Chemistry & chemical engineering (general)

Home

Awards & prizes

 

  • The Albert Einstein World Award of Science

    The “Albert Einstein” World Award of Science was created as a means of recognition, and as an incentive to scientific and technological research and development. It takes into special consideration those researches which have brought true benefit and well being to mankind. The recipient of the award is elected by the Interdisciplinary Committee, which is constituted of world-renowned scientists, among them 25 Nobel laureates. The award consists of a Diploma, a Commemorative medal, and $10,000 dollars (US).

  • American Association for the Advancement of Science: Awards
  • American Chemical Society: Funding and Awards
  • American Institute of Chemical Engineers: Awards
  • Baylor University — Robert Foster Cherry Award for Great Teaching

    The Cherry Award program is designed to honor great teachers, to stimulate discussion in the academy about the value of teaching, and to encourage departments and institutions to value their own great teachers. The winner of the Cherry Award will receive a prize of $200,000 and will teach in residence at Baylor University during the 2006 fall or 2007 spring semester; travel expenses and a furnished apartment will be provided. To further Baylor University’s commitment to great teaching, the winner’s home department will receive $25,000.

  • The Enrico Fermi Award

    The Enrico Fermi Award is a Presidential award — one of the oldest and most prestigious science and technology awards given by the U.S. Government. It recognizes scientists of international stature for their lifetimes of exceptional achievement in the development, use, or production of energy (broadly defined to include the science and technology of nuclear, atomic, molecular, and particle interactions and effects). Fermi Award winners receive a citation signed by the President and the Secretary of Energy, a gold medal bearing the likeness of Enrico Fermi, and a $100,000 honorarium. In the event the Award is given to more than one individual in the same year, the recipients share $200,000.

  • Essays on the Nobel Prize (Eugene Garfield)
  • FECS: 100 Distinguished European Chemists
  • Fritz Pregl Prize

    Fritz Pregl Prize is awarded annually since 1931 by the Austrian Academy of Sciences, from the funds left at its disposal by the Nobel prize-winning chemist Fritz Pregl, to an Austrian scientist for distinguished achievements in chemistry.

  • Hertz Foundation Graduate Student Fellowship Awards
  • Ig Nobel Prizes
  • IUPAC Prizes for Young Chemists

    The IUPAC Prize for Young Chemists has been established to encourage outstanding young research scientists at the beginning of their careers. The prizes will be given for the most outstanding Ph.D. theses in the general area of the chemical sciences, as described in a 1000-word essay.

  • The MacArthur Fellows Program

    The MacArthur Fellows Program awards unrestricted fellowships to talented individuals who have shown extraordinary originality and dedication in their creative pursuits and a marked capacity for self-direction. There are three criteria for selection of Fellows: exceptional creativity, promise for important future advances based on a track record of significant accomplishment, and potential for the fellowship to facilitate subsequent creative work. The MacArthur Fellows Program is intended to encourage people of outstanding talent to pursue their own creative, intellectual, and professional inclinations. In keeping with this purpose, the Foundation awards fellowships directly to individuals rather than through institutions. Recipients may be writers, scientists, artists, social scientists, humanists, teachers, entrepreneurs, or those in other fields, with or without institutional affiliations. They may use their fellowship to advance their expertise, engage in bold new work, or, if they wish, to change fields or alter the direction of their careers.

  • National Academy of Engineering Awards
  • National Academy of Sciences Awards
  • National Science and Technology Medals Foundation
  • National Science Foundation (NSF) — Alan T. Waterman Award

    The annual award recognizes an outstanding young researcher in any field of science or engineering supported by the National Science Foundation. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $500,000 over a three year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, medical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient’s choice.

  • National Science Foundation (NSF) — The National Medal of Science

    The National Medal of Science was established by the 86th Congress in 1959 as a Presidential Award to be given to individuals “deserving of special recognition by reason of their outstanding contributions to knowledge in the physical, biological, mathematical, or engineering sciences.”

  • Nobelprize.org: The Official Web Site of the Nobel Foundation
  • The Nobel Prize Internet Archive
  • Reaxys PhD Prize

    The Reaxys PhD Prize is awarded for original and innovative research in organic, organometallic and inorganic chemistry, which demonstrates excellence in methodology and approach by a candidate currently studying for a PhD or having completed a PhD within the last 12 months.

  • Royal Society of Chemistry. Prizes and Awards
  • Stanford University. School of Humanities and Sciences. Awards and Honors | Facts: A Renowned Faculty
  • Stanford University — Undergraduate Award in Analytical Chemistry

    For a junior with a demonstrated aptitude in analytical chemistry; sponsored by the Division of Analytical Chemistry of the American Chemical Society. Award: 8-month subscription to Analytical Chemistry and an honorary membership in the Division of Analytical Chemistry for a like period.

  • Stanford University — Awards for Graduating Seniors
  • S.S. & I.M.F. Marsden Memorial Prize in Chemistry

    for an outstanding undergraduate student who has been involved in significant research in the Chemistry Department, and preferably is going on to graduate school in chemistry. Chemistry’s most prestigious award. Prize: certificate and $1,000.

  • Merck Index Award

    for an outstanding student in chemistry. Award: Merck Index (engraved with name of student).

  • Firestone Medal

    for the best honors thesis (chemistry is pooled with several other departments and programs each with fewer than ten honors theses). Note: honors in chemistry does not require a thesis. Award: engraved bronze medal and $200.

  • The Welch Foundation — Welch Award in Chemistry

    Any person can be considered for the award who has made important chemical research contributions which have had a significant, positive influence on mankind. The award is intended to recognize contributions that have not previously been rewarded in a similar manner.

  • The Welch Foundation — Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research

    The Norman Hackerman Award in Chemical Research was established by the Foundation to honor Scientific Advisory Board Chairman, Norman Hackerman, and to encourage and recognize young chemical scientists in Texas for their past research endeavors. The award will be made on an annual basis, when warranted, to a younger scientist who is age 40 or younger on June 30 for the year in which nominated and should have spent the most recent three (3) years doing chemical research in Texas.

  • The Wolf Prize in Chemistry

    The Wolf Foundation aims to award prizes to outstanding scientists and artists — irrespective of nationality, race, color, religion, sex or political views — for achievements in the interest of mankind and friendly relations among peoples. Since 1978, five or six prizes have been awarded annually in the Sciences. Prize fields comprise: Agriculture, Chemistry, Mathematics, Medicine, and Physics. In the Arts, the prize rotates annually among Architecture, Music, Painting, and Sculpture.

  • Biographical information

    Key Resources

    Chem supplier catalogs

    Chemical Supplier Catalogs and Buyer's Guides

    CEP (Chemical Engineering Progress) Software Directory
    Find descriptions and contact information for chemical engineering software.
    ChemConnect
    Helps companies optimize their purchasing and sales processes for chemical feedstocks, chemicals, plastics, and related products.
    JCE (Journal of Chemical Education) Buyers Guide
    From the Chemical Education Resource Shelf, this resource archive is the source for the JCE’s printed “Buyer’s Guide”.
    ICIS Global Chemical Suppliers
    Scientific Computing and Instrumentation
    Supplier and product directories.
    SelectScience
    Independent product information guide for applied chemists and life scientists. It also provides user’s views online and the option for visitors to post their own experiences.
    Sigma-Aldrich Catalog
    Backed by extensive technical information and service support, they supply over 85,000 biochemicals and organic chemicals to the scientific community.
    ThomasNet
    Comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America. This site includes manufacturers, distributors, and service providers as well as Guides on a range of topics.

    Company information

    EDGAR Database of Corporate Information
    The SEC requires all public companies (except foreign companies and companies with less than $10 million in assets and 500 shareholders) to file registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms electronically through EDGAR. Anyone can access and download this information for free.
    Industrial Quick Search
    An online directory of industrial manufacturers searchable via product, service and region.
    Stanford Graduate School of Business Library: Research Guides
    Database, research, and facilities guides.
    Thomas Register of American Manufacturers
    Thomas Register is the most comprehensive online resource for finding companies and products manufactured in North America, where you can: submit RFQs, place orders online, view and download millions of Computer Aided Design (CAD) drawings, and view thousands of online company catalogs and websites.

    Copyright

    Demonstrations

    Becker Demos. Kirkwood High School, Kirkwood, MO
    Chemical demonstrations: a handbook for teachers of chemistry. Bassam Z. Shakhashiri. Madison, Wis.: University of Wisconsin Press, 1983–
    Location: Swain Chem & Chem Eng Library has v.1–4 on Perm. Reserve & v. 1–3 in the stacks
    Chemical demonstrations: a sourcebook for teachers. Lee R. Summerlin, James L. Ealy, Jr. 2nd ed. Washington, DC: American Chemical Society, 1988–
    Location: Swain Chem & Chem Eng Library QD43 .S77 1988B v. 1–2
    Chemistry Animations and Movies on the Web. Univ. Debrecen, Hungary
    Classic chemistry demonstrations: One hundred tried and tested experiments. compiled by Ted Lister; edited by Catherine O’Driscoll and Neville Reed; designed by Imogen Bertin. London: Education Division, The Royal Society of Chemistry, c1995. 284 p.
    Location: Swain Chem & Chem Eng Library QD43 .C53 1995 F
    Delights of Chemistry. University of Leeds (UK)
    Journal of Chemical Education. Web searchable index for all volumes of JCE. Search tip: “demonstrations” is one of the keywords you can search.
    Lecture Demonstration Movie Sheets. Purdue Univ.
    Tested demonstrations in chemistry and selected demonstrations from The Journal of Chemical Education. Imprint: Granville, OH: Denison University, 1994
    Location: Swain Chem & Chem Eng Library v. 1–2 on Perm. Reserve

    Ethical codes & research conduct

    Graduate studies

    Gradschools.com
    Graduate school directory.
    Peterson’s.com: The Education Supersite
    Graduate program search, test preparation, financial aid information.
    Planning for Graduate Education in Chemistry (ACS)
    A guide and resource if you are considering graduate work in chemistry or related disciplines, such as biochemistry or other biological sciences, chemical engineering, pharmaceutical and medicinal chemistry, toxicology, materials science, chemical physics, and the environmental sciences.
    ScienceCareers: Graduate Programs
    Information on graduate programs.
    Science’s Next Wave: Resources for the Next Generation of Scientists
    A weekly online publication that covers scientific training, career development, and the science job market. The Next Wave is published by SCIENCE magazine and the American Association for the Advancement of Science.
    Stanford University Graduate Student Handbook
    A compendium of information about University policies, requirements, and resources relevant to Stanford graduate students irrespective of their school, department, or program affiliation.

    Lab methods & notebooks

    How to Maintain a Lab Notebook

    Suggestions for Keeping Laboratory Notebooks
    Reasons for maintaining Laboratory Notebooks, and suggestions for how to do so properly. From Stanford University Office of Technology Licensing.
    Proper Maintenance of a Laboratory Notebook
    Important guidelines for keeping laboratory notebooks, and their impact on an inventor’s ability to patent. From Texas A&M Department of Chemistry.
    Guidelines for Keeping a Laboratory Record
    A general description of how to keep a proper laboratory notebook. From Rice University Department of Biochemistry and Cell Biology.
    Writing the Laboratory Notebook
    Some hints for the revival of the Art of the Laboratory Notebook in a school or university undergraduate setting. Draws from Writing the Laboratory Notebook by Howard M. Kanare, available at Swain Library: Q180.58 .K36 1985
    Guidelines for Lab Notebooks
    From UCSF Office of Research.
    Advice on Keeping a Laboratory Notebook
    Includes comparison of different pen inks’ resistance to solvents. From Colin Purrington.
    BookFactory
    Specializes in manufacturing bound Custom Laboratory and Engineering Notebooks built to your specifications.

    Electronic Laboratory Notebooks

    E-Notebook Ultra
    Part of ChemBioOffice Ultra, site-licensed by Swain Library. See ChemBioOffice at Stanford.

    Museums and exhibits

    Organizations: A

    Chemistry and chemical engineering organizations: Professional, Non-Profit, Trade, Non-Governmental & Governmental Organizations

     

    A

    Organizations: B-E

    Chemistry and chemical engineering organizations: Professional, Non-Profit, Trade, Non-Governmental & Governmental Organizations

     

    B

    C

    D

    E

    Organizations: F-I

    Chemistry and chemical engineering organizations: Professional, Non-Profit, Trade, Non-Governmental & Governmental Organizations

     

    F

    G

    H

    I

    Organizations: J-R

    Chemistry and chemical engineering organizations: Professional, Non-Profit, Trade, Non-Governmental & Governmental Organizations

     

    J

    K

    L

    M

    N

    O

    P

    R

    Organizations: S-Y

    Chemistry and chemical engineering organizations: Professional, Non-Profit, Trade, Non-Governmental & Governmental Organizations

     

    S

    T

    U

    V

    W

    Y

    Organizations: national centers

    Periodic tables

    Featured Periodic Table

    Theodor Gray's Periodic Table of the Elements

    Theodor Gray’s Periodic Table of the Elements
    Sometimes referred to as the most beautiful Periodic Table, users can click on any element to see hundreds of pictures, stories and facts. This website is a complete periodic table reference containing just about all the information a student would need to know about each of the chemical elements. It is based on a combination of research-grade technical data with a very large volume of text about, and photographs of, the elements and their applications.

    Recreational reading

    Balloon Molecules
    How to use balloons to build chemical molecule models.
    Bizarre Stuff You Can Make in Your Kitchen
    Warehouse of projects some of the more demented of us tried as young people, collecting many of the classic science projects that have become part of the collective lore of amateur science.
    Comical Compounds Gallery
    Collection of humorous molecules like Mercedes Benzene, Ferrous Wheel, poly(waunacrackr).
    Darwin Awards
    Honoring those who improve our gene pool by removing themselves from it. Of necessity, the honor is generally bestowed posthumously.
    DHMO.org (Dihydrogen Monoxide Research Division)
    Unbiased data clearinghouse and forum for public discussion of the controversy surrounding the dangers of H2O.
    Dilbert
    Official Dilbert website by Scott Adams.
    Improbable Research
    Accompanies print version of Annals of Improbable Research; home of the Ig Nobel Prizes.
    HowStuffWorks
    Award-winning source for clear, reliable explanations of how everything around us actually works.
    The Internet Movie Database
    Database of movies and actors. Only cheaters use this to play the Kevin Bacon game.
    Ironic Times
    Weekly news with a humorous twist.
    Molecules with Silly or Unusual Names
    Actual molecules with funny names. You don’t have to be a chemistry geek to enjoy these, but it probably helps.
    Nearing Zero
    “archive of largely satisfactory (with some exceptions) science and general cartoon foolery”
    New Scientist: Last Word
    Entertaining news stories culled from back issues of New Scientist.
    The New Yorker Cartoon Bank
    More than 20,000 cartoons published in The New Yorker.
    The Onion
    “America’s finest news source.”
    The Periodic Table of Comic Books
    Links to comic book pages involving the elements.
    The Periodic Table of Poetry
    Odes to the elements. Try finding something that rhymes with Molybdenum.
    Piled Higher and Deeper
    What grad school is really like, by a former Stanford grad student.
    A Positron Named Priscilla: Scientific Discovery at the Frontier
    Online book offering a fascinating, readable overview of cutting-edge investigations by many of today’s leading young scientists.
    SatireWire
    Essays, absurd news summaries, and other literary ephemera.
    Science Cartoons Plus
    Collection of science-themed cartoons by S. Harris.
    Science Frontiers: The Unusual & Unexplained
    Bimonthly newsletter providing digests of reports that describe scientific anomalies: those observations and facts that challenge prevailing scientific paradigms.
    Smells Database
    Odors of several chemicals.
    Songs of Cesium
    Songs about the most sublime and electropositive of all true elements, translated from the original Cesish.
    The T.W.I.N.K.I.E.S. Project
    Tests With Inorganic Noxious Kakes In Extreme Situations — experiments conducted during finals week, 1995, at Rice University, to determine the properties of the Twinkie.
    Useless Information
    “Stuff you never needed to know but your life would be incomplete without.”
    ZDNet Reviews
    Reviews of software and consumer electronics.

    Writing & publishing

    Managing References