Bullying in books for children and young adults

This guide lists books in Cubberley Library which directly address themes such as name calling, exclusion and/or physical violence, plus those that are more subtle and address topics such as personal identity and being accepted for who you are.

Table of Contents

Recently received

First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .L56 F56 2018
Lexile measure 760; Gr.2-5
Cover image of Delicate monsters
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .U345 D45 2015
Ages 14-18; Gr.10-12
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6703 .O7823 Q4 2017
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .E543 L68 2018
PrK-Gr.3
Cover image of  The phoenix on Barkley Street
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .L462 P49 2014
Ages 7-9; Gr.3-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6701 .U38 L83 2015
Elementary
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6705 .S67 S5 2016
Elementary
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ6704 .I2884 Q84 2017
Elementary
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A84344 T78 2014
Lexile measure 900; Ages 14 and up; Gr.7 and up; Guided reading Z+
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R489982 W38 2017
Lexile measure 700; Ages 6-10; Gr.3-5
Cover image of Hello universe
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .E4464 H45 2017
Lexile measure 690; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-7; Newbery Award Winner, 2018
First U.S. edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6051 .L588 T54 2015
Lexile measure HL620L ages 14 and up; Gr.9 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .I5515 A78 2017
Lexile measure HL730L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10 and up
Cover image of Grendel's guide to love and war
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A65 G74 2017
Lexile measure HL700L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 T49 2017
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.2
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O5652 W65 2016
Lexile measure 800; Ages 8-12; Gr.5-8
Cover image of All the rage
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.4 .S855 A63 2015
Lexile measure HL710L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.10-12
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PT6467.14 .E2 R6613 2015
Ages 4-8: Gr.K-3
Primera edición.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ7798.13 .A72 A97 2014
Cover image of Can you see me now
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PS3602 .E7592 C36 2014
Lexile measure 700; Ages 9-14; Gr.5-8
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .U234 B66 2015
Lexile measure HL810L; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12
Cover image of Oliver Button is a sissy
1st ed. New York : Harcourt Brace Jovanovich, ©1979.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E11474 O54 1979
Lexile measure 480; Book level 2.9; Ages 5-8: Gr.k-2; Guided reading J
Cover image of Bully
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2013
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .E35 B85 2013
Ages 3-6; Gr.Prk-3
New York : Philomel Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .O396 M7 2001
Lexile measure 450; Book level 3.7; Ages 5-12; Gr.k-6; Guided reading M
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3565 .N444 R43 2002
Lexile measure 450; Book level 3; Ages 5-8; Gr.k-2
Cover image of Lion vs rabbit
First United States edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9369.4 .L38 L56 2013
Ages 4-8; Gr.Prk-2
Cover image of Dog days
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N428 D64 2013
Lexile measure 710; Ages 6-9; Gr.2-4

Other books

Cover image of Brundibar
1st ed. New York : Michael di Capua Books / Hyperion Books for Children, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .U778 B78 2003
Lexile measure 480; Book level 3.4; Ages 10 and up; gr.4-7
1st ed. New York : Frances Foster Books, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .O376 B83 2003
Lexile measure 1090; Book level 5.6; Ages 12 and up; Gr.6-10
New York : A.A. Knopf, [1997]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .O653 C49 1997
Lexile measure 820; gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, c1991.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E49586 C49 1991
Lexile measure 460; Book level 3.3; Ages 3-7; Gr.k-2; Guided reaidng L
Cover image of Each kindness
New York : Nancy Paulsen Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 E13 2012
Awards: Charlotte Zolotow Award, 2013.; Awards: Coretta Scott King Award, author, 2012.; Lexile measure 640; Ages 5-9, gr. K-3
1st ed. New York : Scholastic, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 E87 2000
Lexile measure 750; ages 10-14; book level 5.3; historical fiction, gr. 5-8; Guided reading V
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 F43 2007
Lexile Measure 760; ages 10-15; book level 4.4; realistic fiction, gr. 6-9; Guided reading X
Cover image of Jake's best thumb
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .O586 J35 2008
Ages 4-6; Gr.K-2
New York : Viking, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .E8455 J87 2006
Lexile measure 810; Book level 4.9; Ages 12-18; Gr.7-12
Montreal ; Plattsburgh, NY : Tundra Books, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR9199.3 .B7995 K55 1995
Book level 5.3; Ages 9-14; Gr.4 and up
1st ed. New York : Hyperion Books for Children, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .O3398 S36 2007
Ages 10-12; Gr.5-7
Cover image of Skin I'm in
1st ed. New York : Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children, 1998.
Green Library » Stacks » PZ7 .F59816 1998
Ages 10-12; Gr.6-8
New York : Speak, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .N374442 S64 2003
Lexile measure 690; Book level 4.5; Ages 13 and up; gr.7 and up
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3626 .A77 S73 2007
Lexile measure 760; book level 4.5; Ages 15-18; gr.7-12
New York : Amulet Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .N55445 S77 2010
Lexile measure 760; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7; Guided reading T
Cover image of Thank you, Mr. Falker
New York : Philomel Books, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .O396 T78 1998
Lexile measure 650; Book level 4.1; Ages 5-8; gr.3-5; Guided reading M
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E338 Y37 2013
Lexile measure 670L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
1st Candlewick Press ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6052 .R6173 W559 2002
Lexile measure 330; Ages 5-8; Gr.k-2
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking