You are here

Beethoven

Last Updated: 5-Apr-2013
 

Beethoven resources at Stanford and beyond.

Subject Librarians

Ray Heigemeir
Public Services Librarian for Music
(650) 384-9985

Subjects

Original manuscripts and facsimiles

At Stanford

These items reside in the Department of Special Collections, Green Library.

Large-scale facsimiles are on display in the Music Library.

The catalog records below link to high-resolution, downloadable digitized images.

Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 39
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 42
Special Collections » Manuscript Collection: request at Special Collections service desk » MLM 44
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 46
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 49

Browse all Beethoven facsimiles:

  1. transcribed, edited and with a commentary by William Kinderman. 2003

  2. Ludwig van Beethoven ; edited by William Drabkin. 2010

  3. mit erläuternden Bemerkungen von Karl-Heinz Köhler. 1977

  4. Beethoven. 1968

  5. Ludwig van Beethoven ; Faksimile-Ausgabe der autographen Partituren mit Klavierauszug herausgegeben von Willy Hess. 1990

  6. transcribed, edited, and with a commentary by Lewis Lockwood and Alan Gosman. 2013

  7. Ludwig van Beethoven ; Faksimile der Handschriften und der Originalausgabe mit einem Kommentar ; herausgegeben von Sieghard Brandenburg. 1984

  8. Ludwig van Beethoven ; with an introduction by Alan Tyson. 1980

Early score editions

Bonna et Colonia : Presso N. Simrock, [1822]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » M1001 .B41 S93 1822
First German edition of the full score.
Bonn et Cologne : Chez N. Simrock, [1823?]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » M1001 .B41 S94 1823
First edition.
Leipsic : Breitkopf & Hartel, [1826]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » M1001 .B41 S96 1826
First edition.
Mainz und Paris : Bey B. Schotts Söhnen ; Antwerpen : Bey A. Schott., [1826]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 48
[Boston, O. Ditson, 18--]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » M35 .B41 S953 1800Z
Paris : chez A. Farrenc, [18--?]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » (no call number)
Paris : S. Richault, [1859?]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 41
Moguntiae : Ex taberna musices B. Schott filiorum. ; Paris : Chez les fils de B. Schott, rue de Bourbon no. 17, ; Anvers, : Chez A. Schott, 1827.
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 44
Paris : Chez A. Farrenc, professeur et éditeur de musique, rue Vivienne no 19, [1826]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 43A
First edition.
Bonn : Bei N. Simrock, [ca. 1815]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 43A.15
66 settings of a text by Giuseppe Antonio Carpani, of which Beethoven's is the last. The original manuscript of Beethoven's setting is in the Memorial Library of Music, Department of Special Collections.
Mainz : Schott, 1816.
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » (no call number)
[Leipzig] : Bey Breitkopf & Härtel in Leipzig, [1810?]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 40
In Leipzig : Bey Breitkopf & Härtel, [1811]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 47
A Leipsic : Chez Breitkopf & Härtel, [1802]
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 45
First edition of the parts. A manuscript fragment of this work is in the Memorial Library of Music, Department of Special Collections.
A Vienne : chez Jean Cappi, [1802?]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » M312 .B41 T8 OP.1 1802 PTS
A Vienne : chez Artaria et comp., [1795].
Special Collections » Memorial Library of Music (non-circulating) » MLM 50
Bonn : N. Simrock, [1824?]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » (no call number)
Paris, A. Le Duc [1806]
Music Library » Locked Stacks: ask at circulation desk » M1 .A3 V.3

Contemporary scores

In addition to the many printed scores in the Music Library stacks, these databases provide printable (pdf) versions of Beethoven scores:

Alexandria, VA : Alexander Street Press, 2007-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
[Cleveland, Ohio] : CD Sheet Music
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Early sound recordings

Discographies

New York : Four Corners, c1942.
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.5 .B4 M3 1942
Great Barrington, Mass. [1971]
Archive of Recorded Sound » Reference (non-circulating) » ML156.5.B41 R31
Paul Henry Lang reviews the symphonies; Harris Goldsmith reviews the concertos.

Early recordings in the Archive of Recorded Sound

The Archive holds numerous early disc recordings of Beethoven's works; see this page for a list of titles.

The cylinder collection contains one Beethoven recording, of the "Menuett", performed by Kathleen Parlow, violin. Edison Blue Amberol, issue no. 28192 (original issue no. 4M-28026), October 1917. ARS accession no. 1460.

Reading and research

Reference works

[Oxford, England] : Oxford University Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
See the comprehensive Grove article on Beethoven's life and works.
The classic thematic catalogue. For each work, you'll find incipits for each movement, notes on the compositional process, location and notes regarding manuscript source material, and bibliographical information on first editions.
München : G. Henle, 1961-<2014 >
Music Library » Stacks (Limited loan) » M3 .B41 W9 V.1:1
The complete works, published by Henle Verlag, 1961-2011. This set of printed scores includes extensive notes on the editing process for each work.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2001.
Music Library » Stacks » ML410 .B4 C62 2001
Provides information on more than 450 persons associated with Beethoven.
New York : Routledge, 2002.
Music Library » Reference (non-circulating) » ML161 .H17 2002 V.1
Place Beethoven's life and works in the context of European arts and culture.

Biography

Browse the shelves at ML410 .B4.

No results

Criticism and interpretation

No results

Analysis and appreciation

  1. Dmitri Smirnov ; text edited by Guy Stockton. 2008

  2. Martina Sichardt. 2012

  3. A.B. Marx ; edited and translated by Scott Burnham. 1997

Music and culture in Vienna and environs

Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2003.
Music Library » Stacks » ML246.3 .R523 2003
London : Cambridge University Press, 1985.
Music Library » Stacks » ML246.8 .V6 H25 1985
Stuyvesant, NY : Pendragon Press, c1989.
Music Library » Stacks » ML246.8 .V6 M98 1989
Oxford : Clarendon Press ; New York : Oxford University Press, 1998.
Music Library » Stacks » ML549 .M38 1998
Princeton, N.J. : Princeton University Press, c2004.
Music Library » Stacks » ML196 .S74 2004

Video

Masterclasses and other films

Bristol, England UK : The Masterclass Media Foundation, c2007.
Music Library » Recordings » MDVD 1082
Bristol, England : Masterclass Media Foundation, c2009.
Music Library » Recordings » MDVD 1370
Ridgefield, CT : Crescent Software ; [Ann Arbor, MI] : Shar, [2005?]
Music Library » Recordings » MDVD 508
San Francisco, Calif. : SFS Media, c2006.
Music Library » Recordings » MDVD 619
[Brighton, East Sussex, England] : Seventh Art Productions, [2005]
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 22982 DISC 1
Culver City, Calif. : Columbia TriStar Home Video, 1999.
Green Library » Media & Microtext Center (Lower level) » ZDVD 1435

Links