Guides & Publications
Resources
in Computer Science | Library
Resources in Math & Statistics | Guide
to Resources in Computer Science | Guide
to Resources in Math & Statistics
(240 books online as of 07/02/2008)
These books are published by O'Reilly unless noted otherwise. Many
of these books are also available in print at the Stanford
University Libraries. Check Socrates for availability.
.NET Framework Essentials, 3rd Edition
802.11 Wireless Networks: The Definitive Guide
Access 2007: The Missing Manual
Access Cookbook, 2nd Edition
Access Data Analysis Cookbook
Access Hacks
ActionScript 3.0 Cookbook
ActionScript Cookbook
ActionScript for Flash MX: The Definitive Guide, 2nd Edition
Active Directory Cookbook, 2nd Edition
Active Directory, 3rd Edition
Adding Ajax
Advanced Perl Programming, 2nd Edition
AI for Game Developers
Ajax Design Patterns
Ajax Hacks
Ajax on Java
Ajax on Rails
Apache Security
Apache: The Definitive Guide, 3rd Edition
AppleScript: The Definitive Guide, 2nd Edition
Backup and recovery
bash Cookbook
Beautiful Code
Beyond Java
Big Book of Apple Hacks
BLAST
Building Scalable Web Sites
C In a Nutshell
C# Cookbook, 2nd Edition
C# in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition
C# Programming Evolution (Sams)
C# 3.0 in a Nutshell, 3rd Edition
C# 3.0 Pocket Reference, 2nd edition
C++ Cookbook
C++ FAQs, 2nd Edition (Addison-Wesley Professional)
C++ Primer, Fourth Edition (Addison-Wesley Professional)
Classic Shell Scripting
Cocoa® Programming for Mac® OS X, Third Edition
Computer Security Basics, 2nd Edition
CSS: The Definitive Guide, 3rd Edition
CSS Cookbook
Database in Depth: Relational Theory for Practitioners
Design of Sites: Patterns for Creating Winning Web Sites, 2nd Edition (Prentice Hall)
Designing
Interfaces
Developing Bioinformatics Computer Skills
Developing Feeds with RSS and Atom
DNS and BIND, 5th Edition
Dreamweaver MX 2004: The Missing Manual
Dynamic HTML: The Definitive Reference, 3rd Edition
Effective awk Programming, 3rd Edition
Enterprise JavaBeans 3.0, 5th Edition
Essential ActionScript 3.0
Essential SNMP, 2nd Edition
Essential System Administration, 3rd Edition
Exploiting Software How to Break Code (Addison Wesley)
Fedora Linux
Ferret
Flash 8 Cookbook
Flash Hacks
GNU Emacs Pocket Reference
Google Apps Hacks
Google Web Toolkit Solutions: Cool & Useful Stuff
Harnessing Hibernate
Head First HTML with CSS & XHTML
High Performance Linux Clusters with OSCAR, Rocks, OpenMosix,
and MPI
High Performance MySQL, 2nd Edition
High Performance Web Sites
HTML & XHTML: The Definitive Guide, 6th Edition
HTTP: The Definitive Guide
Information Architecture for the World Wide Web, 3rd Edition
Intermediate Perl
IP Routing
iPhone Open Application Development
iPod & iTunes Hacks
IPv6 Essentials, 2nd Edition
Java 2D Graphics
Java and SOAP
Java and XML, 3rd Edition
Java and XSLT
Java Cookbook, 2nd Edition
Java I/O, 2nd Edition
Java in a Nutshell, 5th Edition
Java Network Programming, 3rd Edition
Java Power Tools
Java Servlet Programming, 2nd Edition
Java Swing, 2nd Edition
Java Threads, 3rd Edition
JavaScript Application Cookbook
JavaScript: The Definitive Guide, 5th Edition
JavaScript & DHTML Cookbook, 2nd edition
JBoss at Work: A Practical Guide
JBoss: A Developer's Notebook
Just Java™ 2, 6th Edition (Prentice Hall)
Killer Game Programming in Java
The LATEX Companion: Second Edition (Addison-Wesley)
Learning ASP.NET 2.0 with AJAX
Learning C# 2005, 2nd Edition
Learning Flash Media Server 3
Learning GNU Emacs, 3rd Edition
Learning Java, 3rd Edition
Learning JavaScript
Learning MySQL
Learning Perl, 4th Edition
Learning PHP 5
Learning PHP and MySQL, 2nd Edition
Learning Python, 3rd Edition
Learning Red Hat Enterprise Linux & Fedora, 4th Edition
Learning Ruby
Learning SQL
Learning the bash Shell, 3rd Edition
Learning the Unix Operating System, 5th Edition
Learning UML 2.0
Learning Unix for Mac OS X Tiger
Learning Visual Basic .NET
Learning XML, 2nd Edition
Learning XSLT
LINQ Pocket Reference
Linux Device Drivers, 3rd Edition
Linux in a Nutshell, 5th Edition
Linux Kernel in a Nutshell
Linux Network Administrator's Guide, 3rd Edition
Linux Server Hacks, Volume Two
Linux System Administration
Linux System Programming
Mac OS X for Unix Geeks
Mac OS X Leopard Pocket Guide
Mac OS X Tiger for Unix Geeks
Mac OS X: The Missing Manual, Tiger Edition
Making Things Happen: Mastering Project Management
Malicious Mobile Code: Virus Protection for Windows
Managing and Using MySQL, 2nd Edition
Mastering Oracle SQL, 2nd Edition
Mastering Perl
Mastering Perl for Bioinformatics
Mastering Regular Expressions, 3rd Edition
Maven: A Developer's Notebook
Microsoft SQL Server 2000 Unleashed, Second Edition (Sams)
MySQL & mSQL
MySQL Cookbook
MySQL Stored Procedure Programming
Network Security Hacks, 2nd Edition
Network Warrior
Oracle Database Administration, The Essential Reference
Oracle Essentials: Oracle Database 10g, 3rd Edition
Oracle PL/SQL Programming, 4th Edition
Oracle SQL*Plus: The Definitive Guide, 2nd Edition
Oracle SQL: The Essential Reference
Perl & LWP
Perl and XML
Perl Cookbook, 2nd Edition
Perl for Oracle DBAs
Perl for System Administration
Perl Hacks
Perl in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition
PHP Cookbook, 2nd Edition
PHP Hacks
PHP in a Nutshell
Practical C Programming, 3rd Edition
Programming Amazon Web Services
Programming ASP.NET, 3rd Edition
Programming ASP.NET AJAX
Programming C#, 4th Edition
Programming Collective Intelligence
Programming Embedded Systems
Programming Firefox
Programming Flex™ 2
Programming Jakarta Struts, 2nd Edition
Programming Perl, 3rd Edition
Programming PHP, 2nd Edition
Programming Python, 3rd Edition
Programming SQL Server 2005
Programming the Perl DBI
Programming Visual Basic 2005
Programming WCF Services
Programming with QT, 2nd Edition
Python & XML
Python Cookbook, 2nd Edition
Python in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition
Python Pocket Reference, 2nd Edition
Python Programming on Win32
Python Standard Library
Rails Cookbook
RESTful Web Services
Retro Gaming Hacks
RFID Essentials
Ruby Cookbook
Ruby in a Nutshell
Ruby on Rails: Up and Running
The Ruby Programming Language
Running Linux, 5th Edition
Runnning Mac OS X Tiger
Securing Ajax Applications
sed & awk Pocket Reference, 2nd Edition
SharePoint 2007: The definitive guide
Snort Cookbook
SQL Cookbook
Squid: The Definitive Guide
SSH, the Secure Shell, 2nd Edition
System Performance Tuning, 2nd Edition
T1: A Survival Guide
The Art of SQL
Tomcat: The definitive guide, 2nd edition
Transact-SQL Cookbook
Ubuntu Hacks
UML 2.0 in a Nutshell
Understanding Biotechnology (Prentice Hall)
Understanding Linux Network Internals
Understanding MySQL Internals
Unix in a Nutshell, 4th Edition
UNIX Power Tools, 3rd Edition
Up and Running with Joomla
Using Moodle
Using Samba, 3rd Edition
VB & VBA in a Nutshell: The Language
VB.NET Language in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition
vi Editor Pocket Reference
Visual Basic 2005 Cookbook
Visual Basic 2005: In a Nutshell, 3rd Edition
Web 2.0 Mashups and Niche Aggregators
Web Database Application with PHP and MySQL, 2nd Edition
Web Design in a Nutshell, 3rd Edition
Web Performance Tuning, 2nd Edition
Web Services Essentials
Web Site Cookbook
Webmaster in a Nutshell, 3rd Edition
Windows 2000 Quick Fixes
Windows Developer Power Tools
Windows PowerShell Cookbook
Windows Server® 2008 Unleashed
Windows Vista: The Definitive Guide
Windows XP Cookbook
Windows XP Hacks, 2nd Edition
Windows XP in a Nutshell, 2nd Edition
Wireless Hacks, 2nd Edition
Writing Excel Macros with VBA, 2nd Edition
XML in a Nutshell, 3rd Edition
XML Schema
XSLT 2.0 Web Development (Prentice Hall)
XSLT Cookbook, 2nd Edition
Requesting access to specific
titles on Safari
If the book you're looking for is not on this list, first
check the O'Reilly
catalog
and look for the Safari logo.
If it's listed as being available online, email your request
to
Linda Yamamoto at
the Math/CS Library, x3-0864, or stop by the library. Books
published by O'Reilly have priority (except for the Pocket
Guides); older editions and books published by other publishers
may be removed from access
after a month online. Exam guides will not be considered for
access.
Other sources of computer
books online
Books24x7
The ITPro collection at Books24x7.com is composed of many popular
computer technical books, including selected books from the Dummies
series, Sams, Osbourne/McGraw-Hill, MIT Press, Peachpit Press, and
Sybex. There are also books on computers and society and e-commerce.
There's no need to register unless you want to personalize the site
using the "My Bookshelf" feature.
ebrary
ebrary™ is a searchable collection of electronic texts in
a broad range of fields available to Stanford users on the Web.
There are at least 800 titles dealing with computing in the collection.
Plug-in required. You are charged for copying or printing from
the text.
The Online Books
Page (Free online books)
Search or browse over 15,000 listings of books available online
in a wide variety of subjects. However, computer books are listed
with books in mathematics in the QA Library of Congress call number
listing.
For questions and comments, feel free to contact Linda.
Linda Yamamoto
Last modified:
July 2, 2008
|