You are here

Automotive engineering

Last Updated: 18-Dec-2012

This guide provides an overview of research materials available in the area of automotive engineering including hybrid and internal combustion engines as well as automotive regulations and standards.  Depending on your area of research, print materials may be held at more than one library.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Research databases

Use the following databases to get started on your research.

Warrendale, PA : Society of Automotive Engineers.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

The Society of Automotive Engineering (SAE) Digital library includes SAE Technical Papers since 1906 and access to standards, regulations, journals, and reports.

New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996

Compendex is a database of engineering research containing references and abstracts from engineering journals, conferences and technical reports. Compendex covers citations from 1884 to the present.

Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

ISI Web of Knowledge provides a single search option to search across multiple resources including Web of Science, Derwent innovations index, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, INSPEC, MEDLINE, Zoological Record, and ISI Journal citation reports.

[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Scopus has particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Scopus includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Automotive engineering handbooks

The following is a portion of the automotive handbooks in our collection.  Click the "see all" link to view our complete holdings in SearchWorks.

  1. Philip Jacoby. 2014

  2. Andrew Day.. 2014

  3. Laurence W. McKeen. 2014

  4. editors, Kristiina Oksman ... [et al.].. 2014