1960s counterculture

English 151G - Spring 2016 - Instructor: Adena Spingarn

Resources for use in the course 1960s Counterculture in Stanford's Special Collections.

Archival collections

Use these resources to find archival collections at Stanford and other institutions. These resources allow you to search the full text of finding aids.

Oakland, CA : California Digital Library, [199-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Online Archive of California hosts finding aids for archival collections at institutions around California. To search across the finding aids of archival collections at Stanford, choose "Browse institutions," then "Stanford University."
[Mountain View, Calif.] : RLG
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Use ArchiveGrid to search finding aids at major research institutions in the United States, United Kingdom, and beyond.

Digital newspaper and magazine collections

Digital newspaper and collections available through Stanford University Libraries.

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Digital newspaper archive of the New York Times. From the ProQuest platform, click on "News and Newspapers" to search across multiple other historical newspapers, including the New York Herald Tribune, the Chicago Tribune, the Boston Globe, the Los Angeles Times, the Atlanta Constitution, and the Washington Post.
[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Other periodical collections on the ProQuest platform include Alt-Press Watch and GenderWatch.
[New York] : Nation Pub. Co., c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
From the EBSCO platform, click on "Choose databases" to search other periodicals, including archives of The National Review and The New Republic.
[United States?] : Cengage Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Digital archives of mostly British periodicals, including The Times, The Daily Mail, The Times Literary Supplement, and The Economist.
[Naples, Fla.] : Readex, a division of NewsBank
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Digital archvie of African-American newspapers from the 19th and 20th centuries. From the Newsbank platform, click on "America's Historical Newspapers" to search other historical newspaper collections, including Newsbank's Ethnic Newspapers and Hispanic Newspapers collections. Use the "Dates and eras" tab to limit searches to specific date ranges.