Ask What You Can Do: The Rhetoric of Public Leadership

PWR 1LH - Winter 2015 - Instructor: Herman, L.

A guide to resources for PWR 1LH:  Ask What You Can Do: The Rhetoric of Public Leadership

(1) Background/Reference Sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

1st ed. New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » D412.7 .T55 2011
Green Library » Stacks » JF251 .C66 2015
From the table of contents: 1. Hyper-Empowered Individuals on the Global Stage 2. The Prototypical Model 3. A Contested Reinvention 4. Salvaging or Savaging Reputations? 5. Leveraging Iconic Status 6. Building Network Power 7. Former Leaders and the Diffusion of Agency.
Chichester, West Sussex, England ; Hoboken, NJ : Jossey-Bass, c2007.
Green Library » Stacks » HM1261 .H35 2007
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2008.
Green Library » Stacks » JK421 .I56 2008
Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, c2009.
Green Library » Information Center » JC491 .I58 2009 V.1
2nd ed. London ; New York : Routledge, 2006.
Green Library » Information Center » JF251 .E24 2006
New York : Nova Science Publishers, c2011.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » HM1211 .S24 2009
Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2011.
Green Library » Information Center » JC312 .B43 2011

(3) Suggested Databases

Besides the selected general and subject-specific databases listed here , try these databases for articles about communication, politics, and law.

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service ; [Miamisburg, Ohio] : Proquest
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Online editions. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
CQ Almanac offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session. Arranged thematically, CQ Almanac organizes, distills, and cross-indexes for permanent reference the full year in Congress and in national politics. Includes text of speeches and written documents from presidents and other government leadership.
[Rochester, NY] : Social Science Electronic Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The SSRN eLibrary consists of abstracts of scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an electronic paper collection of downloadable full text documents in pdf format.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, 2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

Public Opinion Poll Databases

Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Users can access Gallup's U.S. Daily tracking and World Poll data to compare residents' responses region by region and nation by nation to questions on topics such as economic conditions, government and business, health and wellbeing, infrastructure, and education.
Storrs, Conn. : Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
a comprehensive, up-to-date source for US nationwide public opinion. A full-text retrieval system, the iPoll online database is organized at the question level, providing the tools to sift through nearly a half million questions asked on national public opinion surveys, 1935 to present. Surveys archived in the Roper Catalog were originally gathered by academic, commercial and media survey organizations such as Gallup Organization, Harris Interactive, Pew Research Associates, and many more. 
[Bethesda, Md.?] : SilverPlatter International, c1996-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

(4) Important Links/Websites/Organizations