Databases for Chemists and Chemical Engineers
“Top Ten” |
By Subject |
A to Z |
Multi-Database Searching
Multi-Database Searching
Resources marked with the
icon are licensed for the non-profit educational use of Stanford
University. Use of these resources is governed by copyright law
and individual license agreements. Systematic downloading, distributing,
or retaining substantial portions of information is prohibited.
If you are having problems accessing databases from off campus, see
information on proxy access.
For help with EndNote or Refworks, see
Using Bibliographic Management Software at Stanford.
The
icon links to help for specific resources.
- ChemID Plus
- CHEMpendium
- Crossfire: for searching Beilstein Crossfire and Gmelin Crossfire
(No visitor access)
- CrossSearch via ISI
- CSA Illumina: Use to search mutiple CSA databases in a single search

- Entrez: The Life Sciences Search Engine from NCBI
- Federal R&D Project Summaries: Search grants awarded by NSF, NIH, DOE, NAL
- FlashPoint: Search BIOSIS (1969+), the citation databases (Arts & Humanities (1975+), Social Science(1973+), and SciSearch (1900+)), Engineering Index (1884+), INSPEC (1898+), MathSciNet (1940+), and PubMed (1966+) in one search

- Grokker

- HighWire Press + Medline: Search the full-text of journals produced by HighWire (e.g. Science, PNAS) plus Medline
- Knovel e-handbooks

- MDL DiscoveryGate
(No visitor access)
- Molecular Information Agent
- NIST Data Gateway
- SciFinder Scholar: for searching Chemical Abstracts Online, CASReact Online, and Medline
(No visitor access)
- ToxNet
![[help]](../../../../icons/helpq.gif)