You are here

Bioengineering

Last Updated: 15-Jul-2014

This guide includes general research resources in bioengineering including biomechanics and biodesign resources.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Research databases

Because of its interdisciplinary nature, there are multiple databases for research in bioengineering. The descriptions below can be used to help indentify the best choice for your topic.

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This database covers the entire field of life sciences including original research reports and reviews in field, laboratory, clinical, experimental, and theoretical work. BIOSIS indexes journals, technical reports, meeting proceedings, United States patents, and books in biology, biomedicine, and related areas.
New York [etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z5851 .E62 V.95:PT.10 1996
Contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Also known as Compendex.
Beltsville, Md. : The Library, <1970>-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
AGRICOLA records describe publications and resources encompassing all aspects of agriculture and allied disciplines, including animal and veterinary sciences, entomology, plant sciences, forestry, aquaculture and fisheries, farming and farming systems, agricultural economics, extension and education, food and human nutrition, and earth and environmental sciences.
[Piscataway, N.J.?] : IEEE, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full-text access to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings. Publications include IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Circuits and Systems, IEEE Reviews in Biomedical Engineering, and IEEE Transactions on Biomedical Engineering.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
ISI Web of Knowledge provides a single search option to search across multiple resources including Web of Science, Derwent innovations index, BIOSIS, CAB Abstracts, INSPEC, MEDLINE, Zoological Record, and ISI Journal citation reports.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Scopus has particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Scopus includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.

Handbooks and encyclopedias

2nd ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2009.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856.15 .S73 2009 V.1
New York : McGraw-Hill, c2003.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R856.15 .S73 2003
Boca Raton : CRC Press, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » R856.15 .B565 2004
New York : Marcel Dekker, c2000.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » R857 .M3 W57 2000