You are here

African education

Last Updated: 20-Oct-2014

This is a guide for those beginning research on African Education.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .I565 2013 V.1
"Part I provides a set of entries on major topics in education that are particularly salient in an international context....Part II includes entries for the nations of the world, organized by major regions."
Bloomington : Indiana University Press, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA1503 .A39 2003
Westport, Conn. : Praeger Publishers, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1139.23 .E272 2007 V.1
"a compilation of understandings, controversies, theories, policies, and practices in early childhood education as currently found in the United States and 10 other nations around the world." Vols. 1-3 contain an A to Z listing of articles with suggested readings, while vol. 4 covers other countries. See especially pp. 1194-1239 on South Africa.
Montreal : UNESCO Institute for Statistics, 2003-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2846 .G56 2012
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1027.55 .H357 2007
Provides "a description of the specialty of psychology devoted to the provision of services to children and youth, their teachers, and parents." Section I contains chapters on individual countries, while Section II has synthesis chapters. See section on South Africa on pp. 361-372.
Dordrecht : Springer, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB2322.2 .I57 2006 PT.1
"provides an in-depth analysis of the scope of postsecondary education worldwide, combining a series of overarching comparative essays with analytic chapters focusing on key countries and regions."
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » HQ767.84 .G74 2008 V.1
The Greenwood Encyclopedia of Children's Issues Worldwide covers "all major aspects of children's lives, including educational provision, legal status, family life, health, abuse and neglect, play and recreation, and religious affiliation" in country chapters. Volume 6 is devoted to Sub-Saharan Africa.
Cubberley also has a paper copy in reference LB15 .W87 2002.

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC2475.2 .H43 2014
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2970 .S6 J36 2014
Practice-oriented.
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LG451 .B5 B79 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA2090 .S68 E387 2010
Johannesburg, South Africa : African Minds for JET Education Services, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2822.84 .S6 S97 2013 F
Cape Town : UCT Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LG411 .C2 V54 2013
Ibadan, Nigeria : West African Association of Theological Institutions, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC95 .N55 W47 2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC2477.75 .E825 2012
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC1203 .N6 R43 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4098 .N6 Y86 2013
Burundi : Ministère de l'Enseignement Supérieur et de la Recherche Scientifique, [2011?]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA2090 .B9 B58 2011
[s.l.] : African Union Commission, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1501 .S4313 2006 F
Onitsha, Nigeria : West and Solomon Publishing Coy. Ltd., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3609 .N93 2012

Journals

Katsina, Katsina State, Nigeria : African Journal of Academic Excellence,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1630 .A365 V.3:NO.1 2012
[Oxford, Eng., etc.] Carfax Publishing Co. [etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Comparative Education Society in Europe
Cotonou, Benin : Sabati SARL,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1503 .E44 F NO.8-13 2012-2013 +SUPPL
Chestnut Hill, MA : Center for International Higher Education, Boston College ; Dakar, Senegal : Council for the Development of Social Science Research in Africa (CODESRIA), 2003-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Abidjan, Côte d'Ivoire : Section éducation du Bureau régional UNICEF pour d'Afrique de l'Ouest et du Centre.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1139.3 .A358 N68 F NO.13 2001
Johannesburg, South Africa : Faculty of Education, University of the Witwatersrand,
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1535 .P47 V.30 2012
Pretoria : South African Association for the Advancement of Education, 1981-2011.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LA1535 .S6 V.31 2011

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Stanford, Calif.] : [Stanford University Library and Information Services, Jonsson Library of Government Documents]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This is a search engine for students, faculty, researchers, and officials who are doing research in intergovernmental organization topics. The IGO Search searches across hundreds of IGO websites, enabling users to research topics such as active IGOs working on HIV/AIDS in Uganda.
[Stanford, Calif.] : [Stanford University Library and Information Services, Jonsson Library of Government Documents]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Search of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO). "
[Baltimore, Maryland] : BiblioLine, [2004?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Access to more than two million records, including South Africa studies and African studies and a number of other multi-disciplinary databases.
Johannesburg ; Washington, D.C. : AllAfrica Global Media, [1999?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Recent news about education from African newspapers
[New York : Columbia University, 1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
[Centurion, South Africa] : Sabinet Online
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Searchable database of full text journals published in South Africa in the areas of social sciences and humanities.

Websites