years or so,
called a "moving wall." There are now 22 math and statistics journals available at JSTOR. Some of
them are listed above under "Looking for mathematics articles before 1940?" but the
complete list of journals is available.
AMS journals
SIAM journals
Springer journals
Other journals available online
Other journals available online at Stanford include those published by:
More journals are becoming available online. If you don't find the electronic
journal you're looking for on the list of available e-journals or
in Socrates, ask us if the journal is available online. However, not
everything is available online, and we have many more journals available
only in print. If we don't have a copy of the journal article you
need, we can usually obtain it from other sources.
Technical Reports & Preprints
Technical Reports Owned by the Stanford University Libraries
The Math/CS Library has a large collection of technical reports received on exchange from other
universities and industry, as well as those produced on the Stanford campus. These are cataloged
in Socrates and are shelved in the Storage Area of the library. More recent reports are usually
found on the Web.
Technical Reports and Preprints Online
There are many preprints and technical reports available for free online. Here are a few useful
sites to help you locate technical reports:
Virtual
Technical Reports Center
This metasite lists institutions that provide either full-text reports or searchable extended
abstracts of technical reports on the World Wide Web and contains links to technical reports,
preprints, reprints, dissertations, theses, and research reports of all kinds.
Front for the Mathematics ArXiv at LANL
The Front for the Mathematics ArXiv automatically retrieves the abstracts of new and revised
articles in the mathematics e-print arXiv from Los Alamos and offers them for searching and
browsing. The arXiv currently has over 16,000 articles in mathematics. Other subjects covered by
the arXiv are physics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science.
Organizations
Linda Yamamoto
Last modified:
September 15, 2009
|