Some Reference Sources for Anglo-Saxon history & Old English
SUL/AIR internet resource = requires Stanford IP address; = external link | Connecting through Stanford's authenticated proxy
Bibliography of British and Irish history
Companion to Anglo-saxon Literature / Pulsiano, Phillip, and Elaine M Treharne. Oxford: Blackwell Publishers, 2001.
Cambridge companion to Old English literature / edited by Malcolm Godden and Michael Lapidge. 1991.
Cambridge History of Early Medieval English Literature 2012.
Dictionary of Old English A to G online & Old English Corpus "The Dictionary of Old English (DOE) defines the vocabulary of the first six centuries (600 - 1150 A.D.) of the English language. The DOE complements the Middle English Dictionary (which covers the period 1100 - 1500 A.D.) and the Oxford English Dictionary
Early English Books Online (EEBO) From the first book printed in English by William Caxton. through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War. EEBO digitally reproduces facsimile images of the original editions of over 125,000 titles listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640). Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700). and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661). Searching is limited to author. title. subject. printer and publication date.
English Poetry This database of the complete English poetic canon from Anglo-Saxon times to the end of the nineteenth century is drawn from the works of more than 1,250 poets from 600 to 1900. English Poetry contains the full text of over 165,000 poems taken from 4,500 printed sources. The bibliographic basis of English Poetry is the New Cambridge Bibliography of English Literature; works in English of Welsh. Scottish and Irish poets are also included.
Fontes Anglo-Saxonici, A Register of Written Sources Used by Anglo-Saxon Authors
Keynes, S. Anglo-Saxon History: A Select Bibliography
Handbook of Anglo-Saxon studies ed. by Jacqueline Stodnick and Renée R. Trilling. 2012.
Labyrinth Old English
Literature Online a fully searchable library of more than 350,000 works of English and American poetry, drama and prose, 312 full-text literature journals, and other key criticism and reference resources.
New Cambridge Medieval History
Oxford Bibliographies online including,
- Anglo-Saxon Art
- Anglo-Saxon Manuscript Illumination
- Anglo-Saxon Metalwork
- Anglo-Saxon Stone Sculpture
- Old English Religious Poetry
Prosopography of Anglo-Saxon England (PASE) is a database comprising a persons that includes, in principle, every recorded individual who lived in, or was closely connected with, Anglo-Saxon England from 597 to 1042.
General Bibliography, Manuals
- Keynes. 1998. Anglo-Saxon History: A Select Bibliography. 3rd rev ed.
- Bonser. 1957. An Anglo-Saxon and Celtic bibliography (450-1087). 2 v. Z2017.B6 Info Center. Vol 1 lists 12,000+ entries from periodicals and collections. Anglo-Saxon sources can be found in Graves (below). "Indispensible for tracking down articles."
- Gross. 1975. A bibliography of English history to 1485. Based on the sources and literature of English History from the earliest times to about 1485, by Charles Gross. Ed. by Edgar Graves. Oxford, Clarendon Press, 1975. Z2017.G8 Info Center. Chapter XI, Anglo-Saxon and Celts: Sources.
- Lapidge. 1999. The Blackwell encyclopaedia of Anglo-Saxon England. DA152 .B58 Lane Rm.
- Rosenthal, Joel. 1985. Anglo-Saxon history: an annotated bibliography, 450-1066. Z2017.R67 Info Center.
Continuing Bibliography (Indexes, Abstracts)
- Anglo-Saxon England (ASE) 1972-, DA152.A5. Includes annual bibliography.
- Bibliography of British and Irish history
- Old English Newsletter Online 1967-. Print ed. PE101.O4 Stacks. Includes Annual Bibliography on Old English Studies as its summer issue and The Year's Work in Old English Studies (YWOES) as its winter issue.
- MLA International Bibliography
- Year's Work in English Studies
- English historical documents. 2nd ed. New York: Oxford University Press, 1979-. DA26.E55 Lane Rm. The first two volumes "make accessible a wide selection of fundamental sources in English history" in English translation for the Anglo-Saxon and Anglo-Norman periods. There are many explanatory notes and and a section on bibliography.
- Gransden, Antonia. 1974-1982. Historical writing in England. London: Routledge and Kegan Paul, 2 v. DA1.G75 Lane Rm. Contents:  c. 550 to c. 1307.--2. c. 1307 to the early sixteenth century. A very useful introduction to a number of writers and sources.
- Harmer, FE. Select English historical documents of the ninth and tenth centuries. Cambridge, 1914. Great Britain--History--Anglo-Saxon period, 449-1066--Sources. Great Britain--Charters, grants, privileges.
Authors & Texts
Search the bibliographic information in the OE Corpus to identify specific texts. There are 3047 texts in the corpus. The texts are ordered by their Cameron numbers, alphanumeric codes that consist of one letter followed by a number or numbers, variously identifying the specific texts. Cameron. 1974. "A List of Old English Texts," in A Plan for the Dictionary of Old English.
- Dictionary of Old English: abbreviations for Latin source and bibliography of editions. Toronto, c1992. PE279.D53 Lane Rm.
- Fontes Anglo-Saxonici, A Register of Written Sources Used by Anglo-Saxon Authors
- Old and Middle English literature. PR166.O43 1994 v.146. Dictionary of literary biography; v. 146. TOPICS: English literature--Old English, ca. 450-1100. English literature--Middle English, 1100-1500. A handy guide to major writers and anonymous works (e.g., Alliterative Morte Arthure, N-Town Plays) that lists EETS (Early Englsi Text Society) editions and modern English editions. Includes appendices "English Language 410-1500," "Anglo-Norman Literature," and "Celtic Background to Medieval Literature." EETS Original Series and new series.
- Old English Corpus
- Sources of Anglo-Saxon literary culture: a trial version (SASLC). 1990. Z2012 .S58 Info Center. Subject (LC): English literature--Old English, ca. 450-1100--Bibliography. Civilization, Anglo-Saxon--Sources--Bibliography.
- Bately, Janet. 1993. Anonymous Old English homilies: a preliminary bibliography of source studies. PR1120.B37 Stacks.
- Morrell. 1965. A Manual of Old English Biblical Materials. Rev. in Modern Philology 65 (3):239.
- Quinn. 1990. A manual of Old English prose. PR221.Q5 Lane Rm. English prose literature--Old English, ca. 450-1100--Bibliography. Manuscripts, English (Old)--Catalogs.
manuscripts & facsimiles
Works listed in the Author & Texts section above include manuscript information.
- Anglo-Saxon Manuscripts and other items of related interest in the Library of Trinity College, Cambridge. 1992.
- Anglo-Saxon manuscripts in microfiche facsimile. 1994-
- Corpus of Insular, Anglo-Saxon, and Early Anglo-Norman Manuscript Art
- Early English manuscripts in facsimile. 1951-. Contents
- Great Britain. Ordnance Survey. Facsimiles of Anglo-Saxon manuscripts photozincographed by command of Her Majesty Queen Victoria. On the recommendation of the right honorable the master of the rolls by the Ordnance survey. With translations by W. Basevi Sanders. Published by authority of the lords commissioners of Her Majesty's Treasury. Southampton, Ordnance survey office, 1878-84. 3 v. plates. 60 cm.
- Ker, N. R. Catalogue of manuscripts containing Anglo-Saxon. Oxford, 1957. Lane Room Z6605.A56K4.
- Sources of Anglo-Saxon literary culture: a trial version (SASLC) / edited by Frederick M. Biggs, Thomas D. Hill, Paul E. Szarmach, with the assistance of Karen Hammond. Green Library Stacks Z2012.S58 1990. (SASLC) is a "reference work summarizing current scholarship concerning the knowledge and use of literary sources in Anglo-Saxon England." In 2007 a revision of the entries on the Apocrypha was published. Reviewed in Speculum 1993SASLC expands and brings up to date Ogilvy:
- Ogilvy, J. D. A. Books known to Anglo-Latin writers from Aldhelm to Alcuin (670-804). Cambridge, Mass., 1936. Green Library Gen Ref Z7026.O35. Contents: Table of abbreviations -- Bibliography (p. ix- xvi) -- Introduction.-- Catalogue of books known to Anglo-Latin writers from Aldhelm to Alcuin.-- The chief sources of information employed by writers of the period (p.91-92).-- Growth of English libraries.- Conclusion.-- Appendices: A. "Provenance and form of English books." B. "Notes on English education." C. "English books on the continent."
- Ogilvy, J. D. A. Books known to the English, 597-1066. Cambridge, Mass, 1967. Green Library Stacks Z6602.O35. Manuscripts, Medieval--England--Catalogs.
- Ogilvy, J. D. A. Books known to the English, 597-1066: addenda et corrigenda. Binghamton, 1985. Green Library Stacks PR41.O45 v.11. Old English newsletter. Subsidia, v. 11.
- Pelteret, D. Catalogue of English post-conquest vernacular documents. Woodbridge, 1990.
- Bond, E.A. Facsimiles of ancient charters in the British museum. 1873-78. 4 v. facsims. Facsimiles of 140 English documents dating from A. D. 624 <674?> to the 11th century. Later documents are reproduced in the new series: Facsimiles of royal and other charters in the British museum, ed. by G. F. Warner and H. J. Ellis, London, 1903-.
- Keynes, S. Facsimiles of Anglo-Saxon charters. Oxford, 1991. Green Library Stacks DA195.F337 1991. Charters not included in above cited two collections. Latin and Anglo-Saxon texts, English introduction and notes.
- Bishop, Terence Alan Martyn, ed. Facsimiles of English royal writs to A.D. 1100. Oxford, 1957. Green Library Stacks 942.01.B622.
- The Cambridge history of the English Language online
- The Cambridge history of the English language. 6 v. 1992-94.
- Burnley, J. D. The history of the English language: a source book. 2nd ed. London, 2000. English language--Old English, ca. 450-1100--Texts. English language--Middle English, 1100-1500--Texts.
- Fischer, O. The syntax of early English. Cambridge, 2000.
- Mitchell, Bruce. A critical bibliography of Old English syntax to the end of 1984, including addenda and corrigenda to Old English syntax. Oxford, 1990.
- Mitchell, Bruce. A guide to Old English / Bruce Mitchell, Fred C. Robinson. 7th ed. Oxford, 2007.
- Partridge, AC. A companion to Old and Middle English studies. 1982.
- Tajima, M. Old and Middle English language studies: a classified bibliography, 1923-1985. Amsterdam, 1988. Green Library Gen Ref Z2015.A1T3 1988.
- Visser, Fredericus. An historical syntax of the English language. Leiden, 1963-73. Includes bibliographies. Contents: pts. 1-2. Syntactical units with one verb.--pt.3. 1st half. Syntactical units with two verbs.--pt.3. 2d half. Syntactical units with two and more verbs.
- Dictionary of Old English A to G online
- Dictionary of Old English. Toronto, c1986-. Green Library Microtext MFICHE 795. With Preface (fiche 001): A microfiche concordance to Old English: the list of texts and index of editions / compiled by Antonette di Paolo Healey and Richard L. Venezky. The Concordance is also published in book form; reprinted with revisions, c1985, and includes The List of Texts and Index of Editions for the Dictionary project. For related publications search the series title Publications of the dictionary of Old English in Socrates.
- Borden, Arthur R. 1982. A comprehensive Old-English dictionary. PE279.B48 Lane Rm.
- Latham, Ronald Edward. 1965. Revised medieval Latin word-list from British and Irish sources. PA2891.L3 Lane Rm; Info Center. No references to sources, or extracts.
- Latham, Ronald Edward. 1975-. Dictionary of medieval Latin from British sources. PA2891.L28 Lane Rm.
- Pollington, Stephen. 1993. Wordcraft: Concise Dictionary & Thesaurus of Modern English--Old English. PE279.P65 Lane Rm.
- Roberts, Jane. 1995. A thesaurus of Old English. 2 v. PE279.R62 Lane Rm.
- Toller. 1882-1921. An Anglo-Saxon dictionary, based on the manuscript collections of the late Joseph Bosworth . . . PE279.B5 Lane Rm.
Paul Theiner (1992) "Medieval English Literature," provides a brief overview of the major reference works, sources collections, and subject bibliography, in Powell, ed., Medieval Studies: An Introduction, 2nd ed. George Anderson (1966) "Old English Literature," in The Medieval Literature of Western Europe offers a similar reveiw of research for an earlier period (1930-1960). One can use the works listed under Continuing Bibliography to follow research trends up to the present.
- Beale.1976. Old and ME Poetry to 1500 a guide to information sources. Z2014.P7B34 Lane Rm.
- Bessinger. 1978. A Concordance to the Anglo-Saxon Poetic Records. PR1506.B47 Lane Rm.
- Greenfield, S.B. and Fred C. Robinson. 1980.A bibliography of publications on Old English literature to the end of 1972: using the collections of E.E. Ericson. Z2012.G83 Info Center. The basic bibliography for Old English.
- Helterman. 1994. Old and Middle English literature. PR166.O43 1994 v.146 Info Center. Dictionary of literary biography; v. 146. TOPICS: English literature--Old English, ca. 450-1100. English literature--Middle English, 1100-1500. A handy guide to major writers and anonymous works (e.g., Alliterative Morte Arthure, N-Town Plays) that lists EETS editions and modern English editions. Includes appendices "English Language 410-1500," "Anglo-Norman Literature," and "Celtic Background to Medieval Literature."
- Lambdin. 2002. A companion to Old and Middle English literature edited by Laura Cooner Lambdin and Robert Thomas Lambdin.
- Pulsiano. 2001. A Companion to Anglo-Saxon Literature / edited by Phillip Pulsiano and Elaine Treharne.
- Quinn. 1990. A manual of Old English prose / Karen J. Quinn, Kenneth P. Quinn. PR221.Q5 Lane Rm. TOPICS: English prose literature--Old English, ca. 450-1100--Bibliography. Manuscripts, English (Old)--Catalogs.
- Tajima. 1988. Old and Middle English language studies: a classified bibliography, 1923-1985. Z2015.A1 T3 Info Center.
- Resources for the Study of Beowulf
- Electronic Beowulf Project
- Hasenfratz, Robert. 1993. Beowulf scholarship: an annotated bibliography, 1979-1990.
- Short, Douglas. 1980. Beowulf scholarship: an annotated bibliography.
- Hill, David. 1981. An atlas of Anglo-Saxon England. Great Britain--History--Anglo Saxon period, 449-1066--Maps.
- Kerr, Nigel. 1982. A guide to Anglo-Saxon sites. London. Anglo-Saxons. England--Antiquities--Guide-books.
- Muir, Richard. 1985. The National Trust guide to Dark Age and Medieval Britain, 400-1350.
- Service, A. 1982. Anglo-Saxon and Norman: a guide and gazetteer.