All That Jazz: The Rhetoric of American Musical Theater

PWR 2WG - Winter 2017 - Instructor: Goldberg, W.

A guide to resources for PWR 2WG: All That Jazz: The Rhetoric of American Musical Theater.  Course topics include: the conventions and strategies that define the genre of American musical theater, analyzing how contemporary musicals mirror, revise, and even subvert these traditional rules while addressing a range of current issues.

Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

2nd ed. London : Distributed by Macmillan ; New York : Distributed by Grove's Dictionaries, 2001.
Music Library » Reference » ML100 .G883 2001 V.1
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2008.
Music Library » Reference » ML102 .M88 H593 2008
also available online from Oxford Reference online (see below)
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search these reference sources all at once: The Oxford Companion to the American Musical; The Oxford Companion to American Theatre; The Oxford Dictionary of Dance; The International Encyclopedia of Dance; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music; The Oxford Companion to Music ; A Dictionary of Opera Characters ; The Grove Book of Opera Singers; The Grove Book of Operas; The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Opera; Encyclopedia of Popular Music; The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare; The Oxford Companion to Theatre and Performance; The Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance; The Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre.
Oxford, England : Blackwell, 1994.
Music Library » Reference » ML102 .M88 G21 1994 V.1
Westport, Conn. : Greenwood Press, 1993.
Music Library » Reference » ML102 .M88 H67 1993
New York : Oxford University Press, 1981.
Green Library » Stacks » PN1995.9 .M86 G7
2nd ed. New York : Routledge, 2011.
Music Library » Reference » ML128 .M78 E84 2011
Jefferson, N.C. : McFarland & Co., c2006.
Music Library » Reference » ML102 .M88 S74 2006
Eighth edition /
Music Library » Reference » ML102 .M88 G73 2014
Older editions are in the stacks and may be checked out

Chronologies

Norton, Richard C. A Chronology of American Musical Theater. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002.

Productions are listed chronologically by season, from 1750 through 2001-01. Includes essential information about the work, lists musical numbers, and cast.  A show index helps locate a work within the chronology. Songs and people are indexed separately.

Bordman, Gerald Martin. American Musical Theatre : a Chronicle. Oxford: Oxford University Press, 2011. (2001 edition available online.)

Year-to-year account of the musical theatre from its origins-2010, with indexes of shows, songs, and people.

Green, Stanley. Broadway Musicals: Show by Show. ; revised and updated by Kay Green. 6th ed. New York: Applause Theater & Cinema Books, 2008.  

Arranged chronologically, serves as a history, guide, fact book and photograph album of the most memorable productions presented both on and off Broadway from 1866-2007.

 Green, Stanley. Hollywood Musicals: Year by Year. Revised and updated by Elaine Schmidt. Milwaukee, WI: H. Leonard Pub; Corp., c1999.

A history, guide, fact book and photograph album of 300 major musical productions, from 1927’s Jazz Singer to 1999’s Tarzan.

Gänzl, Kurt. The British Musical Theatre. New York: Oxford University Press, 1986.

            Year-by-year survey of British light musical theatre,from 1865-1984.

Suggested databases

Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for articles to support your research.

[Ann Arbor, Mich.] : ProQuest Information and Learning Company.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[New York, RILM]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » ML118 .R574 V.33 1999 INDEX
2nd ed. [Chicago] : Alexander Street Press, 2008-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Alexandria, VA : Chadwyck-Healey, Inc.,
Music Library » Recordings » MCDI 9
New York, NY : Broadway League.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Detroit, Information Coordinators [etc.]
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference
[United States] : Primedia Information, Inc., [1999?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource