You are here

Bing Honors College English

Bing Honors College English - Fall 2016 - Instructor: Alice Staveley
Last Updated: 28-Sep-2016

A guide to resources covered in the workshop for the Bing Honors College English.

Subject Librarians

Curator for American and British Literature
(650) 787-5283

Secondary sources

These databases are recommended for finding articles, book chapters, reviews, and other secondary sources.

[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Extensive coverage of scholarship on language and literature, including literature in English.
[S.l] : Chadwyck-Healey, [1996]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Collection of literature resources including the Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL), full-text journals, reference works and essays, author bibliographies and biographies.
[Ann Arbor] : ProQuest Information and Learning Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Indexes journal articles in the humanities and social sciences.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Multidisciplinary database covering most fields in the humanities, social sciences, education, and general science.
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Covers core journals in the humanities, social sciences, and general sciences to within a couple of years of current publication.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » NONEAQD4378
Online journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.

Reference sources

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
 
Oxford : Oxford University Press.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford : Oxford University Press.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford : Oxford University Press.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource

More resources in American literary studies

The following are additional electronic resources in American literary studies.

  1. Indexes nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications.

  2. African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans.

  3. "The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1...

  4. "Created from the Library Company of Philadelphia's acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that begain with Benjamin Frank...

  5. Index and full text of historical American periodicals held by the American Antiquarian Society. The completed collection will cover a wi...

More resources in British and Commonwealth literary studies

The following are additional electronic resources in British and Commonwealth literary studies.

  1. Indexes nineteenth century literature, including newspapers, periodicals, books, and government publications.

  2. Lists English-language articles, books, doctoral dissertations and reviews published anywhere in the world pertaining to bibliography, En...

  3. Emily Lorraine de Montluzin. 1997

    Over 5000 attributions of authorship for the first English magazine, searchable as a single database.

  4. by William Shakespeare ; a BBC-TV production in association with Time-Life Television. 2009

    This collection provides access to the 37 Shakespeare plays produced by the BBC between 1978 and 1985.

  5. British Literary Manuscripts Online presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, pl...