You are here

CHEMENG 170: Kinetics and Reactor Design

CHEMENG 170 - Fall 2013 - Instructor: Bent, S.
Last Updated: 22-Oct-2013

Library resources for students in Chemical Engineeing 170: Kinetics and Reactor Design.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Home

Boston : Butterworth-Heinemann, c1991.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD501 .B7818 1991
New York : Wiley, c1977.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .H54
3rd ed. New York : Wiley, c1999.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP157 .L4 1999

Course description

Chemical kinetics, elementary reactions, mechanisms, rate-limiting steps, and quasi-steady state approximations. Ideal isothermal and non-isothermal reactors; design principles. Steady state and unsteady state operation of reactors; conversion and limitations of thermodynamic equilibrium. Enzymes and heterogeneous catalysis and catalytic reaction mechanisms.

Books

SearchWorks

Library catalog for the Stanford Libraries

* Catalysis & kinetics

Chemical catalysis, kinetics, and reactions

Amsterdam : Elsevier, 2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .M87 2005
Cambridge, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .C54 2002
New York : Springer ; New Delhi, India : Anamaya, c2006.
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .A76 2007
Weinheim [Germany] : Wiley-VCH, c2003.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD505 .C46 2003
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2007.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP601 .F725 2007
San Diego, Calif. : Elsevier Academic ; Oxford : Elsevier Science [distributor], 2010.
2nd, rev. and updated ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH, c2008.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QP601.3 .B57 2008
2nd, completely rev. and extended ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP156 .C35 H34 2006
Cambridge, Eng. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1995.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP601.3 .G88 1995
New York : Springer, c2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .V36 2005
Weinheim ; Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, c2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .S256 2006

Books on catalysis

  1. volume editors: Takao Ikariya, Masakatsu Shibasaki ; with contributions by J-E. Bäckvall...[et al.].. 2011

  2. edited by Pierluigi Barbaro, Francesca Liguori. 2010

  3. edited by Carsten Bolm and F. Ekkehardt Hahn. 2009

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .A28 2009

  4. Jens Hagen. 2006

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP156 .C35 H34 2006

  5. edited by Brian Heaton. 2005

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .M43 2005

Books on chemical kinetics

  1. edited by R.G. Compton, G. Hancock. 1999

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD501 .B242 V.37

  2. by C. Olin Ball. 1960

    SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q11 .N5 V.84:ART.6

  3. Michel Soustelle. 2011

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .S68 2011

  4. Luis Arnaut, Sebastiao Formosinho, Hugh Burrows. 2007

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .A76 2007

  5. James E. House. 2007

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD502 .H68 2007

Books on chemical reactions

  1. by Peter Atkins. 2011

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD501 .A86 2011

  2. Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD511 .C45 2004

  3. G.E. Zaikov and A. Jimenez, editors. 2003

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD501 .Z295 2003

  4. James Keeler and Peter Wothers. 2003

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD501 .K44 2003

  5. Christopher E. Dateo. 1994

    Green Library » US Federal Documents » NAS 1.26:195221

Books on enzyme kinetics

  1. Andrés Illanes, Lorena Wilson, Carlos Vera. 2014

  2. Andres Illanes, Lorena Wilson and Carlos Vera. 2014

  3. Athel Cornish-Bowden. 2012

    Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP601 .C756 2012

  4. Robert A. Alberty. 2011

  5. Robert A. Alberty. 2011

Books on heterogeneous catalysis

  1. edited by José A. Rodríguez, Jonathan C. Hanson, Peter J. Chupas. 2013

  2. Julian Ross. 2012

  3. Julian R.H. Ross. 2012

  4. Rutger Anthony van Santen and Matthew Neurock. 2006

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .S256 2006

  5. edited by Alfred Hagemeyer, Peter Strasser, Anthony F. Volpe, Jr.. 2004

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .H54 2004

* Reaction engineering

Ames, Iowa : Wiley-Blackwell, 2008.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks » TP358 .A55 2008
Hoboken, NJ : Wiley, c2009.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD501 .R66 2009
[New York] : AIChE ; Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
2nd ed. New York : Oxford University Press, 2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP157 .S32 2005
7th ed. / Boston : McGraw-Hill, c2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP155.2 .T45 S58 2005
2nd ed. Upper Saddle River, NJ : Prentice Hall, c2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP149 .E45 2012
San Diego : Academic Press, c1998.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.3 .S74 1998
Boca Raton : CRC/Taylor & Francis, 2006.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » TP248.25 .B55 H67 2006
2nd ed. Boca Raton : Taylor & Francis/CRC Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP156 .C35 S77 2006

Books on biochemical engineering

  1. Shijie Liu.. 2013

  2. Michael L. Shuler, Fikret Kargi. 2014

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » TP248.3 .S58 2014

  3. Kim Gail Clarke. 2013

    Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » TP248.3 .C53 2013

  4. Pauline M. Doran. 2013

    eReserve » Online item on course reading list » (No call number)

  5. Fabian E. Dumont and Jack A. Sacco, editors. 2009

Books on bioreactors

  1. Henry C. Lim, University of California, Irvine, Hwa Sung Shin, Inha University. 2013

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.25 .B55 L56 2013

  2. John Villadsen, Jens Nielsen, Gunnar Lidén.. 2011

  3. volume editors: Regine Eibl, Dieter Eibl. 2009

  4. Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.25 .B55 N53 2003

  5. K. Schügerl, K.-H. Bellgardt (eds.). 2000

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.25 .B55 B549 2000

Books on chemical processes

  1. edited by Alfonso Jimňez, PhD, Ali Pourhashemi, PhD ; Gennady E. Zaikov, DSc, and A.K. Haghi, PhD, reviewers and advisory board members. 2014

  2. Henry Valentine Mott. 2014

  3. Mohammad Farhat Ali, Bassam M. El Ali, James G. Speight. 2014

  4. Alireza Bahadori. 2014

  5. by Sam Mannan. 2014

Books on thermodynamics and chemical engineering

  1. J.M. Smith, H.C. Van Ness, M.M. Abbott. 1996

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP149 .S582 1996

  2. J. Richard Elliott, Carl T. Lira. 2012

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP149 .E45 2012

  3. Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP155.2 .T45 S58 2005

  4. Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP155.2 .T45 S58 2001

  5. Stanley I. Sandler. 1999

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD504 .S25 1999

* Digestive systems

4th ed. Boston : Benjamin Cummings, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP34.5 .M454 2011
10th ed. Pacific Grove, CA : Brooks/Cole a division of Thomson Learning, Inc., c2004.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » SF761 .S796 2004
New York : Springer, c2003.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QR89.5 .B55 2003
1st ed. London ; New York : Chapman & Hall, 1996.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL495 .B58 1996
London, New York, Academic Press, 1969-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL641 .G3 V.1
3rd ed., rev. and updated. Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme, c2013.
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » THIEME BOOK
San Diego, Calif. : Thunder Bay Press, [2009]
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL696 .A558 T55 2009
2nd ed. Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1995.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP145 .S78 1995
Cambridge [Cambridgeshire] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1982.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP145 .H94 1982
Cambridge [England] ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1994.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP145 .D565 1994
3rd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, c2009.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL641 .V58 2009
Boston, Mass. : Blackwell on behalf of the New York Academy of Sciences, 2008.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Q11 .N5 V.1125
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2004.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL495 .C46 2004
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c1997.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL739 .S65 1997
4th ed. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2008.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP141 .B38 2008
Cambridge, U.K. ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 1999.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL737 .M3 H86 1999
Cambridge, UK ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2010.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP156 .M58 2010
Wallingford, Oxfordshire, UK ; Cambridge, MA : CABI, c2008.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » SF95 .M337 2008
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2008.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP171 .L53 2008
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 1986.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP145 .M66 1986
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier/Academic Press, 2011.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » QL639.1 .H6 V.30
Enfield, (NH) : Science Publishers, c2005.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP145 .P46 2005

Color atlases from Thieme

  1. Jan Koolman, Klaus-Heinrich Roehm. 2013

    Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » THIEME BOOK

  2. Eberhard Passarge. 2013

    Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » THIEME BOOK

  3. Berthold Block ; [translator, Terry C. Telger].. 2012

    Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » THIEME BOOK

  4. Heinz Luellmann, Klaus Mohr, Lutz Hein ; illustrator, Juergen Wirth. 2011

    Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » THIEME BOOK

Databases

[New York?] : Thomson Reuters.
"Includes cited references to primary journal literature on biological research, medical research findings, and discoveries of new organisms. It covers original research reports and reviews in botany, zoology, and microbiology, and related fields such as biomedical, agriculture, pharmacology, and ecology, and interdisciplinary fields such as medicine, biochemistry, biophysics, bioengineering, and biotechnology. Available with up to 18 million records to 1926."
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
London, J. Van Voorst [etc.]
Biology Library (Falconer) » Serials » Shelved by title V.128:NO.19-20 1991/1992
Indexes the world's zoological and animal science literature, covering all research from biochemistry to veterinary medicine. The database provides a collection of references from over 4,500 international serial publications, plus books, meetings, reviews and other no- serial literature from over 100 countries. It is the oldest continuing database of animal biology, indexing literature published from 1864 to the present. Zoological Record has long been recognized as the "unofficial register" for taxonomy and systematics, but other topics in animal biology are also covered.
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Search Tips

Web of Science

For finding journal articles, use the Web of Science first. 

   Search terms could be: (Digestive system* OR digestion) AND (common name OR scientific name OR family name if you want to do a broader search)

Here's some quick tips for finding important/relevant articles:

  • limit search terms to the title field, find review papers
  • use Refine by Document Type option on left side and choose "Review"
  • sort answers by "most cited" to see papers that have been referenced the most (use pull down on right side)
  • analyze results to see which authors are publishing the most on a topic (Analyze button at lower left side)

When you have a key article on a topic, it is a great way to identify additional materials by viewing cited and citing references.  For example, locate Penry and Jumars article in Web of Science, view citing items.  These citing items can then be refined (e.g. find review papers) or analyzed (e.g. by Subject or Source Title) to focus on particular areas of interest.  Here's an initial search strategy and citation for the Penry and Jumars article.

   Topic=(modeling animal guts) AND Author=(Penry AND Jumars)

   Title: MODELING ANIMAL GUTS AS CHEMICAL REACTORS
   Author(s): PENRY DL, JUMARS PA
   Source: AMERICAN NATURALIST   Volume: 129   Issue: 1   Pages: 69-96   Published: JAN 1987
   Times Cited: 231

Biosis Citation Index

Michael Newman, Falconer Biology Librarian, noted: "It is easy to find articles on physiology of digestive enzymes in a particular organism.  One way to do this is to use the Concept Codes:

drosophila AND 10808 (Concept Code for Physiological Studies of Enzymes) AND 14004 (Concept Code for Physiology and Biochemistry of Digestion)

Possibly by combining this with the word kinetics, one could find articles on rates of reactions in digestion."

Zoological Record

Zoological Record is another resource that might contain citations about the digestive system of an animal.

Engineering Village (EV)

EV covers more chemical engineering sources than the Web of Science.  Use EV to locate articles on bioreactors, chemical engineering reactions, etc.

xSearch

xSearch allows you to search multiple resources at one time, including do a full-text search of ebooks and ejournals. 

 

 

 

 

Journals

Encyclopedias

AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.  The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of scientific & technical terms, 5th ed, is integrated into AccessScience.
2nd, completely rev. ed. Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1991-2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.2 .B5465 1991 INDEX
These twelve volumes are organized into three sections. The first four volumes consider the fundamentals of biotechnology from biological, biochemical, molecular biological, and chemical engineering perspectives. The next four volumes are devoted to products of industrial relevance. Special attention is given here to products derived from genetically engineered microorganisms and mammalian cells. The last four volumes are dedicated to the description of special topics.
4th, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2013.
Catalysis from A to Z explains briefly the important terms for every aspect of catalysis, whether biocatalysis, homogeneous catalysis, heterogeneous catalysis, or such related topics as spectroscopy or analytical methods. These also include abbreviations, brief biographic entries of important scientists who have worked in catalysis, trade names, important catalytic processes, named reactions, and other important keywords in the general field of catalysis.
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2005.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QL495 .C737 2005 V.1
The first edition of this treatise was called Comprehensive Insect Physiology, Biochemistry, and Pharmacology. Important developments and achievements in modern insect science since the first edition have led to this new revised, expanded and retitled reference work. Vol. 1 - Reproduction and Development. Vol. 2 - Development. Vol. 3 - Biochemistry and Molecular Biology. Vol. 5 - Pharmacology. Vol. 6 - Control.
This encyclopedia is a new up-to-date resource for the global biotechnology industry. It is based on the Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology (Flickinger and Drew, 1999) and the Encyclopedia of Cell Technology (Spier, 2000). The content was fully revised, updated, and expanded to present all key aspects, theoretical and practical, of industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
Grzimek's Animal Life Encyclopedia is one of the best known and widely used reference works on the animal world. Thorough articles familiarize readers with animals found everywhere on the globe, detailing their life cycles, predators, food systems, overall ecology and much more. Includes: Lowermetazoans and Lesser Deuterosomes; Protostomes; Insects; Fishes; Amphibians; Reptiles; Birds; Mammals
5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2004-2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP9 .K54 2004 INDEX
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

Handbooks

2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : [Great Britain] : Wiley-VCH, 2002.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD505 .A67 2002 V.1
Homogeneous catalysis is the success story of organometallic chemistry. Bulk and fine chemicals, and even natural products are being produced via homogeneous organometallic catalysis. This handbook contains both basic research and industrial applications. It also has both state-of-the-art and concise treatment of important catalytic reactions and processes.
2nd ed. New York : Stockton Press, 1991.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP248.3 .A853 1991
This handbook provides fundamental data and practical information needed by engineers or researchers working in the field of biochemical engineering or biotechnology. It contains topics as diverse as microbial metabolism, properties of microorganisms and enzyme activity to reactor design, fluid rheology and downstream processing.
This handbook shows you how to control chemical processes to yield desired effects efficiently and economically. It examines each of the major chemical processes, such as reactions, separations, mixing, heating, cooling, pressure change, and particle size reduction and enlargement – in logically arranged alphabetical chapters, providing you with an understanding of the essential qualitative analysis of each. The Handbook: Emphasizes chemical conversions – chemical reactions applied to industrial processing, Provides easy-to-understand descriptions to explain reactor type and design, Describes the latest process developments and possible future improvements or changes.
[Bethesda, Md.] : John Wiley and Sons, 2011-
"Comprehensive Physiology is the most authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information that has ever been assembled. Its starting point is more than 30,000 pages of content from the American Physiological Society's renowned Handbook of Physiology series, which is presented here for the first time in an online format. New and updated materials will be published in a quarterly serial format."
4th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP149 .H285 2012
Fully revised throughout with new procedures, the Fourth Edition shows how to solve the main process-related problems that often arise in chemical engineering practice. New calculations reflect the latest green technologies and environmental engineering standards.
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
This handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green processes, and green products. [Set I: Green catalysis] v. 1. Homogeneous catalysis; v. 2. Heterogeneous catalysis; v. 3. Biocatalysis   [Set II: Green solvents]  v. 4. Supercritical solvents; v. 5. Reactions in water; v. 6. Ionic liquids   [Set III: Green processes] v. 7. Green synthesis; v. 8. Bioinspired processes; v. 9. Designing safer chemicals   [Set IV: Green products] v. 10. Green engineering; v. 11. Green nanoscience; v. 12. Sustainable product design.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : ǂb John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
Delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook.
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » RS356 .M524 ED.14 2006
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.
New York : McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1984-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP155 .C52 7TH 1997
Since 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has delivered unrivaled, state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering—from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Featuring 2,700 pages and 1900 illustrations, the eighth edition is a comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, achievements, and methods in the field.
2nd ed. Berlin ; New York : Springer, 2001-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP601 .E5158 2001 INDEX A
Springer Handbook of Enzymes provides data on enzymes sufficiently well characterized. It offers concise and complete descriptions of some 5,000 enzymes are well characterized as well as their application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes, in food industry, and for medicinal treatments. Data sheets are arranged in their EC-Number sequence and the volumes themselves are arranged according to enzyme classes. This series provides much detail on each enzyme, including specific activity and Km values. References are provided for all data, and human and non-human species are covered, but it would be very difficult to find data for a specific species.

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

Software

Site-licensed by Swain Library

Swain Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Some software licensed by Swain Library is also accessible using a web browser and Citrix plugin via CDSERVER. For more information, please see instructions for off-campus access to resources.