You are here

Avant-garde Films

Last Updated: 30-Aug-2012

Avant-garde Films


Stanford Research Quick Start Guide: Film


Experimental cinema : the film reader

Green Library PN1995.9 .E96 E96 2002

Film at wit's end : eight avant-garde filmmakers

Green Library PN1995.9 .E96 B74 1989

A line of sight : American avant-garde film since 1965

Green Library PN1995.9 .E96 A78 2005

Movie Guides, Credits, and Plot Summaries

All-Movie Guide
Database of movies, actors/actressess, producers, directors and cast members. Includes a detailed plot synopsis.

Annual index to motion picture credits
Full credits, specific date of release, duration, and MPAA rating; includes ten indexes: actors, art directors, cinematographers, costume designers, directors, film editors, composers, producers, sound engineers, and writers.

Green Library PN1993 .A55 Information Center: Non-circulating

The Internet Movie Database
Extensive database searchable by title, actor's name, director's name, etc. Very detailed, nearly comprehensive.

Filmmaking & Production

American Cinematographer

Archive Film
Getty Images stock footage.

Premier film scoring software.

Premier film editing software.

Birns & Sawyer
Equipment rental.

California Film Commision

Cyber Film School/Film Underground
"Repository of information designed to help the aspiring independent filmmaker."

Digital Video
Technical information for digital filmmaking.

"Film and Television production services handbook online, the search engine for international production services."
Internation Film and TV Production resources.

Mole-Richardson Company
Lighting equipment.

Stock footage library.

Resource for Independent filmmakers.


Bright Lights Film Journal
"Popular-academic hybrid of movie analysis, history, and commentary."

Film Comment
From the Film Society of the Lincoln Center.

Film Literature Index 1973 to present.
A quarterly publication for articles on film, film history and criticism in over 300 international film journals.It includes coverage of television periodical literature. It is indexed by subject, film title, and name.

Green Library Z5784 .M9 F53 Information Center: Non-circulating

Gerald Peary
Critic for The Boston Phoenix, author of Cult Films series.

Images: a Journal of Film and Popular Culture

International Index to Film Periodicals 1972 to present.
Annotated guide to articles, interviews and reviews in international periodicals.

Green Library Z5784 .M9 149 Information Center: Non-circulating

Film Review Index
This index covers reviews from 1882 through 1985 (in two volumes). An extensive film bibliography is included.

Green Library Z5784 .M9 F513 1986 Information Center: Non-Circulating

Magazine and Journal Articles Database
Database indexes over 1500 periodicals from the California Digital Library. It is helpful in finding film reviews and any articles relating to film in current magazines.

Movie Review Query Engine

Retrospective Index to Film Periodicals 1930-1971

Green Library Z5784 .M9.B39 Information Center: Non-circulating

"Peer-reviewed online journal edited by staff and students in the Institute of Film & Television Studies at the University of Nottingham."

Senses of Cinema
"An online journal devoted to the serious and eclectic discussion of cinema."

Slant Magazine
"Dedicated to offering a slightly different perspective on the state of entertainment with an intelligent and open-minded slant.

Film Festivals and Awards

Berlin International Film Festival

Cannes Film Festival

Fantastisk Film Festival

London Film Festival

New York Underground Film Festival

San Francisco Film Society

Seattle International Film Festival

Slamdance Film Festival

Sundance Film Festival

Telluride Film Festival


Comments? Please Send to:

Dr. Henry E. Lowood
ph.: (650) 723-4602
Fax: (650) 725-1068

Subject Librarians

Curator, History of Science & Technology Collections: Film & Media Collections
(650) 723-4602