You are here

Aeronautics and Astronautics (AA)

Last Updated: 21-Oct-2015

Information and research sources in support of the Department of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AA) and affiiated labs and groups. The courses and research activities of the AA department cover most aspects of aircraft and spacecraft design, structures, fluid mechanics, dynamics and control and navigation, with strong emphasis on fundamental principles as well as on systems engineering.

Quick Links

Keep Current

Aviation and Aerospace Databases

Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides bibliographic coverage of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences. The database also covers technology development and applications in complementary and supporting fields such as chemistry, geosciences, physics, communications, and electronics. In addition to periodic literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA, other U.S. government agencies, international institutions, universities, and private firms.
Reston, VA : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Full-text access to AIAA Journal, Journal of Aircraft, Journal of Guidance, Control, and Dynamics, Journal of Propulsion and Power, Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets, Journal of Thermophysics and Heat Transfer, and meeting papers.
New York : Aviation Week.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Detailed information on 120,000 aircraft from the commercial, military and business aviation market along with information on products and suppliers for the Aviation Industry.  Data can be downloaded to excel.  Full-text archive of Aviation Week and Space Technology from 1997 to the present.
Englewood, Colo. : IHS, Inc., 2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
  • Defence: air and space section: Aero-Engines
  • All the World's Aircraft: Development and Production
  • All the World's Aircraft: In Service (formerly Jane's aircraft upgrades)
  • All the World's Aircraft: Unmanned
  • Defence: C4ISR & Mission Systems: Air
  • Flight Avionics (formerly Jane's avionics)
  • Space Systems and Industry
  • Weapons; Air-Launched.
[Hampton, Va. : National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Langley Research Center, 1994]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides access to approximately 500,000 aerospace citations, 90,000 full-text documents, and 11,000 images and videos. An AIAA paper usually is indexed on NTRS if the paper was NASA funded in some way. Full-text of the document may or may not be available. Freely available.
New York, NY : NewSpace Global, LLC, c2013-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Timely, accurate and critical information regarding the commercial space sector. Our subscription includes:
NSG Observer Private Company Database (350+ companies)
Thruster: NSG’s Monthly Market Tracking Report
Three live NSG indices (500+ companies)
NewSpace Watch Database
Warrendale, PA : Society of Automotive Engineers.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Standards portion of the SAE Digital Library references thousands of SAE standards. SAE publishes many new, revised, and reaffirmed standards each year in three categories: Ground Vehicle Standards (J-Reports); Aerospace Standards; and Aerospace Material Specifications (AMS). Older standards are available in the SAE Digital Library Historical Standards. The Technical papers portion of the SAE Digital Library references thousands of SAE Technical Papers covering the latest advances and research in all areas of mobility engineering including ground vehicle, aerospace, off-highway, and manufacturing technology. The SAE Global Mobility Database (GMD) contains summaries of more than 177,000 documents--technical papers, standards, regulations, journals, reports, etc.

Related databases

New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
Engineering Index (Compendex) contains over seven million references and abstracts taken from over 5,000 engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Online coverage is from 1969 to the present and includes nuclear technology, bioengineering, transportation, chemical and process engineering, light and optical technology, agricultural engineering and food technology, computers and data processing, applied physics, electronics and communications, control, civil, mechanical, materials, petroleum, aerospace and automotive engineering as well as narrower subtopics within all these and other major engineering fields.
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
IEEE Xplore is a digital library providing full text access to the world's highest quality technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics. IEEE Xplore contains full text documents from IEEE journals, transactions, magazines, letters, conference proceedings, standards, and IET (Institution of Engineering and Technology) publications. NEW CONTENT: IEEE eLearning Library with nearly 200 courses in communications, computing, engineering, power, professional development and dozens of other core and emerging technologies. IEEE-Wiley e-books include all current year titles plus access to the complete backlist of more than 400 titles. Also includes MIT press e-books.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Contains citations and abstracts to the literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. Covers journal articles, conference papers, significant books, technical reports, dissertations, and patents. INSPEC is the premier database for physics & related disciplines but also covers related areas such as systems management and operations research.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts including 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide and over 3 million conference papers. Particularly strong international coverage of medicine, science and technology. Also includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Linking between ScienceDirect and Scopus for the fulltext of the article and related research.
Bellingham, Wash. : SPIE
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers proceedings in biomedical optics, nano- and micro- technologies, medical imaging and more from 1990-current. NEW CONTENT: E-Books including 120 SPIE Press titles from the Field Guides, Monographs, and Tutorial Texts series
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Provides for forward or backward cited searching and citation counts for articles in engineering, science and medicine. Also includes Conference Proceeding Citation Index, Book Citation Index and Data Citation Index.

Handbooks and Encyclopedias


Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. : Wiley, 2010.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Comprehensive encyclopedia published online in 2010 and continuously updated. Topics covered include mechanics, propulsion, guidance and control, electronics and instrumentation, communications, computer science, systems engineering, environmental science, noise and emissions. Contributions from Everitt, Jameson and Ou of Stanford. Online via Wiley Online Library.


The library collection includes thousands of titles for reference and research. To find print books in the library, search our library catalog, SearchWorks. You can also find many e-books in the catalog or you may want to browse our collection of E-Book Resources.

5th ed. Reston, Va. : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL551 .A32 2003
The 5th revised and enlarged edition of this practical guide provides a condensed collection of commonly used engineering reference data specifically related to aerospace design. New material on air breathing propulsion, systems engineering, and radar cross section has been added to reflect recent data in aircraft design. Online via KNOVEL, request print edition from off-campus storage.
Oxford ; Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, 2002.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This is an essential handy guide containing useful up to date information regularly needed by the student or practicing engineer. Covering all aspects of aircraft, both fixed wing and rotary craft, this pocket book provides quick access to useful aeronautical engineering data and sources of information for further in-depth information. Online via KNOVEL and Science Direct.
Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics, c2001.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL953 .O84 1998
This book provides a grounding in state-of-the-art aerospace materials technology, including developments in aluminum, titanium and nickel alloys as well as polymers and polymers composites, and covers applications to airframes, aeroengines and space craft. Experts in each topic have contributed key overviews summarizing current knowledge and indicating future trends for the next 5-10 years. Online via CRCnetBase, request print edition from off-campus storage.
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TL671.2 .K76 2010
This book explores fixed winged aircraft design at the conceptual phase of a project. Designing an aircraft is a complex multifaceted process embracing many technical challenges in a multidisciplinary environment. The methodology shown here includes formal sizing of the aircraft, engine matching, and substantiating performance to comply with the customer's demands and government regulatory standards. Associated topics include safety issues, environmental issues, material choice, structural layout, understanding flight deck, avionics, and systems (for both civilian and military aircraft). Cost estimation and manufacturing considerations are also discussed. The chapters are arranged to optimize understanding of industrial approaches to aircraft design methodology. Online via KNOVEL and in print.
Washington, DC : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c1989.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL709 .A44 1989
Comprehensive coverage of the key physical concepts that govern gas turbine propulsion systems. Topics include combustion technology, engine/airplane performance matching, inlets and inlet/engine integration, variable convergent/divergent nozzle aerodynamics, and more. Online via KNOVEL, request print edition from off-campus storage.
2nd ed. Reston, Va. : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics, c2004.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The 2nd edition of this best-selling book provides an introduction to virtually all aspects of the technology of composite materials as used in aeronautical design and structure. The text discusses important differences in the technology of composites from that of metals--intrinsic substantive differences and their implications for manufacturing processes, structural design procedures, and in-service performance of the materials, particularly regarding the cause and nature of damage that may be sustained. Online via ebrary.
San Diego : Academic Press, c1999.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL795 .M48 1999
This book is written for an introductory course in space technology. It is intended for senior or graduate level aerospace engineering students and professional engineers seeking a thorough understanding of the aerospace aspects of space systems. As such it focuses on the primary physics and engineering fundamentals necessary to understand and design space-based systems. Online via KNOVEL and Science Direct, request print edition from off-campus storage.
7th ed. New York : John Wiley & Sons, c2001.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL782 .S8 2001
Includes information on engine structures, nozzle theory, gas properties, thrust chambers, launch vehicles, and more. 2001 edition online via KNOVEL, request print edition from off-campus storage. New revised 2010 editon in print only in the Engineering Library.
2nd ed. Boston, Mass : Focal Press, c1997.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TK5104 .I53 1997
Updated in 1997, this handbook explores the world of communication satellites. Written in easy-to-understand language, this book covers topics ranging from theories of satellite operation to practical instructions for the initial set-up of mobile earth stations. Online via KNOVEL, request print edition from off-campus storage.
New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TL509 .S664 2003
including: Instrumentation and control; Aeronautical and astronautical propulsion; Aerospace structures; Aerodynamics, flight mechanics, control, and stability; Avionics and astronautics; Aircraft design; Spacecraft; Earth's environment and space; and more. Illustrated with hundreds upon hundreds of informative diagrams, charts, and graphs. Online via AccessEngineering, print edition in the Engineering Library.