You are here

Asian education

Last Updated: 5-Dec-2014

This guide is for those beginning research in Asian education.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .I565 2013 V.1
"Part I provides a set of entries on major topics in education that are particularly salient in an international context....Part II includes entries for the nations of the world, organized by major regions."
New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1141 .H38 2011
"The purpose of this handbook is to present a more nuanced description and analysis of educational systems, practices, and policies in Asian countries than is typically described or perceived, and more importantly, explain and interpret these practices from cultural, social, historical, and economic perspectives." Part III: Islamic Education (pp. 317-385) "The Islamic Education section is organized to illustrate how the educational and cultural challenges confronting Muslim-majority countries today vary by the historical, political, and socio-economic contexts of those societies."
Dordrecht ; Boston : Kluwer Academic Publishers, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1028.25 .A78 I58 2003 PT.1
Dordrecht : Springer, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB2322.2 .I57 2006 PT.1
"provides an in-depth analysis of the scope of postsecondary education worldwide, combining a series of overarching comparative essays with analytic chapters focusing on key countries and regions."
Dordrecht, Netherlands : Springer, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC5115 .I57 2007 PT.1
Cubberley also has a paper copy in reference LB15 .W87 2002.

New books

Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1131.82 .Z5477 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2822.75 .P73 2014
Dordrecht, [NL] : Springer, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1058 .E44 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1607.53 .K4 S43 2014
Newcastle upon Tyne : Cambridge Scholars Press Ltd., 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2806 .A84 2014
English language edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PL519 .B8613 2014
Stockholm : Institute of International Education, Department of Education, Stockholm University, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA132 .S845 V.77

Journals

Beijing : Tsinghua University China Academic Journals Electronic Publishing House ; Minneapolis, MN : East View Publications [USA distributor], c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Leiden ; Boston : Brill, 2009-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LA1130 .C46 V.3 2011
[Oxford, Eng., etc.] Carfax Publishing Co. [etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Comparative Education Society in Europe
Knoxville, College of Education, University of Tennessee.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .I63 V.38 2008/2009

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

Ann Arbor, Mich. : Association for Asian Studies, [1998- ]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides citations to articles in western-language periodicals and some books pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia. Covers 1971 to the present.
[Stanford, Calif.] : [Stanford University Library and Information Services, Jonsson Library of Government Documents]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This is a search engine for students, faculty, researchers, and officials who are doing research in intergovernmental organization topics. The IGO Search searches across hundreds of IGO websites.
[Stanford, Calif.] : [Stanford University Library and Information Services, Jonsson Library of Government Documents]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search of Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs) websites. Sites were chosen based on their consultative status with the United Nations Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) and also collated from University of Minnesota Human Rights Library, Duke University Libraries' NGO Research Guide, and the World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO).
[New York : Columbia University, 1997-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. It publishes a wide range of scholarship from 1991 on that includes working papers from university research institutes, occasional papers series from non-governmental organizations, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.

Websites