You are here

Action Research: Making Time for Social Change

PWR 2DHA - Fall 2016 - Instructor: Hunter, D.
Last Updated: 22-Sep-2016

A guide to resources for PWR 2DHA: Action Research: Making Time for Social Change 

Subject Librarians

Outreach and Instruction Librarian
(650) 498-9137
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background/Reference Sources

 

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

Malden, MA : Blackwell Publishing
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Provides full-text access to reference works in the humanities, social sciences, and business and management. It supports browsing and full-text searching."
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"General and Reference Works; Music; Biology; Art, Architecture and Design; Ancient Greek and Roman Culture; Medieval Studies Contains the texts of more than 100 reference titles published by Oxford University Press."
[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."
Berlin, Germany ; New York : Springer, 1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Provides online, full-text access to Springer's journal and e-book titles, as well as titles from other publishers. Subjects include: life sciences, chemical sciences, environmental sciences, geosciences, computer science, mathematics, medicine, physics & astronomy, engineering and economics."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004
[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[S.l.] : National Library of Medicine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Pubmed, or Medline. There are several providers of this database. The first link on the Searchworks record is for National Library of Medicine site. But  EBSCO and Proquest provide access to this database too.  I recommend choosing Medline/pubmed from the "Choose" or "Change" databases option within either Proquest or EBSCO. Then you can search PubMed along with the general (Academic Search Premier or Proquest Research Library) databases. You will be able to select results from either, or both, databases.