You are here

African-American students at Stanford University

Last Updated: 1-May-2014

A guide to primary sources on African-American students at Stanford University, including serial publications, photographs, posters, audiovisual materials, archival records, and oral histories.

Subject Librarians

Josh Schneider
Assistant University Archivist
(650) 497-6489
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Daniel Hartwig
University Archivist
(650) 725-1161
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Photo of Jenny Johnson
Collections Management & Processing Archivist
(650) 721-1529

Books

Photographs

Stanford Historical Photograph Collection (SC1071)

The Stanford historical photograph collection, containing over 16,000 images. Series 1, General Photographs, documents the campus and campus life; subjects include athletics, original construction of the campus, individual buildings, students and student life activities, commencement activities, academic departments, and damage from the 1906 earthquake. The majority of photographs are black and white gelatin prints but nineteenth-century albumen prints mounted on boards are also represented. The collection spans the late 1880s through the 1990s. Photographs can be searched through the Online Archive of California.

Photographs showing Black Student Union meeting with President Pitzer and destruction of campus bookstore, 21 February 1969, are also accessible through http://insight.stanford.edu under Stanford Historical Photos, as photographs 1403-1406.

Stanford University, News and Publications Service, Records (SC0122)

Records include subject files compiled by the News Service in the course of its work, news releases prepared by the News Service, proof sheets of photographs produced by the News Service photographers, taped interviews, office files of the Director of News and Publications Service and of the directors of the individual units, news clippings, and miscellaneous photographic and printed material. Collection materials can be searched in the Online Archive of California.

This collection includes materials that have been scanned or digitized, which are independently accessible through SearchWorks.

Martin Luther King, Jr. at Stanford: Photographs documenting speeches given by Martin Luther King, Jr. at Stanford University in 1964 and 1967.

Photographs, 1964

Photographs, 1967

Oral Histories

Stanford Oral History Project interviews, 1971-1995 (SC1017)

The Stanford Oral History Project (SOHP), a joint effort of the Stanford University Archives and the Stanford Historical Society, began in 1978 as an extension of their efforts to collect, preserve and make available to researchers the historical record of the Stanford University community. Collection materials can be searched through the Online Archive of California.

Interview with Harold Boyd, 09/1980

Formerly Associate Dean of Student Affairs (1969-1980), and Director of the Medical Fund in the Office of Development (1980-1995). Mr. Boyd has been a strong spokesman for equal rights for blacks in both academic and administrative affairs. Interview by Marion Hall and Harvey Hall; transcribed, 22 pages.

Stanford Historical Society Oral History Program Interviews, 1999-2013 (SC0932)  

The Stanford Historical Society's Oral History Program explores the institutional history of the University, with an emphasis on the tranformative post-WWII period, through interviews with leading faculty, staff, alumni, trustees, and others. Includes the Oral History Project on Racial and Ethnic Diversity at Stanford, which seeks to recapture what happened in the two decades between the late sixties and the late eighties that initiated and then shaped a significant increase in undergradaute student diversity at Stanford. Over 23 interviewees have been interviewed for this project. Many transcripts and audio recordings are accessible online through the Online Archive of California.

Serial Publications

Stanford University publications and ephemera collection, 1885-2011 (SC-4000)

The publications and ephemera collection contains a variety of materials relating to Black students at Stanford, especially under the call numbers 7151 and 7750 BLAC. The collection can also be searched for more general terms within the Online Archive of California. Some publications are also individually cataloged in Searchworks. These are linked below:

1751 Admissions materials on minorities
1751/4 The Black Student at Stanford
1751/7 Survey of 1965 Black Stanford admittees, by John Black
 6525/AFRI African & African-American Studies
 7151 Black Students on campus: brochures, pamphlets, publications
 7151 Imani / Sprit: A Pictorial Essay of Black Life at Stanford, 1981
 7151/4 Through Change, Build 1976 publication of Black Artists Guild
 7750/BLAC Black Student Union (mostly publications, also includes some manuscript materials dating from the formation of the Black Student Union)
  7869 Black Performing Arts Program
 7980/BLAC Black on Black, 1967
 7980/COLO The Colonist 1968-1971; name changed to The Real News
 7980/REAL The Real News 1971-1986; and 1990-present

 

To locate historical articles on African-American students at Stanford in campus serial publications, including the Stanford Daily, Campus Report, and Stanford Observer, consider using the Archives card catalog, located in the Special Collections Reading Room. Helpful searches include African-American, Black, or Minorities.

Archival Records

Associated Students of Stanford University Records, 1891-2006 (SC0009)  

Collection includes correspondence, minutes, reports, publications, financial records, and other materials. Includes materials relating to the ASSU Minority Affairs Task Force, 1982, and the University Committee on Minority Issues, 1999. This collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

 

Harold K. Boyd records, 1955-1980 (SC0278)

Office files of Harold Boyd, consisting of correspondence, memoranda, minutes, publications. Subjects include student conduct, legislative council, fundamental standards commission, and general office operation. Includes materials on an introduction to Stanford for Black freshmen. Materials can be searched online though the Online Archive of California.

 

Stanford University, President's Office, Sterling – Pitzer transitional records, 1964-1970 (SC0217)

These records were generated during the tenure of President Kenneth Pitzer as well as his predecessor J. E. Wallace Sterling. The records include materials on “Educational Opportunities for Disadvantaged Minorities,” 1964-1966. Note: J. E. Wallace Sterling, Stanford’s fifth president, served from 1949 through 1968. Kenneth Pitzer took office on December 1, 1968 and served until September 1970. Collection materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

 

Richard W. Lyman, President of Stanford University, Papers, 1965-1981 (SC0215)

This collection consists of records from Richard W. Lyman's term as President of Stanford University (1970-1980), along with the records of the Provost. Some of the records were generated by the previous administration of Kenneth Pitzer. Includes coverage of the formation of the Black Student Union, the production of the student publication, Black on Black, as well as the development of the African and African-American Studies program at Stanford. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

 

Kenneth S. Pitzer, President of Stanford University, Papers, 1967-1970 (SC0218)  

This collection includes materials from the tenure of President Kenneth S. Pitzer. Includes files on minority programs, Black Power, Black Theatre, and the formation of the Black Student Union, as well as materials documenting the destruction of the campus bookstore following the meeting between Pitzer and representatives of the Black Student Union. Materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California.

 

Black community at Stanford collection, 1967-1990 (SC0937)

The collection is primarily made up of newspaper clippings but also includes some newsletters from campus groups, flyers, and brochures. The topics are the Black community at Stanford, 1979-1990; the program on African and African-American Studies, 1979-89; and Martin Luther King at Stanford, 1967 (clippings only). Materials can be searched online though the Online Archive of California.

 

Stanford University. Assistant to the President for Black Affairs records, 1968-1973 (SC0154)

The records of the office of James E. Simmons under its several titles includes correspondence, memoranda, reports, general material on black affairs at Stanford and some additional files on Native American students. Note: In 1968, Stanford University created the new office of Assistant Provost for Minority Affairs, naming James E. Simmons to the post; in 1969, Mr. Simmon's title was changed to Assistant to the President for Black Affairs. The office developed and supported educational, economic, and social activities of black Stanford students, faculty and staff on campus and in East Palo Alto, and worked with the Black Student Union. Convinced of the necessity to integrate the needs and concerns of blacks at Stanford with other minority groups and seeing more staff and faculty resources for black students on campus, Simmons recommended the discontinuation of a separate Black Affairs Office in 1973 and the redeployment of its services to the Dean of Student Affairs, the Office of Financial Aids and the Graduate Division. Also includes Simmons' 1973 report to the President. Materials can be searched online though the Online Archive of California.

 

Stanford University. Vice Provost for Budget Planning, records, 1970-1975 (SC0150)

Records of Vice Provost Raymond F. Bacchetti consist of correspondence, memoranda, minutes of meetings relating to the Budget Adjustment Program (BAP), 1970-1975; records for the academic year 1972-1973, including correspondence, memoranda, salary charts and graphs of income and expenditures ; correspondence and memoranda relating to Black and Chicano students at Stanford, 1970-1971.

The third series, Minority Affairs, deals with the concerns of previous hit Black and Chicano students at Stanford in 1970-1971. Included are memoranda on budgeting for funding of black and Chicano Studies programs, hiring of minority faculty members, minority admissions, correspondence from the Black Student Union (BSU), and Mecha, the Chicano students' organization, and newspaper clippings collected by Mr. Bacchetti on topics concerning minority students. Also includes interdepartmental memoranda and correspondence on budgeting for Black Studies Program, and correspondence from the Black Student Union, including list of demands, and the administration's response. Materials can be searched online via the Online Archive of California.

 

Ujamaa records, circa 1970-2012 (SC1127)

The records consist of administrative materials, newspaper clippings, photographs, posters, and audiovisual materials created and/or collected by the Ujamaa theme dormitory at Stanford University. These materials document the administration and history of the theme house from the 1970s to 2012. Materials can be searched online though the Online Archive of California.

 

Stanford University. Black Community Services Center records, 1973-1988 (SC0369)

Correspondence, memoranda, proposals, questionnaires, programs, publications, and flyers pertaining to the activities of Black students at Stanford and the history of the Center. Other Black groups represented include the Black Recruitment and Orientation Committee, Ujamaa House, Joint Center for African Studies, Stanford African Student Association, Stanford Black Pre-Medical Organization, and Stanford Out of South Africa. Note: The Black Community Services Center is a division of the Dean of Student Affairs. It initiates and coordinates Black student involvement in community service programs and provides primary advising and support services for Black students. Materials can be searched online though the Online Archive of California.

 

Stanford University, Committee on Black Performing Arts records, 1977-1990 (SC1132)

The materials consist of administrative records, correspondence, publications, and ephemera documenting the Committee on Black Performing Arts.

 

Stanford University. University Committee on Minority Issues, Records, 1986-1989 (SC0363)

Records include correspondence, reports, surveys, questionnaires, interviews, tables, articles, brochures, clippings, audio tapes, and other items pertaining to minority students, faculty, and staff at Stanford University, compiled from University documents, reports, and data files and from interviews and surveys with students, faculty, and staff conducted by SRI International and Pacific Management Systems. Note: The University Committee on Minority Issues was established by the President and Provost in October 1987 in response to a demand by the Rainbow Agenda (a coalition of minority groups) to explore the critical concerns of minority students, faculty, and staff at Stanford University. Materials can be searched through the Online Archive of California.

 

Stanford University, Office of Judicial Affairs, Ujamaa House incident records, 1988 (SCM0088)

Defaced posters, notes, notices, and a letter that were presented as evidence at the judicial hearing in response to a racial incident at Ujamaa House, the black theme dormitory on campus. Note:  the final report on this incident was published in the Campus Report of January 18, 1989. Materials can be searched online though the Online Archive of California.

Stanford Honors Theses

Stanford University, Department of History, honors theses, 1958-2011 (3960

Honors theses by undergraduates in the Stanford University Department of History. Collection is open for research; materials must be requested at least 48 hours in advance of intended use. No photocopies may be made. Collection materials can be searched via the Online Archive of California. Includes:

Hildner, Laura, Radical transformations: Stanford's Participation in the Mississippi Voter Registration Drives of 1963-1965 and the Rise of Campus Activism, 1999

Warma, Zachary Russell, "What happens when Sigma Chi pledges a Negro": the Alpha Omega chapter, Stanford University, and the national struggle over fraternal discrimination, 2011

Posters

Stanford University Poster Collection (SC1030)

Poster collection documenting academic and student life at Stanford University, including athletics, drama, lectures, films, musical events, organizations, dances, parties and other social events, and political activities. Collection can be searched via the Online Archive of California. Below is a sample:

 “An Afternoon with Louie Armstrong,” poster, 1965 (901-54)

 "Soul comes to Stanford: Ray Charles,” poster, 1965 (901-5)

 “Big Black Jazz on Campus,” poster, 1968 (901-1)

 “Afro-American ‘68,” poster, 1968 (530-7)

 “Black Student Union - Black Girl in Search of God," poster, 1968 (5202)

 “Black Student Union - 3 Plays,” poster, 1969 (5201)

 The Four Faces of Blackness, poster, undated (Box C6)

 “Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Commemoration (schedule of events), poster, 1988 1988 (909-01)

 "Black Liberation Month," poster, 1991 (2004-002)

 “Kaleidoscope: Rejoicing in the Richness of Blackness,” 1995 (Box B1)

 “Black Liberation Month, poster, 1998 (2002-005)

 Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Week, "Dream the Boldest Dreams," poster, 1998 (2002-007)

 “Stanford's Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Committee presents: Pulitzer Prize Winning Playwright August Wilson, poster, 1999 (2002-009)

 “Steamfunk III,” poster, undated (Box B1)

 “BLACKFEST,” poster, 2009 (2009-006)

 “Globalizing Black History,” poster, 2010 (2010-013)

Audiovisual Materials

Stanford University, News and Publications Service, Records (SC0122)

Records include subject files compiled by the News Service in the course of its work, news releases prepared by the News Service, proof sheets of photographs produced by the News Service photographers, taped interviews, office files of the Director of News and Publications Service and of the directors of the individual units, news clippings, and miscellaneous photographic and printed material. Collection materials can be searched in the Online Archive of California.

This collection includes materials that have been scanned or digitized, which are independently accessible through SearchWorks.

Martin Luther King, Jr. at Stanford: Digitized film of speech given by Martin Luther King, Jr. at Stanford University in 1967.

Film, 1967

 

Stanford University video collection, 1939-2009 (SC1031)

Collection contains video recordings and DVDs pertaining to Stanford University including lectures, cultural events, academic programs, faculty interviews, buildings, the university’s history, and athletics other than football. Some materials have been digitized and are accessible online. Collection materials can be searched in the Online Archive of California.

Coretta Scott King at Stanford University, 1986 (V107)

Meetings on Racism, Stanford University, 1987 (V028)

Martin Luther King, Jr. birthday celebration, [Jesse Jackson, speaker], Stanford University, 1987 (V101).

A celebration of the life and legacy of Martin Luther King, Jr., [dramatic reading from Clay Carson's play], Memorial Church, Stanford University, 1994 (V075)

 

Stanford University, News and Publication Service, Audiovisual Recordings, 1936-2011 (SC1125)

The materials consist of audio and video recordings done by the News and Publication Service. Audio-visual materials are generally not available in original format, and must be reformatted to a digital use copy. Collection can also be searched through the Online Archive of California.

Black Liberation Month Panel, News Service Cassette tape #39, 02/05/1981 (SC1125.ref82.1-2)

Part 1

Part 2 

Donald Kennedy on "Black Presence at Stanford," [News Service Cassette tape #5, 11/20/1980. (SC1125.NR,CRp.1)

Part 1

Part 2

Seniors: Four Years in Retrospect (SC1125:97-0000-3 VIDEO)

Stanford Gospel Choir, Kevin Arrigo, Ross Ice Shelf 04/15/2002 (SC1125:02-0415-1)

Stanford: 1968 Revisited, Black Student Union, 01/23/2002 (SC1125:02-0123-1a / SC1125:02-0123-1b)