You are here

CHEM 24N: Nutrition and history

CHEM 24N - Spring 2014 - Instructor: Huestis, W.
Last Updated: 1-May-2014

This guide contains resources for students taking Chemistry 24N.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Home

Wallingford, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA : CABI, c2010.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » S419 .S47 2010
"The history of humankind is intimately tied to the history of agriculture: Powerful societies rose, persisted and waned in parallel with their food supply systems. Describing what crops were grown, the constraints on their production and the foods that were obtained, this book traces the impact of cropping and food preparation in ten societies that were among the most powerful and influential in history."
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2000.
Green Library » Bender Room (non-circulating) » TX353 .C255 2000 V.1
"This two-volume work encapsulates much of what is known of the history of food and nutrition. It constitutes a vast and essential chapter in the history of human health and culture. Ranging from the eating habits of our prehistoric ancestors to food-related policy issues we face today, this work covers the full spectrum of foods that have been hunted, gathered, cultivated, and domesticated; their nutritional makeup and uses; and their impact on cultures and demography."
1st ed. New York : Random House, c1977.
Green Library » Stacks » GN357.5 .H37
"In this brilliant and profound study the distinguished American anthropologist Marvin Harris shows how the endless varieties of cultural behavior -- often so puzzling at first glance -- can be explained as adaptations to particular ecological conditions. His aim is to account for the evolution of cultural forms as Darwin accounted for the evolution of biological forms: to show how cultures adopt their characteristic forms in response to changing ecological modes."
New York : Basic Books, c2009.
Green Library » Stacks » GN799 .F6 W73 2009
"In Catching Fire, renowned primatologist Richard Wrangham argues that our evolutionary success is the result of cooking. Once our hominid ancestors began cooking, the human digestive tract shrank and the brain grew; and pair bonding, marriage, the household, and even the sexual division of labor emerged. A pathbreaking theory of human evolution, Catching Fire will fascinate anyone interested in our ancient origins of our modern eating habits."
New York : Norton, c2005.
Green Library » Stacks » HM206 .D48 2005
"Jared Diamond convincingly argues that geographical and environmental factors shaped the modern world. Societies that had had a head start in food production advanced beyond the hunter-gatherer stage, and then developed religion --as well as nasty germs and potent weapons of war --and adventured on sea and land to conquer and decimate preliterate cultures. A major advance in our understanding of human societies, Guns, Germs, and Steel chronicles the way that the modern world came to be and stunningly dismantles racially based theories of human history."
New York : Penguin Press, 2008.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » RA784 .P643 2008
"Food. There’s plenty of it around, and we all love to eat it. So why should anyone need to defend it? Because most of what we’re consuming today is not food, and how we’re consuming it — in the car, in front of the TV, and increasingly alone — is not really eating. Instead of food, we’re consuming “edible foodlike substances” — no longer the products of nature but of food science. The result is what Michael Pollan calls the American paradox: The more we worry about nutrition, the less healthy we seem to become."
New York : Penguin Press, 2006.
Green Library » Stacks » GT2850 .P65 2006
"What should we have for dinner? When you can eat just about anything nature (or the supermarket) has to offer, deciding what you should eat will inevitably stir anxiety, especially when some of the foods might shorten your life. Today, buffeted by one food fad after another, America is suffering from a national eating disorder. As the cornucopia of the modern American supermarket and fast food outlet confronts us with a bewildering and treacherous landscape, what's at stake becomes not only our own and our children's health, but the health of the environment that sustains life on earth."
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2004.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » TX349 .E45 2004 V.1
"The history of food and drink in America is an exciting tale of unexpected twists and turns that are even more amusing than the oft-repeated myths. It is a story filled with hot-shot inventors, high-flying promoters, risk-taking growers, efficiency-conscious processors, hard-hitting advertisers, and lip-smacking consumers - all of whom have contributed to transforming lowly American food into a worldwide culinary delight. In 800 intriguing articles, this encyclopedia covers the significant events, inventions, and social movements in American history that have affected the way Americans view, prepare, and consume food and drink."
New York : Anchor Books/Doubleday, 1998, c1976.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » RA649 .M3 1998
"Upon its original publication, Plagues and Peoples was an immediate critical and popular success, offering a radically new interpretation of world history as seen through the extraordinary impact--political, demographic, ecological, and psychological--of disease on cultures. From the conquest of Mexico by smallpox as much as by the Spanish, to the bubonic plague in China, to the typhoid epidemic in Europe, the history of disease is the history of humankind. With the identification of AIDS in the early 1980s, another chapter has been added to this chronicle of events, which William McNeill explores in his new introduction to this updated edition."
New ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Harvard University Press, 1990.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » S419 .H44 1990
"Eating is the second favorite activity of many people, and for some it is the first. This book recounts the intriguing story of the plants and animals that stand between humans and starvation. In narrating his tale, the author traces the intricate patterns of food use and distribution that have developed since prehistoric times."
1st Shoemaker & Hoard ed. [Washington, D.C.] : Shoemaker & Hoard ; [Berkeley, Calif.] : Distributed by Publishers Group West, 2005.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » SB71 .H63 2005
"A personal and highly original take on the history of six commercial plants, Seeds of Change illuminates how sugar, tea, cotton, the potato, quinine, and the cocoa plant have shaped our past. In this fascinating account, the impassioned Henry Hobhouse explains the consequences of these plants with attention-grabbing historical moments. While most records of history focus on human influence, Hobhouse emphasizes how plants too are a central and influential factor in the historical process."

Course Description

Preference to freshmen. Intended to broaden the introductory chemistry experience. The biochemical basis of historically important nutritional deficiencies (vitamins, minerals, starvation, metabolic variants that predispose to disease) and environmental toxins is related to physiological action and the sociological, political, and economic consequences of its effect on human populations. Prerequisite: high school chemistry. Recommended: 31A,B, or 31X, or 33.

Biochemistry & Nutrition

7th ed. New York : W.H. Freeman, c2012.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP514.2 .S66 2012
"Since its first edition in 1975, this extraordinary textbook has helped shape the way biochemistry is taught, offering exceptionally clear writing, innovative graphics, coverage of the latest research techniques and advances, and a signature emphasis on physiological and medical relevance. Those defining features are at the heart of this edition."
4th ed. Sudbury, Mass. : Jones and Bartlett Publishers, c2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QP141 .I63 2011
"Nutrition, Fourth Edition is an accessible introduction to nutritional concepts, guidelines, and functions. It brings scientifically based, accurate information to students about topics and issues that concern them a balanced diet, weight management, and more and encourages them to think about the material they re reading and how it relates to their own lives. Covering important biological and physiological phenomena, including glucose regulation, digestion and absorption, and fetal development - as well as familiar topics such as nutritional supplements and exercise - Nutrition, Fourth Edition provides a balanced presentation of behavioral change and the science of nutrition."
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Liss, c2007.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP144 .G45 L83 2007
"This fascinating book draws it subject matter from a range of relevant disciplines that extend from molecular nutrition, nutritional sciences, and nutrition dietetics through to genetics, genomics, and anthropology. It presents a vital portrait of the absolutely fundamental role that nutrition has played and continues to play in shaping who and what human beings are, as well as where they evolved from, and where they may be heading as a species."
Color Atlas of Biochemistry presents the fundamentals of human and mammalian biochemistry on 215 stunning color plates. Alongside a short introduction to chemistry and the "classical topics" of biochemistry, the second edition covers new approaches and aspects in biochemistry, such as links between chemical structure and biological function or pathways for information transfer, as well as recent developments and discoveries, such as the structures of many new important molecules.
"Color Atlas of Physiology covers the entire subject of human physiology. Sections include the nerves and muscles, blood, respiration, the cardiovascular system, digestion, and reproduction. Providing a concise review of each thematic unit, the popular and proven layout of the book's double-page spreads with color illustrations and accompanying text allows for speedy comprehension and recall of key concepts."
"This Encyclopedia is a definitive resource for what to eat for maximum health as detailed by medical and nutritional experts. Making the connection between health, disease, and the food we eat, it describes more than 140 foods, providing information on their history, nutrient content, and medical uses. It details healthy eating guidelines based on the RDA food pyramid; and, provides scientific basis and knowledge for specific recommendations. Beautifully illustrated, it features an extensive list of reliable nutrition resources. It describes the "fit kitchen" from the latest in food safety to equipment and utensils for preparing fit foods to ways to modify favorite recipes to ensure health and taste."
Rev. translation of 3rd German ed. Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme, c2005.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (no call number)
"Although basic to health, the study of nutrition is complex and integrates knowledge from disciplines as varied as physiology, molecular biology, chemistry, psychology, sociology, economics, and public policy.  This book provides health and nutrition professionals, students and motivated consumers with a userful nutrition resource that is broad enough in its scope yet concise in it's delivery." 

Molecular Gastronomy

Completely rev. and updated New York : Scribner, 2004.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » TX651 .M27 2004
"On Food and Cooking pioneered the translation of technical food science into cook-friendly kitchen science and helped give birth to the inventive culinary movement known as "molecular gastronomy." Though other books have now been written about kitchen science, On Food and Cooking remains unmatched in the accuracy, clarity, and thoroughness of its explanations, and the intriguing way in which it blends science with the historical evolution of foods and cooking techniques."

Subject=Cooking + Location=Swain Library

Culinary Reactions  Molecular Gastronomy   Science of Good Cooking

No results

Find Articles & Books

Search Multiple Databases at One Time

xSearch: Chemistry 24N includes databases on agriculture, anthropology, history, medicine, and science.


xSearch  : Chemistry 24N: Nutrition and History