You are here

Baltic studies

Last Updated: 17-Apr-2014

This guide provides an introduction to Baltic studies and helps with finding resources on Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian history, literature and culture. These include books, periodicals and primary source holdings at Stanford University Libraries or available electronically.

In order to get the most recent news about Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian studies at Stanford and elsewhere, follow us on Facebook and Twitter (@BalticsSUL).

Overview

Although Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania are three small countries with a total population of less than 6,5 million, they have a rich and exciting history and culture worth taking a deeper look at. The Baltic states gained independence already in 1918, but were violently incorporated into Soviet Union during World War II. After the collapse of the Soviet Union in 1991, all three countries restored their independence. Today, Estonians, Latvians and Lithuanians enjoy their freedom in democratic republics, which are since 2004 also members of EU and NATO.

SUL and Baltic studies

Until recently, SUL's Baltic collection formed a tiny fraction of its large Slavic and East European collection. This changed due to an endowment received from Kistler-Ritso Foundation, an organization founded by Dr. Olga Kistler-Ritso. In Estonia, the foundation’s greatest achievement is building and supporting the Museum of Occupations, which was opened in Tallinn in 2003.

The foundation's endowment to SUL made it possible to hire a person who would specifically curate and enlarge the collections of three Baltic States at Stanford, and would also collaborate with the museum in Estonia. In 2013, Liisi Eglit started her work as assistant curator for Estonian and Baltic studies.

In 2013, SUL, the museum in Tallinn and Stanford Video collaborated in making a short film about Olga Kistler-Ritso's life by interviewing her husband, daughter and grandchildren. Although the film focuses on Olga's story, it also helps in understanding the painful history of three Baltic countries and the fascinating stories of people who had to leave Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania during World War II.

Watch the film here

SUL actively collaborates with the Museum of Occupations in Tallinn, Estonia, as well as other institutions and organizations in order to enhance the Baltic studies by conducting collaborative projects, organizing seminars, conferences and other events, and exchanging ideas regarding collection development.

SUL's Baltic collection today

SUL's Baltic collection, which consists of more than 20 000 books, periodicals, archival collections, databases and other items, is oriented to the humanities, especially history, culture and literature. Items in Estonian, Latvian, Lithuanian, English, Russian, German and other languages are represented. SUL's current collecting primarily aims to deal with the second half of the 20th century, and the main target of collecting can be summed up using four keywords: occupation/annexation, resistance, freedom and recovery. In other words, SUL primarily targets material reflecting the violent incorporation of the Baltic states into the Soviet Union and the half-century long annexation, but also the last two decades of the Baltic states' history, which mark the vast transformation from Soviet states to democratic countries.

In addition to SUL, Hoover Institution Library and Archives has a reputable collection of books, periodicals and primary documents pertaining to Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian history and culture.

Key resources in English

Below is a list of some recommended books and periodicals that concentrate on Baltic history, culture, art, economy, law etc. and are published in English.

Books

Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.7 .P53 2011
Houndmills, Basingstoke, Hampshire [England] ; New York : Palgrave Macmillan, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.7 .K37 2010
1st ed. Woodstock, NY : Overlook Press, 2006, c2005.
Green Library » Stacks » D965 .P35 2006
London : Reaktion Books, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.7 .P87 2012
Stockholm, Sweden : Almqvist & Wiksell International, 2003.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.74 .B35 2003
Tartu : KLEIO ajalookirjanduse sihtasutus, 2003.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.74 .S68 2003
Vilnius : Du Ka, 1999.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.74 .A58 1999
Frankfurt am Main ; New York : Peter Lang, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » DL87 .B86 2012
New York, NY : Routledge, 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.715 .B32 2008
Farnham, Surrey, England ; Burlington, VT : Ashgate, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.715 .I34 2009
Vilnius : Institute of Lithuanian Literature and Folklore, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » PG8711.5 .B355 2011
Tartu : University of Tartu, 2002.
Green Library » Stacks » DK503.36 .L58 2002 V.1
London ; New York : Routledge, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.73 .B355 2012
Daugavpils : Daugavpils Universitātes akadēmikais apgāds "Saule", 2010.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PN56 .M44 M439 2010
English ed. Budapest ; New York : Central European University Press, 1999.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.7 .B6413 1999
New Brunswick, NJ : Rutgers University Press ; Rutgers, NJ : Jan Voorhees Zimmerli Art Museum, State University of New Jersey, 2002.
Art & Architecture Library » Stacks » N7255 .B285 A78 2002
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Music Library » Stacks » ML3797 .B18 2009

Periodicals

[Brooklyn, N.Y., Association for the Advancement of Baltic Studies]
Hoover Library » Stacks » SERIAL:U.S.A. 1999
Tartu, Estonia : Baltic Defence College,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » UA646.53 .B35 V.13 2011
Tartu : EuroFaculty
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Use restricted to Green Library » HC243 .A1 B35 V.3-6 2002/2003-2006/2007
Tartu, Estonia : Published by Institute of History and Archaeology of the University of Tartu, [2009]-
Green Library » Stacks » N7255 .B285 B36 NO.6 2013:FALL
Tallin : Statistical Office of Estonia,
Green Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » HA1460.2 .E77 T 2008
Riga, Latvia : Baltic News Ltd., [1996-
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Use restricted to Green Library » DK502.3 .B37 F V.5 NO.214-238

Recent aquisitions at SUL

On this page you may find constantly regenerated lists of SUL's recent acquistions on Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian studies.

Estonian studies

  1. Juhan Maiste. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » NA7412 .E88 M357 2014

  2. Jaan Einasto. 2014

  3. Hoover Archives » Stacks » 2012C26

  4. Sigrid Rausing. 2014

    SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » HD1492 .E7 R37 2014

  5. Ülo Mallene. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » DK503.746 .T66 M35 2014

Latvian studies

  1. by Kristīne Krūma.. 2014

    Law Library (Crown) » Basement » KJE5124 .K78 2014

  2. by Kristīne Krūma.. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » KJE5124 .K78 2014

  3. Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development. 2014

  4. edited by Kevin C. Karnes. 2014

    Music Library » Stacks (Limited loan) » (No call number)

  5. James H. Fraser. 2014

    SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z375 .L3 F73 2014

Lithuanian studies

  1. by anonymous members of the Kovno Jewish ghetto police ; translated and edited by Samuel Schalkowsky ; introduction by Samuel D. Kassow. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » DS135 .L52 K3829 2014

  2. sous la direction de Marie-France de Palacio. 2014

    Green Library » Stacks » DC55 .C718 2014

  3. von Sandra Studer. 2014

    SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PJ5129 .G68 Z877 2014

  4. Abba Naor ; mit Helmut Zeller. 2014

    SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DS135 .L53 N36 2014

  5. Vanda Kašauskienė.. 2014

    SAL3 (off-campus storage) » In process » DK505.79 .P35 K37 2014

History books

Below are lists of some notable items on Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian history. The lists emphasise items concentrating on the second half of the 20th century.

Estonian history

Tartu : Eesti Kirjanduse Selts, 1936-2005.
Green Library » Stacks » DK511 .E6 E362 1936 V.2
Updated 2nd ed. Stanford, Calif. : Hoover Institution Press, Stanford University, c2001.
Green Library » Stacks » DK503.54 .R38 2001
Budapest ; New York : Central European University Press, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » DK503.745 .E3413 2009
Tallinn, Estonia : Tallinn University Press, c2006.
Green Library » Stacks » HQ1665.8 .Z75 A3 2006
[Stockholm] : Stockholm University Dept. of History, c2004.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.715 .I4613 2004
Tallinn : Estonian Foundation for the Investigation of Crimes Against Humanity, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » DK503.75 .E8 2006
Tartu : Korp! Filiae Patriae, 2009.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » D809 .E78 .E37 2009
1st ed. Syracuse, N.Y. : Syracuse University Press, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » DS135 .E73 W45 2009
Moskva : ROSSPĖN : Fond "Prezidentskiĭ t͡sentr B.N. Elʹt͡sina", 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » DK502.715 .T36 2010
Frankfurt am Main ; New York : Peter Lang, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » HN539.7 .A8 M478 2012
Tallinn : Argo, c2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503.75 .K373 2007
Tallinn : Argo, 2012.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503.75 .G733 2012
Frankfurt am Main ; New York : Peter Lang, c2012.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503.83 .N38 2012

Latvian history

Rīga : Jumava, c2006.
Green Library » Stacks » DK504.53 .S6513 2006
Rīga : Latvijas nacionālais arhīvs : Latvijas arhīvistu biedrība, c2012.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK504.74 .A68 2012
1st ed. New York : Fordham University Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » D802 .L3 L86 2006
1st ed. Rīga : Historical Institute of Latvia ; Washington, DC : United States Holocaust Memorial Museum, c1996.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Temporary shelving » DS135 .L3 E94 1996
Rīga : Latvijas Zinātņu akadēmijas Baltijas stratēģisko pētījumu centrs, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » DK504.77 .J95 2010
University Park, Pa. : Pennsylvania State University Press, c2002.
Green Library » Stacks » HN539.8 .A8 E37 2002
Washington, D.C. : Peterson Institute for International Economics, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » HC340.5 .A85 2011
London ; New York : Routledge, 1998.
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.78 .S57 1998
New Brunswick, N.J. : Transaction Publishers, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » E184 .L4 Z35 2010

Lithuanian history

Vilnius : Baltos Lankos, c2005-
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.54 .L542 2005 2.T
London ; New York : Routledge, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.53 .B35 2009
Amsterdam ; New York : Rodopi, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.74 .L535 2010
Amsterdam ; New York : Rodopi, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » DS135 .L5 V67 2011
Lincoln [Neb.] : University of Nebraska Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » DS135 .L5 C37 2012
Budapest, Hungary ; New York : Central European University Press, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » D802 .L5 D313 2009
Vilnius : Genocide and Resistance Research Centre of Lithuania, 2010.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » HV8227.9 .A2 K44 2010
2-asis pat. Vilnius : Lietuvos Gyventojų Genocido ir Rezistencijos Tyrimo Centras, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.77 .L543 2007
Vilnius : Lietuvos istorijos institutas, 2011.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » D820 .P72 S77 2011
Amsterdam, The Netherlands ; New York, NY : Rodopi, 2010.
Green Library » Stacks » HQ1665.9 .L45 2010
[[Vilnius] : Versus Aureus, [2012], ©2012.
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.797 .N39 2012
Vilnius : Briedis, 2012.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK505.82 .L363 2012

Literature books

The lists here give an overview of some notable items representing Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian literature and literary studies.

Estonian literature

Tallinn : Tallinna Ülikool, 2009.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PH633.7 .U97 2009
[Tallinn] : Eesti TA Underi ja Tuglase Kirjanduskeskus, c2008.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PH670 .E478 2008
Tartu : Tartu Ülikooli Kirjastus, c2002.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z821.3 .A1 T37 2002
Tartu : Institute, 1996.
Green Library » Stacks » GR204.2 .C66 1996
Tallin : Izd-vo "Ėėsti Raamat", 1977.
Green Library » Stacks » PH665.T33 M517 1977
Budapest ; New York : Central European University Press, 2007.
Green Library » Stacks » PH665 .T8 A25 2007
1st ed. Normal [Ill.] : Dalkey Archive Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » PH666.31 .N75 O6713 2006
Evanston, Ill. : Northwestern University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » PH666.21 .R6 V3713 2012
1st ed. New York : Black Cat ; [Berkeley, Calif.] : Distributed by Publishers Group West, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » PH356 .O37 P8413 2010
Tarset : Bloodaxe, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » PH666.21 .A6 A2475 2011
1st ed. Toronto ; Buffalo : Guernica ; Chicago : Independent Publishers Group [distributor], 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » PH666.3 .A45 E4813 2008

Latvian literature

[Rīga] : Valters un Rapa, c2006.
Green Library » Stacks » PG9008.2 .B75 2006 V.1
Pisa : PLUS-Pisa University Press, c2010.
Green Library » Stacks » PG9008.3 .V47 2010
Riga : Latviĭskiĭ universitet, T͡Sentr Rusistiki, 2008.
Green Library » Stacks » PN56.3 .R5 R54 2008
Rīga : Atēna, c2005.
Green Library » Stacks » PG9049.36 .A54 A24 2005
Rīga : LNB, 2011.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z8140.43 .I98 2011
Toronto, ON : Guernica, 2013.
Green Library » Stacks » PG9049.19 .K78 D9813 2013
New York, NY : Soho, c1995.
Green Library » Stacks » E184 .L4 N47 1995

Lithuanian literature

Vilnius : Versus Aureus, 2006.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z375 .L73 S76 2006
Vilnius : Lietuvių literatūros ir tautosakos institutas, 2011.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PG8711.3 .S433 2011
Vilnius : Lietuvos rašytojų sąjungos leidykla, 2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PG8711.5 .K87 2007
Vilnius : Lietuvių literatūros ir tautosakos institutas, 2008.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PG8735 .V5 L37 2008
Kraków : TAiWPN Universitas, 2003.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PG7375 .L5 P64 2003
Vilnius : Gairės, 2002.
Green Library » Stacks » DK505.77 .V37 2002
Boulder, [Colo.] : East European Monographs ; New York : Distributed by Columbia University Press, 2003.
Green Library » Stacks » PG8771 .E8 E27 2003
Todmorden, UK : Arc Publications, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » PG8722.23 .A7 K813 2011
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PG8721 .V5 A6 2012
1st ed. Middletown, Conn. : Wesleyan University Press ; Scranton, Pa. : Distributed by Harper & Row, c1986.
Green Library » Stacks » PG8721 .R26 A29 1986
Vilnius : Žara, 1995-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PG8721 .Z9 1995 V.1
Vilnius : Tyto alba, 2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » CT1235 .I93 2005

Art, theatre, media

The lists below highlight select items representing Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian art, architecture, theatre, music and film.

Estonian art, theatre and media

Talllinn : Estonian Theater Union, 1999.
Green Library » Stacks » PN2859 .E7 R34 1999
Tallinn : Eesti Muusika- ja Teatriakadeemia, 2009.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Stacks » ML303.5 .E47 2009
Helsinki : Ondine, p2011.
Music Library » Recordings » MCD 23901
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Music Library » Stacks » ML410 .P1755 C36 2012
[Paris, France] : Idéale Audience International, [2005], c2002.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 12154

Latvian art, theatre and media

Rīga : Institute of Literature, Folklore and Art, University of Latvia, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » PN2859 .L3 T43 2012
Kingston, Ont. : McGill-Queen's University Press, c1989.
Green Library » Stacks » ML3681.L3 L755 1989
East Grinstead, West Sussex, Great Britain ; Clearwater, Fla. : ARC Music, p2008.
Available online
[Rīga : Studija SB, 2004]
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 28174
International version. Riga, Latvia : Film Studio Devini, [2010]. ©2010.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 26271

Lithuanian art, theatre and media

Vilnius : Volniaus dailės akademijos leidykla, 2010.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » N7255 .L57 M46 2010
Vilnius : R. Paknio leidykla, 2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » N7255 .L57 A15 2000
[Kaunas] : Valstybinis M.K. Čiurlionio dailės muziejus ; Vilnius : Leidykla Fodio ; [Italy] : Editalia ; c1997.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » ND955 .L573 C582 1997
West Sussex, Great Britain ; Clearwater, Fla. : ARC, [2005]
[United States] : New Video Group, c2005.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZCD 1495

Periodicals

Below are lists of select Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian periodicals covering various fields of study.

Estonian periodicals

Tartu : Perioodika,
Green Library » Stacks » DK511.E4 A43 V.25:NO.10-12 2013+INDEX
Tallinn : Eesti Välispoliitika Instituut, 2005-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503.68 .D57 F NR. 1 =(NR.) 77 JAN 2010
Tartu, Estonia : University of Tartu, 2000-
Tallinn : Estonian Foreign Policy Institute
Green Library » Stacks » DK503.68 .E88 2005
Tallinn : Perioodika, 1997-
Hoover Library » Folio » NX8 .E8 S57 F 1999 NO.32-48
Tartu, Eesti : Ajalookirjanduse Sihtasutus Kleio, 1998-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503 .K57 1999:1
Tartu : Eesti Ajalooarhiiv, 1996-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » CD1759.6 .E47 V.2 1997
Tallinn : Tuna,
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503 .T86 2012
Viimsi : Eesti Sõjamuuseum ; Tallinn : TLÜ Kirjastus.
Green Library » Stacks » DK503.62 .E47 V.2 =V.8 2012
Tallinn, Estonia : Teaduste Akadeemia Kirjastus, c1997-
Tallinn, Estonia : Estonian Institute, 2003-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK503.32 .E756 NO.10/11 2007/2008
Tartu : Tartu University Press, 2003-2005
Green Library » Stacks » GR1 .S783 V.5 2005
Tartu, Estonia : Estonian Literary Museum : Estonian National Museum : University of Tartu, 2007-
Green Library » Stacks » GN301 .J68 V.5 2011
Tartu [Estonia] : Eesti Semiootika Selts, 2001-
Green Library » Stacks » P99 .A27 NO.10 2013
Tallinn, Estonia : Published by the Estonian Academy of Sciences in collaboration with Tallinn University of Technology, the University of Tartu, and the Geological Survey of Estonia, 2007-
Tallin, Estonia : Estonian Academy of Sciences

Latvian periodicals

Rīga : Zinātne, 2005-
Green Library » Stacks » DK504.82 .Y33 2007
Riga : University of Latvia, c1993-
Green Library » Stacks » DK504.32 .H86 NO.51-53 2007
Rīgā : "Latvijas Vēsture", 1991-
Green Library » Stacks » DK504 .L38 NO.73-76 2009
Rīgā : Latvijas Republikas Valsts arhīvu g̓enerāldirekcija, c1994-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » CD1759.7 .L38 2013:NO.1/2
Rīga : Latvijas Kara muzejs
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » U13 .L352 R54 V.14 2013
[Rīga] : Latvijas Mākslas akadēmijas Mākslas vēstures institūts, 2003-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » N7255 .L37 M36 F NO.16 2013
Riga : Ministry of Economy, Republic of Latvia,
Rīga : Komiteja, -[2003].
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Temporary shelving » HA1460.4 .A1 2000

Lithuanian periodicals

Vilnius : The Center, 1998-
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Use restricted to Green Library » DK505.68 .L58 NO.1-4 1998-1999
Kaunas, Lithuania : Vytautas Magnus University Press
Vilnius : Gervelė, 2000-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK505 .K858 T.8
Vilnius : Lietuvos Vyskupų Konferencijos, 2002-
Green Library » Stacks » BX1612 .L7 K382 2004
Vilnius : The Institute, 1996-
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Temporary shelving » DK505 .L568 V.4 1999
Vilnius : Vilniaus universiteto leidykla,
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Temporary shelving » DK505 .L529 NO.16 SUPPL
Vilnius : Alma litera, 1994-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » DK511 .L2 L4233 V.68 2007
[Vilnius : Vilniaus Gedimino technikos universitetas, 2008]-
Vilnius : Vilnius Gediminas Technical University

Primary sources

On this page you may find an overview of SUL's primary source collections pertaining to Estonia, Latvia and Lithuania.

Estonian primary sources

Special Collections » Manuscript Collection » M1624
103.5 linear feet. Unprocessed but open for research. Leonid Naumovich Stolovich is a professor emeritus of the Philosophy Department of Tartu University in Estonia. He is a specialist in the fields of aesthetics, axiology and the history of philosophy. His papers include a wide range of correspondence with philosophers, literary authors, and scholars of literature and art, among others. The collection provides some material about Estonia, especially from the period leading up to restoration of independence.

Latvian primary sources

1 linear ft. (2161 p.). Open for research. Bio-bibliography on Russian imprints in Latvia, 1917-1944.

Lithuanian primary sources

Special Collections » Manuscript Collection » M1960
4.5 linear feet (8 manuscript boxes and 1 flat box). Open for research. The archive of Nobel Prize-winning Russian poet Joseph Brodsky was collected and preserved by his friends Romas and Elia Katilius (Ramunas Katilius and Elmira Katiliene), whom he spent quite a bit of time in Lithuania during the period 1967-1972 - the years preciding his forced emigration to the West. The papers contain correspondence with the Katilius family, drafts of Joseph Brodsky’s poems, a collection of poems compiled and typed by Joseph Brodsky himself, Vladimir Maramzin’s samizdat collection of Joseph Brodsky’s poetry in 3 volumes, the poet’s drawings and photographs. The collection also includes a wide range of printed materials (including copies) about Joseph Brodsky’s public activities, his interviews for different journals, and articles on Joseph Brodsky’s relations with Lithuania.

Databases and e-collections

Below is an overview of select databases and online exhibits of Estonian, Latvian and Lithuanian material that are accessible online. The databases listed here are searchable and on most cases provide digital images of manuscripts that researchers can use online free of charge.

Estonian databases & collections

AIS: Archival Informational System

AIS is a database of the National Archives of Estonia and Tallinn City Archives, which allows users to search for documents preserved in the archives. Generally, AIS is similar to the electronic databases used in libraries, which enable users to find books in the library's collection quickly and easily. Currently, about 99% of the archival documents held at the National Archives of Estonia have been listed in this database.

Saaga: digitized archival documents

Saaga is a collection of digitized archival records from the National Archives of Estonia and Tallinn City Archives, containing copies of documents that have been under intensive use in their reading rooms and those of great importance for the users. There are new materials being added regularly, you can find more than 9 million images at the moment.

Fotis: database of photos

Fotis is a searchable database containing descriptions and digitized images of photos held at the National Archives of Estonia. It currently contains digitized images of more than 470 000 photos.

Register of Maps of the National Archives of Estonia

The register of maps contains descriptions and digital images of historical maps and plans that are stored at the National Archives of Estonia. It currently holds descriptions of more than 100 000 and digitized images of 30 000 historical maps and plans.

Digitized Estonian newspapers

The project of the National Library of Estonia offers a large collection of digitized newspapers from the period 1821-1944. The collection can be browsed per title and year. Pages are offered as high-resolution images.

Estonian Web Archive

Estonian Web Archive is a digital archive of Natioanl Library of Estonia, which preserves websites important in regard to the Estonian cultural heritage. The archive currently contains more than 1000 records of websites in the subject catalog and two special collections (Estonians Outside Estonia and Elections 2013).

Database of Estonian Articles

This database, the result of collaboration between 12 libraries in the ELNET Consortium, contains articles from newspapers, magazines, journals, serial publications, anthologies and collections.

MUIS: Museums Public Portal

MUIS is the online gateway to Estonian museums, giving everybody an opportunity to study the collections of the museums that have joined the system.

CommunistCrimes.org

The purpose of CommunistCrimes.org is to foster international understanding of the impact of communism on societies. The portal focuses on a variety of events and their implications, from crimes against humanity perpetrated by communist regimes to transitional issues of post-communist states. It seeks to demystify communism and denounce rule based on repression, so that communist crimes would be duly condemned as atrocities committed by totalitarian regimes ought to be. In pursuing this mission, it gathers and distributes data regarding the activities of communist and post-communist regimes around the world. It supports scholarly research on communist regimes by facilitating access to relevant information - from country-based history overviews to digitising relevant primary sources. Moreover, the portal aims to be a platform for public and academic discourse on the impact of communism through mediating thematic news and scientific articles.

Academic Library of Tallinn University's database VEILUVÕÕR

The database contains bibliography of fiction published since 1944 in foreign languages by Estonian authors living abroad. Each entry is provided with subject words.

Academic Library of Tallinn University's database VEPER

The database contains information about notable Estonians who live(d) abroad.

Academic Library of Tallinn University's database VEART

The database contains current analytic bibliography of articles, published in the Estonian newspapers and journals of several countries outside Estonia. The aim of the database is to reflect all the original articles as well as the issues, dealing with the activities of the Estonians, living abroad. The database does not include reports about Estonia nor articles, primarily published in Estonia.

Estonian Folklore: a list of online databases

An overview of databases that are compiled either by genre or as a representation of the heritage of some region or field. In addition to exhaustive or nearly exhaustive text collections these also include anthological compilations.

"A Harsh Spring": an exhibit on 1949 March deportations

The exhibit, composed by the National Archives of Estonia, provides an illustrated overview of the March deportations in Estonia (March 1949). The physical exhibit was displayed at Stanford in June/July 2013.

"Two Beginnings": an exhibit of 1918 and 1991

The exhibit, composed by the National Archives of Estonia, tells the story of Estonia's journey of gaining and restoring independence in 1918 and 1991. The exhibit is a great opportunity to get acquainted with some of the most important documents and illustrative photos of these turbulent times. The physical exhibit was displayed in San Francisco in June/July 2013.

Latvian databases & collections

Latvian National Digital Library (LNDL)

LNDL offers books, periodicals, maps and archive of web sites. Photo, audio and video collections will be added that at the moment can be viewed on the NLL Digital Library web site.

Central Register of Fonds of the National Archives of Latvia

The searchable database contains information about more than 23 000 fonds of the National Archives of Latvia.

Database of the State Archives of Latvia

The searchable database contains information about 6000 fonds and 45 000 documents of the State Archives of Latvia.

Raduraksti: genealogical database of the Latvian State Historical Archives

The searchable database of digitized images provides access to the church books of Evangelic Lutheran, Roman Catholic, Orthodox, Baptist, Greek Catholic, Old Believers’, Reformed Protestant congregations, vital records of Rabbinate, revision lists of Livland and Courland and materials of Russian Empire Census (1897) in provinces of Courland, Livland and Vitebsk.

JewishGen Latvia Database

A multiple database search facility which incorporates databases contributed by the Courland Research Group, the Latvia SIG and individual donors. The combined databases have over 160 000 entries, referring to individuals living in the area now known as Latvia. The database is a work in progress and new entries are being added regularly.

“The Virtual Museum of the Occupation of Latvia” (project of the Museum of Occupation of Latvia 1940-1999)

The Virtual Museum is a broad range digital exposition with additional 3D elements. Through access to the Internet the Virtual Museum serves to provide its readers with a considerable amount of information from within the resources of the Museum's collection – documents, photographs, objects, maps, personal memories and other materials.

Lithuanian databases & collections

ePaveldas: Virtual Electronic Heritage System

The Virtual Electronic Heritage System (VEPS) holds an enormous wealth of digital objects created under the Strategy for Digitization of the Lithuanian Cultural Heritage, Digital Content Preservation and Access. The VEPS portal provides efficient and convenient access to thousands of cultural heritage objects for all who are interested in art, books, newspapers, manuscripts, maps and sound recordings. All this together creates an unique, rich and vivid panorama of the Lithuanian cultural heritage.

Portal for electronic resources at Vilnius University Library

Portal for finding databases, e-books, e-journals and open access sources.

Lithuanian documentaries on the Internet (e-cinema)

The objective of this Lithuanian Central State Archive's project is the preservation of Lithuanian documentary heritage by digitisation as well as its accessibility for everyone via the Internet. Lithuanian Central State Archive currently holds about 8600 titles of Lithuanian films or 46,000 film tapes. The collection covers the evolution of Lithuanian cinema starting from the 2nd decade of the XX century till our days. The Archive holds a large collection of Lithuanian newsreels from 1918-1940, films from German occupation period, documentaries created in Lithuanian Film Studio and Lithuanian Television in 1946-1990, first Lithuanian feature films, works of nowadays filmmakers. The virtual archive of Lithuanian documentaries will constantly grow.

JewisgGen: Lithuania Vital Records Database

This database contains Jewish birth, marriage, divorce and death records from Lithuania. This includes records which were microfilmed by the Genealogical Society of Utah, as well as non-microfilmed records indexed in archives in Lithuania.

Virtual exhibits of Lithuanian State Historical Archives

This page offers a number of virtual exhibits, including the latest exhibitions "Vilnius Ghetto" and "In the united Europe".