This is a topic guide for Asian religions, covering resources for the study of Buddhism, Confucianism, Daoism, and other religious traditions across Asia.
Table of Contents
Primary sources - Chinese/Japanese/Korean
- Kanseki Repository - open access database offering full-text searching of a number of primary source and canonical collections, including the Siku quanshu, Taishō shinshū daizōkyō, Zhengtong Daozang, and others
- Chinese Text Project - this database has a heavy focus on ancient Chinese texts (Warring States => Han) but also includes dynastic histories, literary collections, gazetteers, and canonical materials such as the Daozang
- Scripta Sinica - database produced by Academia Sinica that features dynastic histories, literary collections, canonical religious texts such as the Da zangjing, Zhengtong Daozang, Daozang jiyao, and others
- Erudition Chinese Classics - large database that includes the Siku quanshu, histories, Buddhist materials, local gazetteers, dictionaries, and other important sources. Select "Ancient Classics" and press the "Login" button.
- Chinese Buddhist Electronic Text Association (CBETA) - open access collection of Chinese Buddhist material, including Taishō shinshū daizōkyō, Zokuzōkyō, Jiaxing zang, and several other collections. Search online or download the desktop application.
- SAT Daizōkyō Text Database - search interface for the Taishō shinshū daizōkyō with built-in dictionary. Includes Japanese materials that were not incorporated into the CBETA collection.
- Wanli Da zangjing - Wanli printing of the Chinese Buddhist canon
- Temple Gazetteer Project - digitized and searchable archive of Chinese Buddhist monastery gazetteers
- CUHK Daoist Text Collection - Daoist texts collected in Guangdong
- National Archives of Japan Digital Archive - includes many old and rare Chinese and Japanese books
- Shanben from the Tokyo University Institute of Oriental Culture - digital images of rare Chinese shanben
- Harvard-Yenching collection of baojuan - 87 digitized baojuan from Ming-Qing periods
- Popular Literature and Folk Religion from China - Waseda University collection of rare digitized manuscripts including many baojuan
- Bavarian State Library Digital East Asia Collections - large collection of digitized Chinese and Japanese texts
- Jodoshu zenshu text database - digital search for the Jodoshu zenshu
- British Library Endangered Archives - China - contains digitized manuscripts including Yao, Yi, Tangut, Tibetan, and other languages
Primary sources - Indo-Tibetan
- Buddhist Digital Resource Center (BDRC) - formerly the Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC), this database includes PDF scans of many canonical Tibetan texts, and is increasingly supporting full-text search.
- Buddhist Canons Research Database - search for titles in the Kangyur and Tengyur, with links to electronic texts
- Tibetan Literary Encyclopedia - part of the Tibetan and Himalayan Library, offers title search and some full-text search of Kangyur/Tengyur
- Asian Classics Input Project (ACIP) - downloadable versions of digitized Tibetan and Sanskrit Buddhist texts
- Rinchen Terdzö Project - searchable catalog of the Rinchen Terdzö Chenmo, including digital texts
- Resources for Kanjur & Tanjur Studies - offers title search and full-text access to some Tibetan Buddhist texts
- Peking Tripitaka Online Search - search for titles in the Peking edition of the Tibetan canon
- Kawaguchi Ekai Tibetan Text Collection - the Kawaguchi Collection of Tibetan Texts kept in the Toyo Bunko is a large collection of Tibetan blockprints and manuscripts brought from Tibet by Rev. Kawaguchi Ekai in the early 20th century, containing over 400 volumes of Tibetan scholarly works
- Old Tibetan Documents Online - a corpus of selected Old Tibetan texts (VIIth to XIIth centuries): Dunhuang manuscripts, Inscriptions and related materials.
- Tibetan-Mongolian Rare Books & Manuscripts Project - rare Tibetan and Mongolian books in the University Library, Cambridge, the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library in London, with focus on the collection acquired during the Younghusband Mission to Tibet in 1903–4
- Digitized Tibetan Archives at Bonn University - contains two collections of digitized Tibetan texts, a set of documents related to the Kundeling Monastery and a collection of personal correspondence
- Prince Yunli Collection - digitized manuscripts from the collection of the Manchurian Prince Yunli (1697-1738)
- Hodgson Papers from the British Library - a wide range of materials gathered in 19th cenury Tibet and Nepal
- British Library Endangered Archives - the collections from China and Bhutan both contain digitized rare Tibetan manuscripts
- Digital Sanskrit Buddhist Canon (DSBC) - collection of digitized Sanskrit Buddhist texts
- Göttingen Register of Electronic Texts in Indian Languages (GRETIL) - collection of digitized Indological materials from Central and Southeast Asia, encompassing Sanskrit, Pali, Prakrit, etc.
- Thesaurus Literature Buddhicae - side-by-side presentations of Buddhist texts in English, Sanskrit, Tibetan, Chinese
- Sri Lanka Tipitika Project - online versions of Pali canonical texts in Pali/English/Sinhalese
- International Dunhuang Project - images from Dunhuang and other Silk Road sites
- SAT Taishōzō Image DB - images from the Sino-Japanese Buddhist canon
- Digital Dunhuang - website of the Dunhuang Academy, allows users to view high-resolution images of different caves
- Yale Silk Road Project - over 11,000 images of major sites in the Silk Road region taken during faculty site seminars led by Dr. Mimi Hall Yiengpruksawan
- Daoist Iconography Project - Poul Andersen's database of Daoist imagery.
- National Palace Museum Open Data - downloadable collection of images from the Taiwan National Palace Museum
- East Asian Scroll Paintings - viewer for large scrolling images from the University of Chicago
- Himalayan Art Resources - extensive collection of Himalayan art images
Full-text article searching
The Articles+ function of SearchWorks is a good place to start for full-text searching across Stanford Libraries' catalogs, but it does not yet include all databases. Below are some additional recommended databases.
Bibliographies & reference guides
- Bibliography of Asian Studies - comprehensive bibliography for Asian studies
- Oxford Bibliographies - includes many specialized bibliographies on various topics and sub-topics related to the study of Buddhism, Daoism, Confucianism, and other Asian religious traditions
- East Asian Buddhist Studies: A reference guide - exhaustive guide to the study of East Asian Buddhism compiled by Robert Buswell and William Bodiford
- INBUDS database - search for articles on India and Buddhism published in Japan
- H-Buddhism Bibliography Project - comprehensive, open, online bibliography for the field of Buddhist studies
- Bibliography of Buddhist Studies Bibliographies - by Marcus Bingenheimer
- Database of Modern Chinese Buddhism - a collaborative gathering of information related to Buddhism in China between 1850 and 1950 CE
- Digital Catalogue of Chinese Buddhism - catalogue of Chinese-language Buddhist publications from 1860 to 1949 compiled and edited by Gregory Adam Scott.
- Chinese religious culture: A research guide - Barendt ter Haar's comprehensive guide to the study of Chinese religion
- Bibliography of Chinese popular religion (1995 to present) - Philip Clart's bibliography of studies in Chinese popular religion
- Bibliography of Chinese science and medicine - compiled by Nathan Sivin
- Tibetan & Himalayan Library bibliographies - bibliographies on a number of subjects related to Tibetan studies
- Japanese Association for Tibetan Studies bibliography - in Japanese
- TibSkrit bibliography (.docx file) - extensive bibliography for Tibetan philology
- Bon bibliography - compiled by Dan Martin
- Korean History: A Bibliography - compiled by Kenneth Robinson, includes bibliographies of Korean religions
- Confucian Traditions Bibliography - by Joseph Adler
- Bibliography on Confucianism - by Thomas Wilson
Dictionaries & reference
For general-use dictionaries available to Stanford users, consult the topic guides for Chinese, Japanese, and Korean studies. Below are some specialized dictionaries that may be useful for researchers working on Asian religious traditions.
- Digital Dictionary of Buddhism - scholarly dictionary for Buddhist studies featuring contributions from many scholars
- Glossaries for Buddhist Studies - download PDF files of older dictionaries, mostly Chinese
- Cologne Digital Sanskrit Dictionaries - includes Monier-Williams and many others
- Sanskrit Heritage Site - features a number of useful tools, including dictionary search, declension and conjugation engines, a lemmatizer, and a Sanskrit text parsing engine
- Foguang da cidian - Web interface for searching this dictionary of Chinese Buddhist terms
- Daojiao cidian - online interface for Li Shuhuan's Daojiao da cidian
- Tibetan & Himalayan Library Historical Tibetan Dictionary
- Ranjung Yeshe Wiki - wiki and dictionary of Tibetan Buddhist terms