Table of Contents
Article resources
Web resources
Amazing photographs of Amazonian fish and their surroundings supplement this website. Also included are many ecological aspects of the Amazon, including waters, communities, plants and forests.
AntBase presents taxonomic information, including photographs, on ants, focusing on species found in Germany and in selected regions of Asia. A well-developed list of links to other sites about ants is provided.
AntWeb, maintained by the California Academy of Sciences, provides descriptions and high-quality color images of a large number of ant species. Some general information on the ecology of ants is also included. Currently the focus of AntWeb is on ant species of California and Madagascar and ant genera of the world. The goal is to describe every known species of ant.
Australian Ants Online is maintained by CSIRO, the Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation. It includes information on all genera of Australian ants and many of the species known to occur in Australia and on nearby islands. The site covers biology, identification, and world-wide distribution of Australian genera, including keys, illustrations, and maps.
Wildlife Web Links consists of various sites for wildlife biologists including sites about specific animals and organizations.
Ten major natural history museum libraries, botanical libraries, and research institutions In the United States and the United Kingdom have joined to form the Biodiversity Heritage Library Project. The participating libraries own over two million volumes of biodiversity literature collected over 200 years to support the work of scientists, researchers, and students in their home institutions and throughout the world.
BiologyBrowser, produced by BIOSIS, is a free web site offering resources for the life sciences information community. The information provided is either produced exclusively for BIOSIS, or collected from reputable outside sources.
The birds of Stanford website is prepared by Stanford alumni and contains photos, artwork, essays and species lists about the 125 species of birds found on campus.
The Encyclopedia of Life (EOL) is an ambitious project to organize and make available via the Internet virtually all information about life present on Earth. At its heart lies a series of Web sites, one for each of the approximately 1.8 million known species, that provide the entry points to this vast array of knowledge.
This Internet Directory for Botany contains an extensive listing of links pertaining to botany, including multiple on the subject of plant ecology.
MaNIS, whose development was supported by the National Science Foundation, is a database of records of mammalian specimens held in museums and other institutions in North America. The database can be searched through one of the system’s data portals, and collections can be searched individually or as a group.
San Francisco is the first city with an Urban Forest Map thanks to a collaboration between Friends of the Urban Forest, the California Department of Forestry and Fire Protection, and the City of San Francisco. It is an online database of San Francisco's trees, including location, species, size, and health, with a cool map interface.
The Plant List is a working list of all known plant species, aiming to be comprehensive for vascular plants and bryophytes. It does not include algae or fungi. It contains over 1.2 million scientific plant names, of which approximately 300,000 are accepted species names. It includes no vernacular or common plant names, but it does include accepted Latin names and all synonyms by which each species has been known. It also includes unresolved names for which the contributing data sources did not contain sufficient evidence to decide whether they were accepted names or synonyms.

