Catalysis

Catalysis resources to help support research and instruction at Stanford.

Home

Browse latest issues in BrowZine

    Cover of ACS Catalysis

ACS Catalysis    

 Cover of Journal of Catalysis  

J. Catalysis 

       Cover of Advanced Synthesis & Catalysis

 Adv. Syn. & Catalysis 

Cover of Catalysis Science & Technology

Cat. Sci. & Tech.

Cover of ChemCatChem

ChemCatChem

Cover of Catalysis Today

Catalysis Today

Please see Journals page in this guide to browse more titles.

Catalysis@Stanford

Databases

Start here

Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. Also includes access to MethodsNow, a curated collection of methods in analytical and synthetic chemistry. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
SynOne
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"SynOne offers search, browse, and discovery options across the entire Thieme Chemistry publication portfolio (journals, reference works, and encyclopedias) and the results are linked via a systematic and unique hierarchy of compound classes, which has been put together by chemists for chemists. SynOne is a Thieme Chemistry discovery interface which can help you find relevant and reliable high-quality publications on organic synthesis and which will present your results in context."--About page.
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 350+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, datasets, full-text ejournal and ebooks, funding opportunities, methods and protocols, patents, streaming media, technical reports, plus more.  A Chemical Safety Search site that includes 70+ resources is also available.

More resources

Engineering Village
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Synthetic Reaction Updates
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"To respond to the growing interdisciplinary nature of research in the chemical sciences, RSC discontinued Catalysts & Catalysed Reactions and Methods in Organic Synthesis and merged them into a new product – Synthetic Reaction Updates.  Launched in 2015, Synthetic Reaction Updates is a literature updating service keeping you up to date with recent developments in synthetic organic chemistry. Its scope is all synthetic chemistry, with a focus on organic chemistry and interesting transformations of functional groups.  Covering a wide range of primary sources, Synthetic Reaction Updates includes the most important reactions published in the recent scientific literature, presented as easy to read reaction schemes that are searchable by topic and reaction type.  Sign up for weekly or monthly alerts." (Publisher's website)

Journals

Books

New books with "catalysis" in the title

Bioinspired Catalysis  Green Chemistry and Catalysis Heterogeneous catalysis at nanoscale for energy applications   computational and experimental tools

Featured books

Weigand, Wolfgang, and Philippe Schollhammer. 2015. Bioinspired catalysis: metal-sulfur complexes.

Sheldon, Roger A., Isabel Arends, and Ulf Hanefeld. 2007. Green chemistry and catalysis. Weinheim: Wiley-VCH. Also see Green Chemistry and catalysis, 2nd edition, 2015.

Tao, Feng, William F. Schneider, and Prashant V. Kamat. 2015. Heterogeneous catalysis at nanoscale for energy applications.

Ananikov, Valentine P., and Vincenzo Barone. 2015. Understanding organometallic reaction mechanisms and catalysis: computational and experimental tools.

All titles

  1. Vladislav A. Sadykov. 2019

  2. Benny K.G. Theng. 2019

  3. Scientific editors: Kurt Wüthrich (The Scripps Research Institute, USA & ETH Zürich, Switzerland), R.H. Grubbs (California Institute of Technology, USA) ; International Solvay Institutes Editors, T. Visart de Bocarmé (Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium), Anne De Wit (Université libre de Bruxelles, Belgium). 2018

  4. editors: Justin S.J. Hargreaves, Andrew R. McFarlane, Said Laassiri. 2018

  5. Hsiao-Tieh Hsu.. 2018

SearchWorks / xSearch

SearchWorks, the library catalog for the Stanford Libraries includes authors, titles, descriptions, and subjects for books, journals, conference proceedings, theses, etc.  Please choose a database to find journal articles.  Use xSearch for full-text searching of ebooks and journals.

Foundational texts

Chemical bonding at surfaces and interfaces
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2008.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD461 .C44 2008
Molecular surface science has made enormous progress in the past 30 years. The development can be characterized by a revolution in fundamental knowledge obtained from simple model systems and by an explosion in the number of experimental techniques. The last 10 years has seen an equally rapid development of quantum mechanical modeling of surface processes using Density Functional Theory (DFT). "Chemical Bonding at Surfaces and Interfaces" focuses on phenomena and concepts rather than on experimental or theoretical techniques. The aim is to provide the common basis for describing the interaction of atoms and molecules with surfaces and this to be used very broadly in science and technology.
Concepts of modern catalysis and kinetics
Weinheim [Germany] : Wiley-VCH, c2003.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD505 .C46 2003
Until now, the literature has offered a rather limited approach to the use of fundamental kinetics and their application to catalytic reactions. Subsequently, this book spans the full range from fundamentals of kinetics and heterogeneous catalysis via modern experimental and theoretical results of model studies to their equivalent large--scale industrial production processes. The result is key knowledge for students at technical universities and professionals already working in industry. '...such an enterprise will be of great value to the community, to professionals as well as graduate and undergraduate students attempting to move into the field of modern catalysis and kinetics.

Dictionaries

Catalysis from A to Z
4th, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2013.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Catalysis from A to Z explains briefly the important terms for every aspect of catalysis, whether biocatalysis, homogeneous catalysis, heterogeneous catalysis, or such related topics as spectroscopy or analytical methods. These also include abbreviations, brief biographic entries of important scientists who have worked in catalysis, trade names, important catalytic processes, named reactions, and other important keywords in the general field of catalysis.
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Encyclopedias

[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley-Interscience
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included.
Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry 2nd Edition
Second edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Representing the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study, the 2nd edition of this encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.  It acknowledges that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.  Written by experts, each article provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researchers wishing to go into greater depth. 
Amsterdam ; Boston : Academic Press : imprint of Elsevier, c2009.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The Encyclopedia of Electrochemical Power Sources" is a truly interdisciplinary reference for those working with batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, supercapacitors, and photo-electrochemical cells. With a focus on the environmental and economic impact of electrochemical power sources, this five-volume work consolidates coverage of the field and serves as an entry point to the literature for professionals and students alike. It covers the main types of power sources, including their operating principles, systems, materials, and applications. It serves as a primary source of information for electrochemists, materials scientists, energy technologists, and engineers. It incorporates nearly 350 articles, with timely coverage of such topics as environmental and sustainability considerations. (source: Nielsen Book Data)
Weinheim : Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2002-
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD553 .E53 2002
This 11 volume work includes: Fundamentals in electrochemistry, Instrumentation, Electroanalytical chemistry, Corrosion and oxide films, Electrochemical engineering, Semiconductor electrodes / Electrodes and modified electrodes, Photoelectrochemistry, and organic electrochemistry/Bioelectrochemistry.
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
Metalloproteins deals with all aspects related to the intracellular and extracellular metal-binding proteins, including their structures, properties and functions. The biological roles of metal cations and metal-binding proteins are endless. They are involved in all crucial cellular activities. Many pathological conditions are related to the problematic metal metabolism. Research in metalloprotein-related topics is therefore growing rapidly.  However, no key resource providing basic, but comprehensible knowledge on this rapidly expanding field exists. This encyclopedia aims to bridge this gap, and will attempt to cover various aspects of metalloprotein/metalloproteomics and will deal with the different issues related to the intracellular and extracellular metal-binding proteins, including their structures, properties and functions. The goal is to cover exhaustively all catalytically and biologically crucial metal ions and to find at least one interacting protein for other metal ions.
5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2004-2007.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TP9 .K54 2004 INDEX
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Handbooks

2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : [Great Britain] : Wiley-VCH, 2002.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD505 .A67 2002 V.1
Homogeneous catalysis is the success story of organometallic chemistry. Bulk and fine chemicals, and even natural products are being produced via homogeneous organometallic catalysis. This handbook contains both basic research and industrial applications. It also has both state-of-the-art and concise treatment of important catalytic reactions and processes.
This is the most comprehensive handbook on organocatalysis. All relevant catalyst systems are discussed in detail, as well as key strategies, reaction types, and important applications in total synthesis. The first two volumes cover catalyst structures and fundamental activation types. These chapters allow readers to familiarize themselves with the relatively complex interactions that make organocatalytic reactions selective; to gain an insight into the most efficient catalyst types; and to understand the importance of physical parameters that influence reactivity and selectivity. Volume three is structured around reaction types, i.e. nucleophile additions to C=X and C=C bonds; Friedel-Crafts reactions, organocatalytic sigmatropic reactions, regioselective reactions and desymmetrization strategies, ring-forming reactions, multicomponent (domino) reactions, multicatalyst systems and the application of organocatalytic reactions in multistep synthesis are discussed.
Comprehensive handbook of chemical bond energies
Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2007.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD461 .L86 2007
Understanding the energy it takes to build or break chemical bonds is essential for scientists and engineers in a wide range of innovative fields, including catalysis, nanomaterials, bioengineering, environmental chemistry, and space science. Reflecting the frequent additions and updates of bond dissociation energy (BDE) data throughout the literature, the "Comprehensive Handbook of Chemical Bond Energies" compiles the most recent experimental BDE data for more than 19,600 bonds of 102 elements.The author organizes the data by bond type, functional group, bond order, bond degree, molecular size, and structure for ease of use. Data can also be located using the Periodic table. The book presents data for organic molecules, biochemicals, and radicals as well as clusters, ions, hydrogen - and surface-bonded species, van der Waals complexes, isotopic species, and halogen-clusters/complexes. It also introduces entirely new data for inorganics and organometallics. The final chapter summarizes the heats of formation for atoms, inorganic/organic radicals, and monoatomic ions in the gas phase. "The Comprehensive Handbook of Chemical Bond Energies" offers quick access to experimental BDE data in the most inclusive, well-organized, and up-to-date collection available today.  (source: Nielsen Book Data)
Handbook of advanced methods and processes in oxidation catalysis
London : Imperial College Press ; Singapore : Distributed by World Scientific Pub. Co., c2014.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This book offers a comprehensive overview of the most recent developments in both total oxidation and combustion and also in selective oxidation. For each topic, fundamental aspects are paralleled with industrial applications. The book covers oxidation catalysis, one of the major areas of industrial chemistry, outlining recent achievements, current challenges and future opportunities. One distinguishing feature of the book is the selection of arguments which are emblematic of current trends in the chemical industry, such as miniaturization, use of alternative, greener oxidants, and innovative systems for pollutant abatement. Topics outlined are described in terms of both catalyst and reaction chemistry, and also reactor and process technology. (source: Nielsen Book Data)
Handbook of asymmetric heterogeneous catalysis
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2008.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Stacks » QD505 .H36 2008
"In this most up-to-date handbook each chapter contains a general introduction, followed by the principles of the immobilization and, finally, applications. In this way, it covers the most important approaches currently employed for the heterogenization of chiral catalysts, including data tables, applications, reaction types and literature citations.
For chemists in both academia and industry as well as those working in the fine chemical and pharmaceutical industry." (Publisher's description)
Handbook of green chemistry
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green processes, and green products. [Set I: Green catalysis] v. 1. Homogeneous catalysis; v. 2. Heterogeneous catalysis; v. 3. Biocatalysis   [Set II: Green solvents]  v. 4. Supercritical solvents; v. 5. Reactions in water; v. 6. Ionic liquids   [Set III: Green processes] v. 7. Green synthesis; v. 8. Bioinspired processes; v. 9. Designing safer chemicals   [Set IV: Green products] v. 10. Green engineering; v. 11. Green nanoscience; v. 12. Sustainable product design.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.
Handbook of Metathesis, 2nd edition
Second edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
The second edition of the Handbook of Metathesis, edited by Nobel Prize Winner Robert H. Grubbs and his team, is available as a 3 Volume set. The new edition of this set is completely updated (more than 80% new content) and expanded, with a special focus on industrial applications. Written by the "Who-is-Who" of metathesis, this book gives a comprehensive and high-quality overview. It is the perfect one-stop-reference source in this field and indispensable for chemists in academia and industry alike.
Multiphase homogeneous catalysis
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2005.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD505 .M85 2005 V.1
"This two-volume handbook is the one-stop reference for everybody working in the field of multiphase catalysis. Covering academic and industrial applications, it will set the standard for future developments.  All editors are top scientists with an industrial or academic background, and have put together an international team to present every facet of this fascinating methodology -- including aqueous phase catalysis, ionic liquids, flourous phase chemistry, supercritical solvents and catalysis with polymer bound ligands -- in a compact and competent manner." (Publisher's description)
Palladium-catalyzed coupling reactions
First edition. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH, c2013.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"This handbook and ready reference brings together all significant issues of practical importance for interested readers in one single volume. While covering homogeneous and heterogeneous catalysis, the text is unique in focusing on such important aspects as using different reaction media, microwave techniques or catalyst recycling. It also provides a comprehensive treatment of modern-day coupling reactions and emphasizes those topics that show potential for future development, such as continuous flow systems, water as a reaction medium, and catalyst immobilization, among others. With its inclusion of large-scale applications, this will equally be of great interest to industrial chemists." (source: Nielsen Book Data)

Major reference works

Science of Synthesis Reference Library

Below are volumes in the Science of Synthesis Reference Library focusing on catalysis. Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford for more information.

Asymmetric Organocatalysis
Stuttgart : Georg Thieme Verlag KG, -2012.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD262 .S354 2011/5
"Asymmetric Organocatalysis is the first reference work giving an overview of this dynamic, young field that is rapidly gaining significance for economical and environmentally friendly organic synthesis. It comprehensively covers all the catalysts and reactions within the four distinct activation modes: Brønsted base catalysis, Brønsted acid catalysis, Lewis base catalysis and Lewis acid catalysis. Typical or general experimental procedures as well as mechanistic, technical and theoretical aspects are included, allowing the reader to clearly see how simple, clean and efficient this chemistry is." (Publisher's description)
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD262 .S354 2014/5
Part of the Reference Library for Science of Synthesis, 'Biocatalysis in Organic Synthesis' presents a broad contemporary overview on the state-of-the-art in enzymatic methods for asymmetric synthesis.   The goal is to start a new wave of enthusiasm for biocatalysis in the broader community and to give an overview of the field. This three-volume set offers critical reviews of organic transformations by experts, including experimental procedures. The organization is based on the type of reaction performed under biocatalysis.  Available online and in print.
Catalytic Transformations via C—H Activation
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD262 .S354 2015/3A
"Catalytic Transformations via C-H Activation" covers the state of the art in C-H activation chemistry. Experts in the field present the best synthetic methods including typical or general experimental procedures. As such, this two volume set can serve as both a basis for the practical application of the techniques discussed, and as an educational resource to lay the foundations for future research.
Cross coupling and Heck-type reactions
Stuttgart ; New York Georg Thieme, 2013.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD262 .S354 2012/5
"Metal-catalyzed cross-coupling reactions are of central importance in modern chemistry. In 2010 the Nobel Prize for Chemistry was awarded to chemists working in the field.  Cross Coupling and Heck-Type Reactions critically reviews the state of the art of C--C, C--O and C--N Cross-Coupling Reactions, and Heck-Type Reactions. In spite of the numerous reviews appearing around the turn of the century, there has been enormous progress in this field in recent years. Furthermore, the goals of high efficiency, low cost, and environmental friendliness are still a major challenge. In the tradition of Science of Synthesis, this 3-volume set on Cross Coupling and Heck-Type Reactions presents the status of the field with expert reviews of the best methods, including typical and general experimental procedures. This reference work serves as the basis for the practical application of these methods and paves the way for future research." (Publisher's description)

Major reference works

New York : Academic Press, 1983-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD481 .A78 1983 V.1
Volumes in this series have been written by some of the foremost practitioners in the field and should be of interest to both mechanistic and synthetic chemists. Contents: v. 1. Analytical methods -- v. 2. Stereodifferentiating addition reactions pt. A -- v. 3. Stereodiferentiating addition reactions pt. B -- v. 4. The chiral carbon pool and chiral sulfur, nitrogen, phosphorus, and silicon centers -- v. 5. Chiral catalysis.
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c1999.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD505 .C65 1999 V.1
Comprehensive Asymmetric Catalysis comprehensively and critically reviews methods for the catalytic preparation of chiral organic compounds. This major reference set presents the state of the art in this area. The internationally acclaimed editors and the contributors, who are recognized experts in the field, guarantee the authoritative and timely coverage. This set is not only the principal reference source for synthetic organic chemists, but also for all scientific researchers who require chiral compounds in their work.
Comprehensive Biological Catalysis
San Diego : Academic Press, c1998.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QP601 .C738 1998 V.1
"Comprehensive Biological Catalysis: A Mechanistic Reference offers a comprehensive review of enzyme catalysis from a chemical perspective. This multi-volume work thoroughly covers background chemistry. The first volume concentrates on reactions of electrophilic carbon, phosphorous and sulfur. Volume Two provides reactions of nucleophilic/carbanoid carbon. Volume Three highlights radical reactions and oxidation/reduction. The final volume, or the chemical lexicon, consists of clear explanations of alphabetically-arranged specialized terms and concepts. A team of highly regarded authors and editors were gathered together to contribute to a clear and consistent coverage of enzyme catalysis."
Oxford : Elsevier, c2012.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Comprehensive Chirality provides a complete overview of the field and includes chiral research relevant to synthesis, analytic chemistry, catalysis, and pharmaceuticals. The individual chapters in each of the nine volumes provide an in-depth review and collection of references on definition, technology, applications and a guide/links to the related literature. v. 1: Biological Significance: Pharmacology, Phamaceutical Agrochemical. v. 2: Synthetic Methods I: Chiral Pool and Diastereoselective Methods. v. 3: Synthetic Methods II: Chiral Auxiliaries. v. 4: Synthetic Methods III: Catalytic Methods: C–C Bond Formation. v. 5: Synthetic Methods IV: Asymmetric Oxidation Reduction, C–N. v. 6: Synthetic Methods V: Organocatalysis. v. 7: Synthetic Methods VI: Enzymatic and Semi-Enzymatic. v. 8: Separations and Analysis. v. 9: Industrial Applications of Asymmetric Synthesis
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II
[2nd ed.]. Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier, c2013.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
Comprehensive Inorganic Chemistry II reviews and examines topics of relevance to today's inorganic chemists. Covering more interdisciplinary and high impact areas, it includes biological inorganic chemistry, solid state chemistry, materials chemistry, and nanoscience. The new work also complement other recent Elsevier works in this area, Comprehensive Coordination Chemistry and Comprehensive Organometallic Chemistry, to form a trio of works covering the whole of modern inorganic chemistry.
Comprehensive Organic Synthesis II
Second edition.
Stanford Libraries » Online resource » eResource
"The second edition of Comprehensive Organic Synthesis builds upon the highly respected first edition in drawing together the new common themes that underlie the many disparate areas of organic chemistry. These themes support effective and efficient synthetic strategies, thus providing a comprehensive overview of this important discipline. Fully revised and updated, this new set forms an essential reference work for all those seeking information on the solution of synthetic problems, whether they are experienced practitioners or chemists whose major interests lie outside organic synthesis.  It contains over 170 articles across nine volumes, including detailed analysis of core topics such as bonds, oxidation, and reduction. Includes over 10,000 schemes and images. Important growth areas-including combinatorial chemistry, new technological, industrial, and green chemistry developments are covered extensively."
[3rd ed.]. Amsterdam : Elsevier, c2007.
Science Library (Li and Ma) » Reference » QD411.C652 2007 V.1
Presents a comprehensive overview of the major developments in the field since 1993 providing general and significant insights. Highlights the expansion of applications in organometallic chemistry with a strong organic synthesis focus. Provides a structured first point of entry to the key literature and background material for those planning research, teaching and writing about the area.
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking