You are here

Arts in education

Last Updated: 18-Sep-2014

This is a guide for those interested in the role of the arts in education, both research and practice.  It includes the visual arts and drama.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

Mahwah, N.J.: National Art Education Association : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » N103 .H36 2004
"Sponsored by the National Art Education and assembled by an internationally known group of art educators, this thirty-six chapter handbook provides an overview of the remarkable progress that has characterized this field in recent decades. Organized into six sections, it profiles and integrates the following elements of this relatively new and loosely coupled field: history, policy, learning, curriculum and instruction, assessment, and competing perspectives."
Dordrecht, The Netherlands : Springer, c2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Los Angeles : SAGE Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LA210 .A15 2008 V.1
Chapter 40, pp. 369-378 gives an overview of the arts in education, including a bibliography of suggested readings.

New books

5th ed. Loose-leaf version. Boston, MA : Allyn & Bacon/Pearson, c2015.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » NX280 .C67 2015
Practice-oriented.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN3171 .M354 2014
Practice-oriented.
London ; New York : Routledge, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC5225 .S64 A37 2014
Rotterdam : Sense Publishers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PR9199.4 .G65 Z47 2013
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard Education Press, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » N350 .Y46 2013
Camberwell, Vic. : ACER Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » NX280 .C74 2013
Practice-oriented.
New York, N. Y. : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1591 .Y68 2013
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1068 .A75 2013
Bristol ; Chicago, IL : Intellect, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1062 .C738 2013
Practice-oriented.
New York, NY : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2806.15 .M326 2013
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Cambridge, MA : Harvard Education Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC151 .L36 2012
Practice-oriented.
Calgary : Brush Education, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » N72 .M3 J37 2012
1st ed. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2012, ©2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LC4025 .A78 2012

Journals

[Reston, Va., etc.] National Art Education Association.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Ask at circulation desk » MFILM N.S. 7976
Full-text online from 1948 to present. "Articles, special reports and thematic issues on all aspects of art education published by the National Art Education Association."
Oxford : Blackwell, 2000-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » N7425 .J6 V.27 2008
"Published under the auspices of the National Society for Education in Art and Design."
Tempe, Ariz. : Arizona State University, 2000-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"The International Journal of Education & the Arts currently serves as an open access platform for scholarly dialogue. Our commitment is to the highest forms of scholarship invested in the significances of the arts in education and the education within the arts....The journal primarily publishes peer reviewed research-based field studies including, among others, aesthetics, art theory, music education, visual arts education, media education, drama education, dance education, education in literature, and narrative and holistic integrated studies that cross or transcend these fields."
Worcester, Mass., Davis Press [etc., etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
"School Arts is a national magazine committed to promoting excellence, advocacy, and professional support for educators in the visual arts."
Urbana : University of Illinois Press, c1982-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » N81 .R4 V.37-38 NO.72-75 2011-2012

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[San Diego, etc., Sociological Abstracts, inc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HM1 .S67 V.52:NO.6 2004

Children's books

London ; Boston : Walker, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 W565 2008 F
Lexile measure AD480; Book level 3; Ages 4-8; gr. k-2

Recently received

Cover image of Harlem's little blackbird
1st ed. New York : Random House Children's Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930.M63 W37 2012
Lexile measure AD770L; Ages 6-9; Gr.1-3
Cover image of Diego Rivera
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .R5 R83 2013
Lexile measure 980; gr.5-8

Other books

Cover image of The bird king
1st American ed. New York : Arthur A. Levine Books, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC994.5 .T36 A4 2013
Ages 11-15, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .A623 C48 2004
Toronto : Kids Can Press, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .W383 C48 2007
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ND259 .R5 T57 2011
Awards: Pura Belpré Illustrator award, 2012.; Lexile measure 1040; Book level 4.9; Ages 5-10, gr. K-3
1st ed. Cambridge, MA : Candlewick Press, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .E8964 D68 2003
Lexile measure 500; Ages 5-9; Grade level 2.1; Realistic fiction, gr. K-3
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S39 A2 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book, 2012; Ages 10-15; Autobiography, gr. 5-8
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6537 .C54 A2 2012
Ages 8-12; biography; gr. 5-8
1st U.S. ed. New York : Walker, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .E4356 G73 2010
Ages 5-9; Book level 5.3; Realistic Fiction, gr. 1-3
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.6 .H515 2003
Lexile measure 1270; ages 11-18; book level 6; general nonfiction, gr. 8-12
Toronto : Groundwood Books, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC993 .E392 E4413 2006
1st ed. San Diego : Harcourt Brace, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3556 .L589 I57 1998
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .Y68 A2 2011 F
Ages 7-14, gr. 5-9
Cover image of Leonardo, beautiful dreamer
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6923 .L33 B97 2003 F
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 10-14; Grade level 5.9; Nonfiction, gr. 4-8
New York : Putnam, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NB1230 .F75 2001 F
Lexile measure 660; Book level 4.6; Ages 5-12; Biography and Autobiography; gr. 4-7
New York : Dell Pub. Co., 1975, c1972.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A736 C7 1975
Gr. 2-5
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O354464 M4 2012 F
Cover image of Me, Frida
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3614 .O9275 M4 2010
Book level 3.6; Ages 6-10, gr. 1-3
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NA4670 .M33 2003 F
Lexile measure 1340; Book level 8.4; Ages 9 and up, gr. 5-9
New York : Harry N. Abrams, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6537 .B4 G74 2003
Cover image of The shape game
1st American ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC978.5 .B768 B76 2003
1. ed. en español. México : Fondo de Cultural Económica, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 S4818 2004
1st ed. New York : Knopf, 1980.
Green Library » Stacks » PN2287 .P57 A37
Autobiography and biography, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A5 R93 2002
Lexile measure 780; ages 7-10; book level 5.2; biography; gr. K-5
Cover image of The wall
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NC975.5 .S57 A2 2007 F
Ages 9-15; book level 5.2; autobiography; informational, gr. 7-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R4527 W48 1997
1. ed. en español. México, D.F. : Fondo de Cultura Económica, 2000
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 W55 2000 F

Websites