You are here

African Americans and education

Last Updated: 9-Sep-2014

This guide is for those interested in African American education, both research and practice.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

"provides the first systematic review to date of how sociologists have studied the relationship between race/ethnicity and educational inequality in 18 different national contexts"
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC2771 .E63 2010 V.1
Dordrecht, Netherlands : Springer, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC5115 .I57 2007 PT.1
[Washington, D.C.] : American Council on Education, Office of Minority Concerns,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC3731 .A512 ED.24 2010
Annual status reports.
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii

New books

Fayetteville : University of Arkansas Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2338 .A45 2013
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC214.23 .C54 D36 2014
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC2781 .S36 2013
1st Palgrave Macmillan pbk. ed. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA306 .B7 C76 2011
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC212.42 .W53 2013

Journals

Fairfax, VA : Cox, Matthews & Associates, 2005-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
Westport, CT : Greenwood Pub. Group,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » 370.5 .I567 V.46 2013
New York, NY : CH II Publishers, c1993-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LC2781 .J68 NO.62 2008/2009

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Ann Arbor, MI] : ProQuest Information and Learning
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full text articles from newspapers and periodicals published by the ethnic, minority and native press in the U.S. Coverage is from 1960 to date.

Websites