You are here

Assessment in education

Last Updated: 12-Sep-2014

This guide is for those beginning research on assessment in education, including high-stakes testing.

Background information

Other books

Washington, DC [etc.] American Psychological Association [etc.]
Green Library » Stacks » BF431 .D55 V.6
"enables researchers to determine what types of noncommercial experimental test instruments are currently in use by providing ready access to information about recently developed or recently used experimental measurement scales." Lists tests from over 30 relevant professional journals.
Armonk, N.Y. : M.E. Sharpe, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB15 .E473 2005 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » H62 .E53 2005
"The entries in this encyclopedia capture this sense of evaluation as a practice (methods, techniques, roles, people), as a profession (professional obligations, shared knowledge, ethical imperatives, events, places), and as a discipline (theories and models of evaluation, ontological and epistemological issues.)"
New York : Routledge, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2822.75 .H355 2010
3rd ed. Norwood, Mass. : Christopher-Gordon Publishers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1576 .H2377 2006
"The purpose of this handbook is to give the classroom teacher, reading specialist, administrator, or student concise, up-to-date information on the most popular assessment and evaluation tools in literacy."
San Diego : Academic Press, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB3051 .H31985 2001
"The Handbook of Psychoeducational Assessment is a practical guide for educational and psychological professionals using norm-referenced tests in the ability, achievement, and behavioral assessment of children. Written by key individuals involved in the construction and evolution of the most widely used tests, this book provides critical information on the nature and scope of commonly used tests, on their reliability, validity, administration, and scoring, on interpretation of the tests, and on how the tests may differ from each other in utility with specific populations."
Hershey, PA : Information Science Reference, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2368 .H36 2009
In a single, comprehensive volume, more than 90 expert scholars and practitioners join together to provide a highly usable guide to the essentials of RTI assessment and identification as well as research-based interventions for improving students' reading, writing, oral, and math skills. Each chapter explores crucial issues, defines key concepts, and answers real-world questions regarding implementation..."
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3051 .H31988 2013
New York : Routledge, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2331.62 .H36 2012
"This handbook provides higher education administrators with both high-level and detailed views into contemporary theories and practices, supplemented with guidance on how to apply them for the benefit of students and institutions"
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3051 .S23 2013
Los Angeles : SAGE, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2822.75 .S23 2009
Thousand Oaks, California : SAGE Publications, Inc., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LC1099 .E38 2012 V.1
"The major aim of this encyclopedia is to describe the most important concepts, theories, research, policies, case studies, and programs at the pre-school through the postsecondary levels and their implications for educational reform. Diversity is defined broadly in this encyclopedia and includes race, ethnicity, social class, gender, sexual orientation (LGBT), religion, language, and exceptionality, which encompasses giftedness and disability." p. xlviii

New books

Practice-oriented.
Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard Education Press, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB2806.36 .B871 2014
Practice-oriented.
Practice-oriented.
Basingstoke, Hampshire, UK ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3051 .H84 2014
New York : Springer, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.42 .H37 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3051 .N49 2014
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3051 .P583 2013B V.1
Third edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1050.46 .C23 2014
Practice-oriented.
Paris : OECD, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB3060.3 .T35 2009

Journals

Hillsdale, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c1988-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
"Because interaction between the domains of research and application is critical to the evaluation and improvement of new educational measurement practices, Applied Measurement in Education' prime objective is to improve communication between academicians and practitioners. To help bridge the gap between theory and practice, articles in this journal describe original research studies, innovative strategies for solving educational measurement problems, and integrative reviews of current approaches to contemporary measurement issues."
[St. Paul, Minn., West Pub. Co.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF39 .A7 V.31 2007
"Applied Psychological Measurement provides a complete picture of the measurement discipline. Its wide range of features keep you informed of all the latest developments that shape this evolving field of study."
[Durham, N.C., etc., Educational and psychological measurement, etc.]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Hillsdale, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c1993-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks
[Washington, American Educational Research Association]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB2823 .E49 V.30:NO.2 2008
[East Lansing, Mich.] National Council on Measurement in Education.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
New York, NY : Grune & Stratton,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB1051 .J66 V.25 N.4 2007
New York : Plenum, 1985-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » BF39 .J6 V.30 2008
[New York, NY ] : Routledge, [2008]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Alexandria, VA : Association for Measurement and Evaluation in Counseling and Development, c1984-
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
Oxford, New York, Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » LB2823 .S14 V.34-35 2008-2009

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Websites