Aeronautics and astronautics

Information and research sources in support of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AA) and affiiated labs and groups. The courses and research activities of the AA department cover most aspects of aircraft and spacecraft design, structures, fluid mechanics, dynamics and control and navigation, with strong emphasis on fundamental principles as well as on systems engineering.

Aviation & Aerospace Databases

[Cranfield, U.K.] : Cranfield University, 1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Reston, VA : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Formerly AIAA Digital Library
New York : Aviation Week.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
West Lafayette, IN : CINDAS, 2007-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Englewood, Colo. : IHS, Inc., 2010-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Hampton, Va. : National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Langley Research Center, 1994]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
New York, NY : NewSpace Global, LLC, c2013-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Related databases

New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bellingham, Wash. : SPIE
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Handbooks & Encyclopedias

The library collection includes thousands of titles for reference and research. To find print books in the library, search our library catalog, SearchWorks.

5th ed. Reston, Va. : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL551 .A32 2003
Oxford ; Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, 2002.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics, c2001.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL953 .O84 1998
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TL671.2 .K76 2010
Washington, DC : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c1989.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL709 .A44 1989
2nd ed. Reston, Va. : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c2004.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
San Diego : Academic Press, c1999.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL795 .M48 1999
Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. : Wiley, 2010.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
7th ed. New York : John Wiley & Sons, c2001.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL782 .S8 2001
2nd ed. Boston, Mass : Focal Press, c1997.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TK5104 .I53 1997
New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL509 .S664 2003

AIAA Papers

The AIAA publishes books, journals and conference papers, frequently with other engineering societies. Individual conference papers that are published in proceedings for specific conferences are also a part of the AIAA paper series. This series contains most papers presented at AIAA conferences. Each conference paper is assigned an AIAA paper number.

 
Reston, VA : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text, online AIAA Papers (1963 - present). You can search by the full-text, author, title, or paper number.

Citations to AIAA Papers

You can also use the following resources to find and determine if an AIAA paper was presented at a conference.

Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Hampton, Va. : National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Langley Research Center, 1994]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Airfoil data

Resources for finding data on airfoil design and use in various aircraft.

Books

[Corr. version, New York, Dover Publications [1959]
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TL672 .A2 1959
Mineola : Dover Publications, [1999], ©1959.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
2nd ed. Reston, VA : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c2006.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL716 .B54 2006
Washington, DC : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, ©1992.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource

NASA report on Reynolds numbers

Loftin, Laurence K, Jr; Bursnall, William J. The effects of variations in Reynolds number between 3.0 x 10sub6 and 25.0 x 10sub6 upon the aerodynamic characteristics of a number of NACA 6-series airfoil sections (Langley Research Center, 1950). Includes theory and profiles for NACA 4, 5, 6 digit series airfoils
Report number: NACA-TR-964 (Download pdf from NACA Technical Reports)