skip to page content | skip to main navigation
Reference resources, compiled by Swain Library.  SOCRATES  E-JOURNALS  SITE SEARCH  ASK US  TEXT ONLY SULAIR HOME  SU HOME
 Catalog and Search Tools  Research Help  Libraries and Collections  Services  How To ...  About SULAIR
SWAIN CHEMISTRY AND CHEMICAL ENGINEERING LIBRARY
Printer-Friendly Printer-Friendly

Subject Guides

General Guide | Analytical Chemistry | Biotechnology | Chemical Laboratory Safety | Crystallography | Drug Information | Inorganic Chemistry | Life Scientists | Physical Chemistry | Polymer Chemistry | Searching the Internet | Spectral Information

General Guide for Chemists and Chemical Engineers

Reference Shelf

Online Reference Material

All That JAS: Journal Abbreviation Sources (http://www.abbreviations.com/jas.asp#Chemistry)
Registry of Web resources that list or provide access to the full title of journal abbreviations.
CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics (http://www.hbcpnetbase.com/) (Stanford only)
Online version of the 83rd edition.
Encyclopedia of Analytical Instrumentation (http://www.chemistry.vt.edu/chem-ed/ac-meths.html)
Provides introductions to the most common methods of instrumental analysis.
General Reference Resources (http://library.stanford.edu/guides/genrefs.html)
Links to numerous general references, compiled by Stanford University Libraries.
Martindale’s: The Reference Desk (http://www.martindalecenter.com/)
Award-winning, comprehensive reference directory.
NSF Division of Science Resources Statistics (http://www.nsf.gov/statistics/)
Information about U.S. science and engineering resources.
Unit Converter from the Sciences Explorer (http://library.thinkquest.org/11771/english/hi/chemistry/convert.shtml)
Converts between common units of energy, pressure, volume, temperature and mass.

Online Reference Assistance

Ask a Librarian (http://library.stanford.edu/cgi-bin/asklib.cgi)
Ask any question about Stanford University Library resources and their use. Staff will try to respond to questions from the Stanford community within 24 hours (weekends and holidays excluded).
Ask a Science Expert (http://www.teach-nology.com/teachers/ask_experts/science/)
Links to various sites where “Science Experts” have volunteered to answer questions.
Database Searching Aids and Tutorials (http://library.stanford.edu/depts/swain/help/subjectguides/general/acomp/tutorial.html#database)
Links to online help for a number of databases, including BIOSIS, Chemical Abstracts Online, and SciSearch.


Last modified: September 26, 2007

   
seal © Stanford University. Stanford, CA 94305. (650) 723-2300. Terms of Use | Copyright Complaints