You are here

To Boldly Go: The Rhetoric of Travel

PWR 1GCO - Spring 2013 - Instructor: Johnson, C.
Last Updated: 25-Mar-2013

A guide to resources for PWR 1GCO: To Boldly Go: The Rhetoric of Travel. Topics include how travel and the objects of travel have been shaped by the changing experiences of the traveler, the "local," and those left at home; travelogues and ethnographies to advertisements, guidebooks, postcards, touristic snapshots and souvenirs

Subject Librarians

Manager of Interlibrary Services and Current Periodicals
(650) 723-1988
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Reference: Subject Reading Materials

Reference materials can be good resources for subject overviews and a means to collect useful keywords. The bibliographies frequently include key texts and thinkers that are associated with a specific subject. To discover more reference materials held in the Stanford Libraries, search Reference Universe, Searchworks, consult with a librarian, or browse the libraries' reference collections.

Tips for using reference sources:

1. Look at the cross-references that many entries provide. These can be helpful in pointing you toward a related or more accurate idea/term.

2. One of the most important elements of any good reference source entry is its bibliography. Take note of the books or articles that the entry's author deems elementary to understanding the individual or idea.

[Sterling, VA] : Paratext, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"A searchable database of back-of-the-book indexes to subject encyclopedias and other reference works in a wide variety of subject areas. Search the contents of nearly 4,500 reference titles."

Subject Term Searches

Maps



The David Rumsey Collection focuses on 18th and 19th century North and South American cartographic materials. It includes atlases, globes, school geographies, maritime charts, and a variety of maps including pocket, wall, children's, and manuscript maps. The online collection does not contain all of the collection's materials; it is an expanding cross section of images designed to highlight the depth and breadth of the collection.

Databases

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study. Abstracts and indexing provided for 8,200 journals in the collection. Coverage is from 1965 to the present."
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Access World News from NewsBank provides full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources, each with its own distinctive focus offering diverse viewpoints on local, regional and world issues. Date coverage varies with individual newspaper. Also includes thousands of broadcast transcripts, newswires, video clips, and news blogs."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Industries,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides full text coverage of the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes nearly 200 journals and 100 books, selective indexing for over 1,700 journals, and abstracts in English of foreign language articles."
Dublin, Ohio : OCLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Anthropology Plus combines Anthropological Literature from Harvard University and the Anthropological Index, Royal Anthropological Institute from the UK. Anthropology Plus provides worldwide indexing of journal articles, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies. The index offers coverage of all core periodicals in the field in addition to local and lesser-known journals. Coverage is from the late 19th century to the present."
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Art Full Text is a bibliographic database that indexes and abstracts articles on art and related disciplines from periodicals, yearbooks, and museum bulletins published throughout the world. There is full-text coverage for selected periodicals. In addition to articles, Art Full Text indexes reproductions of works of art that appear in indexed periodicals. Indexing coverage begins 1984; abstracting coverage begins with 1994; full-text coverage begins with 1997."
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson, 1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Index of 420 art publications, including important yearbooks and select museum bulletins, from around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984."
Alexandria, VA : Alexander Street Press, c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub., [2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Offers deep coverage in applicable areas of agriculture, ecosystem ecology, energy, natural resources, marine & freshwater science, geography, pollution & waste management, environmental technology, environmental law, public policy, social impacts, urban planning, and more. Environment Index contains more than 1,590,000 records from 1,500 domestic and international titles going back to the 1950s (including 960 active core titles) as well as 100 monographs. Environment Index also features an in-depth thesaurus, and author profiles will be provided for 3,000 authors in the discipline."
Providence, R.I. : John Carter Brown Library ; Ipswich, Mass. Ebsco Publishing, 2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This bibliographic database is a valuable index for libraries, scholars and individuals interested in European works that relate to the Americas. EBSCO Publishing, in cooperation with the John Carter Brown Library, has created this resource from European Americana: A Chronological Guide to Works Printed In Europe Relating to The Americas, 1493-1750, the authoritative bibliography that is well-known and respected by scholars worldwide. The database contains more than 32,000 entries and is a comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. It covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples. A wide range of subject areas are covered; from natural disasters to disease outbreaks and slavery."
Washington, U.S. Govt. Print. Off. [For sale by the U.S. Govt. Book Store, Dept. of State]
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » JX233 .A3 1977-80 V.21
London : Adam Matthew Digital
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"These accounts of the English abroad, c1550-1850, highlight the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy. This collection of manuscript, visual and printed works allows scholars to compare a range of sources on the history of travel for the first time, including many from private or neglected collections. We include letters; diaries and journals; account books; printed guidebooks; published travel writing; paintings and sketches; architectural drawings and maps. The Grand Tour is a wonderful source of information about daily life in the eighteenth century, highlighting such everyday issues as transportation, money, communications, food and drink, health and sex. The material also covers European political and religious life, British diplomacy; life at court, and social customs on the Continent, and is an invaluable resource for the study of Europe's urban spaces. There is a wealth of detail about cities such as Paris, Rome, Florence and Geneva, including written accounts and visual representations of street life, architecture and urban planning."
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Web of Knowledge is an integrated search interface with access to scholarly information in the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, as well as to search and analysis tools. Cross-database searching is enabled for the citation databases (Arts & Humanities 1975+, Social Sciences 1956+, and Science 1900+), Derwent Innovations Index (1963+), BIOSIS (1926+), Medline (1950+), and Zoological Record (1864+). This combined resource has bibliographic records from journals, conferences, patents, and other publication types, as well as cited references, and is updated weekly."
[New York] : JSTOR [New York] : ITHAKA, 1995-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides page images of back issues of the core scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and basic sciences from the earliest issues to within a few years of current publication. Users may browse by journal title or discipline, or may search the full-text or citations/abstracts. New issues of existing titles and new titles are added approximately on a weekly basis."The most recent five years of the journals indexed are not included.
[Farmington Hills, Mich.] : Thomson Gale
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Digital facsimiles of literature on economics and business published from the last half of the 15th century to the mid-19th century from the collections of the Goldsmiths' Library of Economic Literature at the University of London, England, and the Kress Collection of Business and Economics at the Harvard Business School; with supplementary materials from the Seligman Collection in the Butler Library at Columbia University, and from Sterling Library at Yale University. Collection contains materials on commerce, finance, social conditions, politics, trade and transport; documents the dynamics of Western trade and wealth; focuses on economics interpreted in the widest sense, including political science, history, sociology; special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing. Includes facsimiles of rare books and primary source materials such as political pamphlets and broadsides, government publications, proclamations, and a wide range of ephemera."
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"International bibliography of books and articles on the modern languages and literatures."
[Marlborough, Wiltshire, England?] : Adam Matthew Digital
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Provides an extensive collection of manuscript materials for the study of medieval travel writing. The core is a collection of medieval manuscripts dating from the 13th to the 16th centuries. The main focus is accounts of journeys to the Holy Land, India and China."
New York : New York Public Library, Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"In Motion: The African-American Migration Experience presents a new interpretation of African-American history, one that focuses on the self-motivated activities of peoples of African descent to remake themselves and their worlds. Of the thirteen defining migrations that formed and transformed African America, only the transatlantic slave trade and the domestic slave trades were coerced, the eleven others were voluntary movements of resourceful and creative men and women, risk-takers in an exploitative and hostile environment. Their survival skills, efficient networks, and dynamic culture enabled them to thrive and spread, and to be at the very core of the settlement and development of the Americas. Their hopeful journeys changed not only their world and the fabric of the African Diaspora but also the Western Hemisphere. AAME presents more than 16,500 pages of texts, 8,300 illustrations, and more than 60 maps. Browse by migration, geography, timeline, source and education materials."
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts, [1984-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Indexes the worldwide technical literature pertaining to the marine and brackish-water environment. Over 600 journals are indexed and literature published from 1981 to the present is covered. The database focuses on marine biology and physical oceanography, fisheries, aquaculture, non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics. It covers living and non-living resources, meteorology and geology, plus environmental, technological, and legislative topics."
[Ipswich, Mass.] : EBSCO
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. Records are selected from many of the top titles within the discipline, including Journal of Urban Affairs, Urban Studies, and Canadian Journal of Urban Research."

Proquest Social Science Databases

Proquest Social Sciences Database--Searches across multiple social science subject databases. Among those included: Alternative Presses; Psycinfo; Sociological Abstracts; Social Services Abstracts; International Bibliography of the Social Sciences (IBSS); ERIC (Education); PAIS (Public Policy)."