CAS Group

Guide for Chemistry's Administrative Services Group at Stanford.

Home

Open access publishing

  • Learn about the types of open access
  • Find publisher or journal title policies and procedures

Funder compliance

  • Assist with grant proposals and reports
  • Deposit articles and data into repositories
  • Help support researcher profiles

Find books & journals

  • Find library materials
  • Find full-text
  • Connect from off-campus
  • Borrow materials not at Stanford

Faculty publications

  • Verify a citation
  • Search for an author
  • Set up alerts
  • Manage publication lists

 

 

Open access publishing

There are three types of open access (OA) articles.

  • Green OA is the most common method used by Stanford authors. 
  • Gold OA fees range typically range from $800-$5,000. 
  • Platinum OA is free to both authors and readers.
Type Cost Version of Article
Embargo
Green Free Final accepted version Usually 12 months
Gold Varies Final published version None
Platinum Free Final published version None

 

Each publisher has their own policies and procedures for open access.  Some journal titles only contain OA articles whereas other journals are hybrids, containing both OA articles and articles accessible only to subscribers.  Please see the Publishers & OA section of the Sci-tech: Scholarly Publishing guide for more details.

Find books & journals

Faculty publications

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)

Author searching tips

The Web of Science Core Collection and Scopus contains institutional affiliation for all authors plus funding information.  SciFinder only contains institutional affiliation for the first author.  xSearch is not ideal for author searching because author names are entered into databases so many different ways.

About the databases

Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebooks, patents, technical reports, reference materials, etc.