You are here

AIAA Papers

Last Updated: 19-Nov-2013

Finding and accessing AIAA papers, journals, technical reports.

Subject Librarians

Head of the Terman Engineering Library
(650) 725-1012
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Overview of AIAA Publications

The AIAA publishes books, journals and conference papers, frequently with other engineering societies. Individual conference papers that are published in proceedings for specific conferences are also a part of the AIAA paper series. This series contains most papers presented at AIAA conferences. Each conference paper is assigned an AIAA paper number.

Reston, VA : American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics
Full-text, online AIAA Papers (1963 - present). The easiest way to retrieve an AIAA paper is to use Aerospace Resource Central the AIAA Digital Library. Search the full-text, author, title, or paper number.

Citations to AIAA Papers

If the AIAA Electronic Library is unavailable for some reason, use the following resources to determine if the paper was presented at a conference.

Bethesda, MD : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts,

Provides citations and abstracts of basic and applied research in aeronautics, astronautics, and space sciences; in addition to journal literature, the database also includes coverage of reports issued by NASA and other US government agencies.

[Hampton, Va. : National Aeronautics and Space Administration, Langley Research Center, 1994]

Provides access to approximately 500,000 aerospace citations, 90,000 full-text documents, and 11,000 images and videos. An AIAA paper usually is indexed on NTRS if the paper was NASA funded in some way. Full-text of the document may or may not be available.