You are here

Chemical engineering

Last Updated: 1-May-2014

Research guide to chemical engineering resources.

Home

Featured resources

Delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook.
A library of 50- to 100-page “Lectures” covering core undergraduate course areas to more specialized upper-division and graduate-level topics in biomedical, environmental, and electrical engineering, as well as the state of the art in computer science and engineering research.

Keep current

This page contains information to help you stay up-to-date. It includes alerting services that will notify you when newly added items in a database match your search criteria, current awareness publications that you can browse or search, and calendars to meetings and events.

BrowZine is a tablet application that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries.  Browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries
Updated daily, Current Contents Connect is a multidisciplinary current awareness web resource providing access to complete bibliographic information of the world's leading scholarly journals.   It provides complete tables of contents and bibliographic information, including abstracts, from about 8,000 journals, 2,000 books, and 7,000 scholarly web sites.  It includes pre-published electronic journal articles and links to the full text.   Database coverage: 1998 to the present.  For more information, please see Fact sheet, Quick Reference Card, and recorded training.

Current awareness publications

Cambridge : Royal Society of Chemistry, 2002-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD501 .C37 F 2009
"Offers graphical abstracts of new developments in catalysis. Coverage includes all areas of catalysis research, including homogeneous, heterogeneous and biocatalysis with emphasis on current growth areas such as chiral catalysts, polymerisation catalysts, enzymatic catalysts and clean catalytic methods. Provides fast and effective access to the latest research. Each item is indexed by Authors, Products, Reactants and Catalysts, Catalyst Type and Reaction Type."
Nottingham : Royal Society of Chemistry
Covers health and safety issues for all sectors of the chemical industries. The scientific and trade literature are scanned for information on safety and health hazards surrounding chemicals encountered in the chemical and related industries, with over 250 items published online every month. Coverage includes: health and safety; chemical and biological hazards; disposal, storage and transportation; industrial hazards; waste management; plant safety and best practice; legislation; emergency planning; and protective equipment. Searchable by chemical name or bibliographic data.
Nottingham, England : Royal Society of Chemistry
This online database provides key information on hazards encountered by laboratory workers in all fields including R&D, analytical and hospital laboratories, scanned from the primary scientific and trade literature worldwide. Coverage includes: chemical and biological hazards; leaks, spills and unplanned releases; hazardous waste management; fires and explosions; safety legislation; precautions and safe practices; occupational health and hygiene monitoring; and protective equipment.
Nottingham, UK : Royal Society of Chemistry, c1987-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD415 .A1 N372 2004
"Natural Product Updates (NPU) provides graphical abstracts of new developments in natural product chemistry, selected from dozens of key primary journals. Coverage includes: Isolation studies, Biosynthesis, New natural products, Known compounds from new sources, Structure determinations, and New properties and biological activities."

Databases

Below is a selected list of databases.  For a more comprehensive list of chemistry and chemical engineering databases at Stanford, please see: http://library.stanford.edu/swain/databases/databases-z

Engineering Village
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Engineering Village is an information discovery platform that includes access to two databases at Stanford. Compendex (Computerized Engineering Index) is the most comprehensive bibliographic database of scientific and technical engineering research available, covering all engineering disciplines. It includes millions of bibliographic citations and abstracts from thousands of engineering journals and conference proceedings. When combined with the Engineering Index Backfile (1884-1969), Compendex covers well over 120 years of core engineering literature.
Inspec
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. Coverage begins in 1898.
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
"PubMed comprises over 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. PubMed citations and abstracts include the fields of biomedicine and health, covering portions of the life sciences, behavioral sciences, chemical sciences, and bioengineering. PubMed also provides access to additional relevant web sites and links to the other NCBI molecular biology resources. PubMed is a free resource that is developed and maintained by the National Center for Biotechnology Information (NCBI), at the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM), located at the National Institutes of Health (NIH)."
[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
"Updated daily, Scopus is the largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature. It also includes web sources, patents, articles in-press, book series, conference proceedings, and trade publications. Scopus provides international coverage of literature in science, technology, and medicine, and social sciences plus related content in the arts and humanities. 1996-present plus selected coverage back to 1823."
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Books

SearchWorks

Library catalog for the Stanford Libraries

New eBooks in TPs

In the Library of Congress Classification System, TP is used for Chemical Engineering materials.

  1. edited by Barnabas Gikonyo, PhD.. 2014

  2. edited by Keith Waldron. 2014

  3. edited by Ian Colbeck, Mihalis Lazaridis. 2014

  4. Equipment Testing Procedures Committee of the American Institute of Chemical Engineers. 2014

  5. edited by Slavcho Kirillov Rakovsky, DSc, Ryszard Kozlowski, PhD, and Nekane Guarrotxena, PhD ; Gennady E. Zaikov, DSc, and A. K. Haghi, PhD Reviewers and Advisory Board Members. 2014

Latest print books received at the Swain Library

Below is a list of the latest print books received at the Swain Library.

  1. Matthias Findeisen, Stefan Berger. 2014

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD96 .N8 F56 2014

  2. Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD101.2 .C57 2014

  3. John Kenkel. 2014

    Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD75.22 .K445 2014

Featured ebook collection

CRCnetBASE_bookcover
[Boca Raton, Fla.] : CRC Press ; London : Taylor and Francis Group.
CRCnetBASE, a Science, Technology, and Medicine eBook platform from CRC Press, offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 9,300 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections.

From SearchWorks

Selected Library of Congress Subject Headings are grouped into four broad categories below. 

When you click on a link, a saved search is run in SearchWorks showing you items the library has acquired to date that was given that subject heading.

General Chemical Engineering

Biotechnology

Energy

Nanotechnology

If there are other subjects that you'd like to have added to this list, please contact Grace Baysinger (graceb[at]stanford.edu).

Journals

Journal Citation Reports - JCR 2013
[Philadelphia, Pa.] : Institute for Scientific Information, c1999-
Journal Citation Reports® offers a systematic, objective means to critically evaluate the world's leading journals, with quantifiable, statistical information based on citation data. By compiling articles' cited references, JCR Web helps to measure research influence and impact at the journal and category levels, and shows the relationship between citing and cited journals. Available in Science and Social Sciences editions. With JCR, authors and editors can identify the most appropriate, influential journals in which to publish, and researchers can discover where to find the current reading list in their respective fields. Journal Citation Reports Product Information. Journal Citation Reports Training.

Dictionaries

Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.
IUPAC compendium of chemical terminology
Version 1.0.0. [Research Triangle Park, N.C.] : International Union of Pure and Applied Chemistry, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Media » QD5 .I86 2006
The Compendium is popularly referred to as the "Gold Book", in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition. It is one of the series of IUPAC "Colour Books" on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units, and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books. The result is a collection of nearly 7000 terms, with authoritative definitions, spanning the whole range of chemistry.
Quantities, units and symbols in physical chemistry
3rd ed. Cambridge, UK : RSC Pub., c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD451.5 .Q36 2007
The objective of this manual is to improve the exchange of scientific information among readers in different disciplines and across different nations. As the volume of scientific literature expands, each discipline has a tendency to retreat into its own jargon. This book attempts to provide a readable compilation of widely used terms and symbols from many sources together with brief understandable definitions.

Encyclopedias

Popular ChE encyclopedias

5th ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2004-2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP9 .K54 2004 INDEX
"Presents a wide scope of articles on chemical substances—including their properties, manufacturing, and uses. It also focuses on industrial processes and unit operations in chemical engineering, as well as covering fundamentals and scientific subjects related to the field. Additionally, environmental and health issues concerning chemical technology are also addressed."
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."

More encyclopedias

Please also see Swain Library > Collections > Reference > Encyclopedias for a list of encyclopedias in related subject areas.

Catalysis from A to Z
4th, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH, c2013.
Catalysis from A to Z explains briefly the important terms for every aspect of catalysis, whether biocatalysis, homogeneous catalysis, heterogeneous catalysis, or such related topics as spectroscopy or analytical methods. These also include abbreviations, brief biographic entries of important scientists who have worked in catalysis, trade names, important catalytic processes, named reactions, and other important keywords in the general field of catalysis.
Topics in this 5 volume work include fullerenes and carbon nanotubes, quantum dots and inorganic nanowires, interfacial chemistry, nanostructures, analytical and characterization methods, design and fabrication techniques of nanocomposites, properties of functional nanomaterials, nanostructured catalysts, molecular electronics, optical devices, bionanotechnology, colloidal phenomena--even future and environmental considerations about nanotechnology.
Representing the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study, the 2nd edition of this encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.  It acknowledges that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.  Written by experts, each article provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researchers wishing to go into greater depth. 
ECC contains over 300 articles, all extensively cross-referenced. Technical terms are explained in short definitions. Each year around 50 new and updated articles will be added, so that the Encyclopedia will keep up-to-date with the development of computational chemistry. Covers seven areas of computational chemistry from ab-initio computations to biological and biochemical applications.
Weinheim : Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2002-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD553 .E53 2002
This 11 volume work includes: Fundamentals in electrochemistry, Instrumentation, Electroanalytical chemistry, Corrosion and oxide films, Electrochemical engineering, Semiconductor electrodes / Electrodes and modified electrodes, Photoelectrochemistry, and organic electrochemistry/Bioelectrochemistry.
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier Academic Press, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TJ163.28 .E53 2004 V.1
Topics include: Basics of Energy; Energy Flows; Society and Energy; History and Energy; Systems of Energy; Conservation and End Use; Renewable and Alternative Sources; Environmental, Public, and Policy Issues; Economics of Energy; Measurement and Models; Material Use and Reuse; Oil and Natural Gas; Coal, Electricity; Nuclear Energy; Risks; Sustainable Development; and Global Issues.
New York : J. Wiley, 2001.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Stacks » GE45 .S73 E53 2001 v.1
"Covers the development and application of quantitative methods in the environmental sciences. It provides essential tools for understanding, predicting, and controlling the impacts of agents, both man-made and natural, which affect the environment." (Publisher's description)
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons Ltd., 2005.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QH431 .E62 2005 V.1
"This resource brings together four fields of genetics, genomics, proteomics and bioinformatics. The Browse by Contents button above takes you to the full table of contents. The articles are also classified by type, as Introductory Reviews for people new to a subject, Specialist Reviews that provide in-depth coverage for those with more experience, The focus is on studies based on the human and mouse genomes, but other important model eukaryotes, as well as pathogenic bacteria, are given in-depth coverage. For readers approaching new fields, there is a comprehensive glossary that explains over 500 terms in a clear and concise way." (Publisher's description)
This encyclopedia is a new up-to-date resource for the global biotechnology industry. It is based on the Encyclopedia of Bioprocess Technology (Flickinger and Drew, 1999) and the Encyclopedia of Cell Technology (Spier, 2000). The content was fully revised, updated, and expanded to present all key aspects, theoretical and practical, of industrial biological processes, techniques, equipment, products, as well as ethical and regulatory issues.
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
Provides critical assessment of the status and advancements in materials and fabrication of membranes, membrane based processes, and applications critical to industrial applications and research. This online encyclopedia considers the fast growing interest in synthetic membranes and their many applications including drinking water purification, gas separations, food technology, biotechnology, drug delivery devices, rechargeable batteries and fuel cells.
New York : Springer, 2008.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TJ853 .E53 2008 V.1
Covering all aspects of transport phenomena on the nano- and micro-scale, this encyclopedia includes over 750 entries in three alphabetically-arranged volumes including the most up-to-date research, insights, and applied techniques across all areas. Specifically, subjects covered in this comprehensive Springer Reference include electrical double-layers, optofluidics, DNC lab-on-a-chip, nanosensors, and more.
"The Encyclopedia of Molecular Cell Biology and Molecular Medicine covers both the molecular and cellular basis of life and medicine. Since its origins, the Encyclopedia has expanded, through two print editions, to contain more than 350 articles. Each begins with a glossary of keywords, a concise definition of the subject and its importance, followed by a detailed review and bibliography."
This comprehensive encyclopedia provides concise information on the molecular pathophysiology of disease. Determining and understanding the molecular mechanisms of disease is one of the key goals of modern medical research. The studies of medical genetics, microbiology, immunology, structural biology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience and developmental biology have been brought to bear on the full range of human diseases.
The two volume set combines the knowledge of classic pharmacology describing drug action as well as the more recent approach of the precise analysis of the molecular mechanisms by which drugs exert their effects.
This encyclopedia presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science, providing information about polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. New topics added include nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, and biomimetics.
"This Encyclopedia offers for the first time a description of free radicals within an interdisciplinary and multidisciplinary context, connecting structural characteristics and chemical properties to their applications in different areas of chemistry and related disciplines,  Covering not only basic concepts and chemical synthesis, the Encyclopedia also covers various aspects concerning the role of free radicals in materials and life sciences.  The chapters are thematically structured within four areas: Basic Concepts & Methodologies, Synthetic Strategies & Applications, Chemical Biology, and Polymers & Materials."
"Smart materials are materials and structures that can impart information about their environment to an observer or monitoring device. This work covers commercial applications and discusses the specialized properties and coatings that are required for the use of materials in extreme conditions. Discussions include theory, fabrication, processing, applications, and uses."
The 465 entries in this eight-volume second edition define terminology, demystify concepts, highlight key references, and identify important applications in the field today. Improved organization and indices enable readers to locate information quickly and easily. The topics surveyed include active fillers for composite materials, interfacial and dielectric properties of biological tissues, colloid interaction forces, cationic and anionic surfactant interaction, dielectrophoresis of biological cells, Gemini surfactants, interfacial tension measurement in fluid-fluid systems, latex films, and papermaking. This resource also offers expanded coverage of adsorption, chromatography, electrical double-layers, electrocatalysis, micellar systems, polymers, and much more.
"The Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology (ESST) addresses the grand challenge for science and engineering today. It provides unprecedented, peer-reviewed coverage of sustainability science and technology with contributions from nearly 1,000 of the world’s leading scientists and engineers, who write on more than 600 separate topics in 42 sections. ESST establishes a foundation for the many sustainability and policy evaluations being performed in institutions worldwide." (Publisher's description)
Oxford : Eolss Publishers, 2004-
The Encyclopedia of Life Support Systems (EOLSS) is an integrated compendium of sixteen encyclopedias. The EOLSS was developed as a dependable source of knowledge for use in human endeavors aimed at development of remedial measures to counter the current practices, which imperil the Earth's essential life support systems. Natural and social sciences, humanities, engineering and technology, and management policies for sustainable use of life support systems are emphasized, together with issues of global change and their ecological, economic, social, ethical, cultural, and political dimensions. The EOLSS is intended to enhance the systematic development of knowledge that is essential for global stability, security, and peace.

Handbooks

Key resources

4th ed. New York : McGraw-Hill, c2012.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP149 .H285 2012
Fully revised throughout with new procedures, the Fourth Edition shows how to solve the main process-related problems that often arise in chemical engineering practice. New calculations reflect the latest green technologies and environmental engineering standards.
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
Delivers comprehensive authoritative information that accelerates research and innovation, and features content from a broad range of must-have McGraw-Hill engineering publications, including the latest editions of classics such as Perry's Chemical Engineers Handbook.
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » RS356 .M524 ED.14 2006
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.
New York : McGraw-Hill Book Company, 1984-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP155 .C52 7TH 1997
Since 1934, Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook has delivered unrivaled, state-of-the-art coverage of all aspects of chemical engineering—from the fundamentals to details on computer applications and control. Featuring 2,700 pages and 1900 illustrations, the eighth edition is a comprehensive source for the newest developments, advances, achievements, and methods in the field.
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)

More handbooks

2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : [Great Britain] : Wiley-VCH, 2002.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .A67 2002 V.1
Homogeneous catalysis is the success story of organometallic chemistry. Bulk and fine chemicals, and even natural products are being produced via homogeneous organometallic catalysis. This handbook contains both basic research and industrial applications. It also has both state-of-the-art and concise treatment of important catalytic reactions and processes.
Cambridge : Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre,
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve » QD921 .C36 2014
"The CSD is the world repository of small molecule crystal structures. Stanford has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. We also have a site license for the Cambridge Crystallographic Database System, Mercury, DASH, Hermes, and SuperStar. (Structure Searching)
Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). (Structure searching)
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD65 .H3 60TH 1979/1980
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Section 18 contains sources of physical and chemical data.
Handbook of Biosensors and Biochips provides an essential reference, underpinning many of the applications used in medical diagnostics, environmental control and pharmaceutical and food industries. With 85 chapters and ten introductions, it is structured into the following subject areas: Part I: Introduction to biosensor and biochip technologies  Part II: Biological and molecular recognitions systems  Part III: The biology – materials interface: interfacial science and receptor integration  Part IV: Transducer technologies for biosensors and bio-array technologies  Part V: Miniaturized, micro-engineered and particle systems  Part VI: Array technologies  Part VII: Data analysis, conditioning and presentation  Part VIII: Areas and examples of biosensor applications  Part IX: Commercialization, business and regulatory issues  Part X: Future implications, trends and perspectives
This handbook serves as a source of electrochemical information, providing details of experimental considerations, representative calculations, and illustrations of the possibilities available in electrochemical experimentation. The book is divided into five parts: Fundamentals, Laboratory Practical, Techniques, Applications, and Data.
Chichester, England ; New York : Wiley, c2003-2009.
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks, non-circulating item » TK2931 .H36 2003 V.1
This handbook brings together for the first time in a single online reference work the fundamentals, principles and the current state-of-the-art in fuel cells. Its publication reflects the increasing importance and the rapidly growing rate of research into alternative, clean sources of energy. The Handbook is divided into four main themes: (1) Fundamentals and Survey of Systems (2) Fuel Cell Electrocatalysis (3) Fuel Cell Technology and Applications, and (4) Advances in Electrocatalysis, Materials, Diagnostics and Durability.
Handbook of green chemistry
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
This handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green processes, and green products. [Set I: Green catalysis] v. 1. Homogeneous catalysis; v. 2. Heterogeneous catalysis; v. 3. Biocatalysis   [Set II: Green solvents]  v. 4. Supercritical solvents; v. 5. Reactions in water; v. 6. Ionic liquids   [Set III: Green processes] v. 7. Green synthesis; v. 8. Bioinspired processes; v. 9. Designing safer chemicals   [Set IV: Green products] v. 10. Green engineering; v. 11. Green nanoscience; v. 12. Sustainable product design.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : ǂb John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.
This handbook provides an integrated view of manufacturing areas with other topics essential in the new era. No other source offers as much data on the chemistry, engineering, economics, and infrastructure of the industry. Extensive discussion of new material can be found on the following topics: Green Engineering and Chemistry, Practical Catalysis, Biomass Utilization, Nanotechnology fundamentals, Biotechnology.
This handbook is the first comprehensive reference to cover both fundamental and applied aspects of physics at the nanoscale. It offers an introduction to established fundamentals in the field as well as a summary of the most significant developments in research. Contents: Vol. 1 Principles and Methods, Vol. 2 Clusters and Fullerenes, Vol. 3 Nanoparticles and Quantum Dots, Vol. 4 Nanotubes and Nanowires, Vol. 5 Functional Nanomaterials, Vol. 6 Nanoelectronics and Nanophotonics, Vol. 7 Nanomedicine and Nanorobotics
San Diego, Calif. : London : Academic, c2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QC173.4 .S94 H363 2001 V.1
This handbook brings together all aspects of the chemistry, physics, and engineering of surfaces and interfaces of materials studied in academic and industrial research. It covers different experimental and theoretical aspects of surfaces and interfaces, their physical properties, and spectroscopic techniques that have been applied to a wide class of inorganic, organic, polymer, and biological materials.
Infotherm contains property data for more than 30,000 pure substances and compounds, including PVT-properties, phase equilibria, transport and surface properties, caloric properties, acoustic and optical properties. Searchable by compound, molecular formula, CAS registry number in combination with chemical state, conditions, properties, and/or system. Covers 1919-present.
New York : Oxford University Press, 2010.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » T174.7 .O94 2010 V.1
This three volume handbook presents frontier research in nanoscience and nanotechnology, describes fundamental issues and theories of nanomaterials, and explains state of art technologies in synthesis, manipulation and characterization of nanostructure materials.
"Pharmaceutical Substances is a one-stop source of information relating to the industrial synthesis and commercial applications of every licensed drug of significance and serves as an ideal tool for teaching in the field of medicinal and pharmaceutical chemistry. The compendium of over 2400 APIs (Active Pharmaceutical Ingredients) provides: Capability to search for marketed drugs relating to a structure or reaction; a rapid overview of a therapeutic area or chemically related substances; industrial synthetic routes elucidated from complex patent descriptions; insights into industrial processes and toxicity issues; commercial information such as trade names and vendors/ manufacturers for the six world markets; and concise records ideal for hand-outs and quick reference." (Structure Searching)
"This Handbook comprises a comprehensive reference source that unifies the entire fields of atomic, molecular, and optical (AMO) physics, assembling the principal ideas, techniques and results of the field from atomic spectroscopy to applications in comets. Its 92 chapters are written by over 100 authors, all leaders in their respective disciplines. It is carefully edited to ensure a uniform coverage and style and with extensive cross references, together with a guide to the primary research literature, it is both a source of information and an inspiration for graduate students and other researchers new to the field. All chapters offer diagrams of apparatus, graphs, and tables of data."
2nd ed. Berlin ; New York : Springer, 2001-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP601 .E5158 2001 INDEX A
Springer Handbook of Enzymes provides data on enzymes sufficiently well characterized. It offers concise and complete descriptions of some 5,000 enzymes are well characterized as well as their application in analytical, synthetic and biotechnology processes, in food industry, and for medicinal treatments. Data sheets are arranged in their EC-Number sequence and the volumes themselves are arranged according to enzyme classes. This series provides much detail on each enzyme, including specific activity and Km values. References are provided for all data, and human and non-human species are covered, but it would be very difficult to find data for a specific species.
Springer handbook of nanotechnology
2nd rev. & extended ed. Berlin ; New York : Springer, 2007.
This handbook addresses mechanical and electrical engineers, materials scientists, physicists and chemists who work either in the nano area or in a field that is or will be influenced by this new key technology.
Comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. The database will be updated quarterly. Search features include the ability to search for polymers matching specific properties or ranges of properties, the ability to create custom tables for all the properties of a specific polymer, and the ability to access the full-text html for references to the primary literature via CrossRef.
Yaws' handbook of thermodynamic and physical properties
Accurate information describes how chemicals behave at different temperatures for 5000 organic chemical compounds covering C1 to C70 organics. All tables in this book are interactive (live) and most contain live equations for easy calculation and plotting of the properties.

Major reference works

Weinheim ; Chichester : Wiley-VCH, c2001-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP801 .B69 B563 2001 INDEX
"Biopolymers provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science."
2nd, completely rev. ed. Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1991-2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » TP248.2 .B5465 1991 INDEX
These twelve volumes are organized into three sections. The first four volumes consider the fundamentals of biotechnology from biological, biochemical, molecular biological, and chemical engineering perspectives. The next four volumes are devoted to products of industrial relevance. Special attention is given here to products derived from genetically engineered microorganisms and mammalian cells. The last four volumes are dedicated to the description of special topics.
Burger's offers easy access to broad coverage of medicinal chemistry and drug discovery for new, as well as experienced, medicinal chemists, biologists, pharmacologists, and molecular biologists. Burger's offers a comprehensive, global perspective of drug design and drug development. With expanded content, this edition of Burger’s Medicinal Chemistry and Drug Discovery includes more than 50% new material. An entire section has been dedicated to cancer research. Areas included are those at the foreground of life science including: proteomics, genomics, bioinformatics, combinatorial chemistry, high-throughput screening, blood substitutes, allosteric effectors as potential drugs, COX inhibitors, statins, high-throughput pharmacology, and much more.
"Biomaterials is a dynamic, changing field that impacts modern medicine and therapeutics in diverse ways. This modern, all-encompassing comprehensive treatment accurately captures the diversity, breadth and dimensions of the biomaterials field. It describes the many modern aspects of biomaterials - from basic science to clinical applications - across the formulations and chemistry of polymers, ceramics and metals and their use in various biomedical devices and implants, as well as their clinical performance and host responses. Conventional clinically accepted biomaterials as well as emerging prototypes, studies and new ideas, along with visionary predictions of future biomaterials compositions and capabilities, are all extensively covered by hundreds of experts in the field."
Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2012.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference (non-circulating) » QH505 .C588 2012 V.1
Comprehensive Biophysics provides definitive introductions to a broad array of topics, uniting different areas of biophysics research, from the physical techniques for studying macromolecular structure to protein folding, muscle and molecular motors, cell biophysics, bioenergetics and more. The result is this comprehensive scientific resource: a valuable tool both for helping researchers come to grips quickly with material from related biophysics fields outside their areas of expertise, and for reinforcing their existing knowledge.
2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2011.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Reference (non-circulating) » TP248.15 .C66 2011 V.1
Comprehensive Biotechnology 2nd Edition is an integrated compendium of six volumes covering all the essential elements of the field. The first two volumes provide the basics of the underlying scientific and engineering principles of biotechnology; the following four volumes treat the major application branches that impact industry, agriculture, medicine and environment.v. 1. Scientific fundamentals of biotechnology. v. 2. Engineering fundamentals of biotechnology. v. 3. Industrial biotechnology and commodity products. v. 4. Agricultural and related biotechnologies. v. 5. Medical biotechnology and healthcare. v. 6. Environmental biotechnology and safety
Designed to serve as the first point of reference on the subject, Comprehensive Chemometrics presents an integrated summary of the present state of chemical and biochemical data analysis and manipulation. It covers all major areas ranging from statistics to data acquisition, analysis, and applications. This work provides broad-ranging, validated summaries of the major topics in chemometrics, with chapter introductions and advanced reviews for each area.
Comprehensive Chirality provides a complete overview of the field and includes chiral research relevant to synthesis, analytic chemistry, catalysis, and pharmaceuticals. The individual chapters in each of the nine volumes provide an in-depth review and collection of references on definition, technology, applications and a guide/links to the related literature. v. 1: Biological Significance: Pharmacology, Phamaceutical Agrochemical. v. 2: Synthetic Methods I: Chiral Pool and Diastereoselective Methods. v. 3: Synthetic Methods II: Chiral Auxiliaries. v. 4: Synthetic Methods III: Catalytic Methods: C–C Bond Formation. v. 5: Synthetic Methods IV: Asymmetric Oxidation Reduction, C–N. v. 6: Synthetic Methods V: Organocatalysis. v. 7: Synthetic Methods VI: Enzymatic and Semi-Enzymatic. v. 8: Separations and Analysis. v. 9: Industrial Applications of Asymmetric Synthesis
Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » RS402 .C65 2007 V.1
Comprehensively reviews the strategies, technologies, principles and applications of modern medicinal chemistry. Provides a global and current perspective of today's drug discovery process and discusses the major therapeutic classes and targets. Includes a unique collection of case studies and personal assays reviewing the discovery and development of key drugs.
"This multivolume work covers all aspects of membrane science and technology--from basic phenomena to the most advanced applications and future perspectives. Modern membrane engineering is critical to the development of process-intensification strategies and to the stimulation of industrial growth. The work presents researchers and industrial managers with an indispensable tool toward achieving these aims."
"Comprehensive Microsystems provides an exhaustive overview of the wide range of topics which comprise the microsystems field, including, design and materials, fabrication and packaging, optical systems, chemical and biological systems, physical sensors, actuation, electronics for MEMS and industrial applications. The articles provide a concise overview of a particular aspect of the microsystems field and are accompanied by extensive bibliographies, cross-referencing and indexes, enhancing the value of the text. by guiding the user to the most relevant further reading within the ever-expanding available literature."
This comprehensive work is designed to address the need for a dynamic, authoritative and readily accessible source of information, capturing the full breadth of the subject. Its five volumes, covering a broad spectrum of disciplines including material sciences, chemistry, physics and life sciences. The work focuses on the major classes of nanomaterials in terms of their synthesis, structure and applications.
Contents: v1. Polyketides and other secondary metabolites including fatty acids and their derivatives; v2. Isoprenoids including carotenoids and steroids ; v3. Carbohydrates and their derivatives including tannins, cellulose, and related lignins; v4. Amino acids, peptides, porphyrins, and alkaloids; v5. Enzymes, enzyme mechanisms, proteins, and aspects of NO chemistry; v6. Prebiotic chemistry, molecular fossils, nucleosides, and RNA; v7. DNA and aspects of molecular biology; v8. Miscellaneous natural products including marine natural products, pheromones, plant hormones, and aspects of ecology.
Within the context of strict international regulatory guidance and mandatory performance characteristics, materials for modern nuclear systems need to demonstrate ever-increasing standards of dimensional stability, mechanical properties, reduction of waste byproducts and optimal cost-effectiveness.
[Bethesda, Md.] : John Wiley and Sons, 2011-
"Comprehensive Physiology is the most authoritative and comprehensive collection of physiology information that has ever been assembled. Its starting point is more than 30,000 pages of content from the American Physiological Society's renowned Handbook of Physiology series, which is presented here for the first time in an online format. New and updated materials will be published in a quarterly serial format."
Comprehensive Renewable Energy is the only multi-volume reference work of its type at a time when renewable energy sources are seen increasingly as realistic alternatives to fossil fuels. This work is arranged according to the most important themes in the field (Photovoltaic Technology; Wind Energy Technology; Fuel Cells and Hydrogen Technology; Biomass and Biofuels Production; Hydropower Applications; Solar Thermal Systems: Components and Applications; Geothermal Energy; Ocean Energy).
In its four volumes, this major reference work contains a complete treatment of the theory and methodology of sampling in all physical phases and the theory of sample preparation for all major extraction techniques. Fundamentals of sampling and sample preparation are reinforced through comprehensive sections dealing with Biological and Medical, Environmental and Forensic, and Food and Beverage applications.
"Semiconductors are at the heart of modern living. Almost everything we do, be it work, travel, communication, or entertainment, all depend on some feature of semiconductor technology. Comprehensive Semiconductor Science and Technology captures the breadth of this important field, and presents it in a single source to the large audience who study, make, and exploit semiconductors.  The work is divided into three sections. The first section is concerned with the fundamental physics of semiconductors, showing how the electronic features and the lattice dynamics change drastically when systems vary from bulk to a low-dimensional structure and further to a nanometer size. Throughout this section there is an emphasis on the full understanding of the underlying physics. The second section deals largely with the transformation of the conceptual framework of solid state physics into devices and systems which require the growth of extremely high purity, nearly defect-free bulk and epitaxial materials. The last section is devoted to exploitation of the knowledge described in the previous sections to highlight the spectrum of devices we see all around us."
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
Weinheim ; New York : VCH, c1991-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA403 .M347 1991 INDEX V.1-18
Materials Science and Technology, a seminal work and essential reference offering access to a veritable compendium of information covering the most important classes of materials found in industry, including: metals, ceramics, glasses, polymers, semiconductors, and composites. This work also deals with the applications, processing, and fundamental principles associated with these materials. It clearly and comprehensively provides the user with data from research and industry on the properties, preparation and potential of the individual classes of materials.
Nanotechnologies for the life sciences
[1st ed.]. [Weinheim, Germany] : Wiley Interscience, c2007.
Combining the two highly acclaimed reference works, Nanotechnology for the Life Science and Nanomaterials for the Life Sciences, this first comprehensive source will give you a unique perspective to the fascinating field where nanoscale materials and living matter meet. The only reference work of this magnitude, it provides a broad, yet in-depth perspective of numerous facets.
Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : John Wiley, distributor], c2008-
The reader gets an in-depth and comprehensive overview of everything there is to know about nanotechnology and nanoscience by using a cross-disciplinary approach. Not only fundamentals but also applications of nanotechnology are presented.  With topics ranging from engineering to electronics, life and medical sciences, chemistry, materials science and analytics, the following key areas are covered: Principles and Fundamentals of Nanotechnology, Philosophical and Ethical Aspects, Types of Nanosystems, Generation of Nanostructures, Environmental Nanotechnology, Nanoparticles in the Environment, Semiconductor Technology, High-Density Memories, Nanofabrication, Nanomedicine, Nanobiotechnology, Nanoprobes, Light and Energy, and Nanostructured Surfaces.
This Comprehensive Reference covers all aspects of polymer science from chemistry/chemical engineering to materials science, biological aspects, applications and fate of polymers in the environment. There are over 250 chapters that cover the following topics: Basic Concepts and Polymer Properties, Polymer Characterization, Chain Polymerization of Vinyl Monomers, Ring-opening polymerization and special polymerization processes, Polycondensation, Macromolecular Architectures and Soft Nano-objects, Nanostructured Polymer Materials and Thin Films, Polymers for Advanced Functional Materials, Polymers in Biology and Medicine, Polymers for a Sustainable Environment and Green Energy.
Weinheim, F.R.G. ; New York, NY, USA : VCH, c1989-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » TA165 .S4585 1989 V.1
"Sensors is the first self-contained series to deal with the whole area of sensors. It describes general aspects, technical and physical fundamentals, construction, function, applications and developments of the various types of sensors. Consisting of nine volumes altogether, with eight dedicated to various topics and the ninth as cumulative index, each volume offers in-depth information in one particular field within sensor technology. v. 1. Fundamentals and general aspects  v. 2, pt. 1. Chemical and biochemical sensors  v. 3, pt. 2. Chemical and biochemical sensors  v. 4. Thermal sensors   v. 5. Magnetic sensors   v. 6. Optical Sensors   v. 7. Mechanical sensors   v. 8. Micro-and nanosensor technology : Trends in sensor markets   v. 9. Cumulative index   This cumulative index on sensors gives an overview of all the volumes in the series."
Supramolecular chemistry is 'chemistry beyond the molecule'. While traditional chemistry focuses on the bonds that hold atoms together in a molecule, supramolecular chemistry examines the weaker interactions that hold groups of molecules together. Important concepts that have been demonstrated by supramolecular chemistry include molecular self-assembly, folding, molecular recognition, host-guest chemistry, mechanically-interlocked molecular architectures, and dynamic covalent chemistry.  Supramolecular Chemistry: From Molecules to Nanomaterials is a new major reference work which links supramolecular chemistry and nanomaterials. Presenting over 150 tutorial articles and spanning over 10 comprehensive sections, this new resource covers: Concepts, Techniques, Molecular recognition, Supramolecular reactivity, Supramolecular aspects of chemical biology, Self processes, Supramolecular devices, Supramolecular materials chemistry, Soft matter, and Nanotechnology.

Software

Wolfram/Alpha

About Wolfram/Alpha  Enter what you want to calculate or know about:

Site-licensed by Swain Library

Swain Library has purchased campus-wide site licenses for several products. Access to all of these products is limited to current Stanford students, faculty, and staff.

Some software licensed by Swain Library is also accessible using a web browser and Citrix plugin via CDSERVER. For more information, please see instructions for off-campus access to resources.

Computer clusters

Swain Library has 13 dual-boot Mac/Windows computers. SUNet ID is required for use. The following software is available (only viewable from on-campus):

Featured App

BrowZine is a tablet application that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries.  Browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries

Websites

This page includes educational resources, web gateways, and organizations.