You are here

Chemistry resources for students

Last Updated: 1-May-2014

Resources for undergraduate students in chemistry.

Subject Librarians

Grace Baysinger
Head Librarian and Bibliographer of the Swain Chemistry and Chemical Engineering Library
(650) 725-1039
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Home

Databases

[Columbus, Ohio : American Chemical Society, Chemical Abstracts Service]
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SciFinder is the most comprehensive database for coverage of chemistry & chemical engineering. It has the world's largest collection of organic and inorganic substance information. The web version of SciFinder provides integrated access to CAPlus, CAS Registry, CASREACT, CHEMLIST, and CHEMCATS which are produced by Chemical Abstracts Service, and to MEDLINE which is produced by the U.S. National Library of Medicine. Sources covered in SciFinder include 10,000 journals, patents from 63 patent authorities, book chapters, conference proceedings, dissertations, evaluated reference works, technical reports, as well as book reviews and biographical information. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[Frankfurt, Germany ; New York, NY] : Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Available via the web, Reaxys Xcelerate contains an extensive repository of experimentally validated data that chemists need including structures, reactions (including multi-step reactions) and physical properties. Reaxys was formed by the merger of three databases: Beilstein Handbook of Organic Chemistry, Gmelin Handbook of Inorganic and Organometallic Chemistry, and the Chemistry Patent database. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Search over 12,000 core journals across the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities to find the high quality research. Move backward/forward in time using cited/citing reference identified by researchers. Updated weekly, includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1899-present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1898-present), Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science (1990-present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities (1990-present), Book Citation Index (2005-present), Index Chemicus (1993-present), and Current Chemical Reactions (1985-present; also includes Institut National de la Propriete Industrielle structure data back to 1840)). (Structure searching)
Santa Fe, N.M.: Deep Web Technologies
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
xSearch enables Stanford students and researchers to search multiple resources at one time.  The 250+ resources in xSearch include abstracts and indexes, full-text ejournal and ebook sites, patents, technical reports, reference materials, plus more.

Books

SearchWorks

SearchWorks, the library catalog for the Stanford Libraries includes authors, titles, descriptions, and subjects for books, journals, conference proceedings, theses, etc.  Please choose a database to find journal articles.  Use xSearch for full-text searching of ebooks and journals.

SearchWorks - preview

New analytical chemistry books at the Swain Library

New biochemistry books at the Swain Library

  1. Catherine H. Middlecamp [and 6 others].. 2015

  2. Donald Voet, Judith G. Voet, Charlotte W. Pratt. 2013

  3. David L. Van Vranken and Gregory A. Weiss. 2013

  4. David L. Nelson, Michael M. Cox.. 2013

  5. Jeremy M. Berg, John L. Tymoczko, Lubert Stryer ; with Gregory J. Gatto, Jr.. 2012

New catalysis books at the Swain Library

New inorganic chemistry books at the Swain Library

  1. Wai-Kee Li ... [et al.].. 2013

  2. David W.H. Rankin, Norbert W. Mitzel, Carole A. Morrison. 2013

  3. Catherine E. Housecroft and Alan G. Sharpe. 2012

  4. Piero Zanello and Fabrizia Fabrizi de Biani and Carlo Nervi. 2012

New organic chemistry books at the Swain Library

  1. James W. Zubrick, Hudson Valley Community College. 2014

  2. Paula Yurkanis Bruice. 2014

  3. T.W. Graham Solomons, University of South Florida, Craig B. Fryhle, Pacific Lutheran University, Scott A. Snyder, Columbia University. 2014

  4. Francis A. Carey, University of Virginia, Robert M. Giuliano, Villanova University. 2014

  5. Janice Gorzynski Smith. 2014

New physical chemistry books at the Swain Library

  1. Peter Atkins, Julio de Paula. 2014

  2. Nivaldo J. Tro, Westmont College. 2014

  3. edited by Tanmoy Chakraborty, PhD, Michael J. Bucknum, PhD, and Eduardo A. Castro, PhD.. 2014

  4. Peter Atkins. 2014

  5. Raymond Chang (Williams College), John W. Thoman, Jr. (Williams College). 2014

New polymer chemistry books at the Swain Library

  1. Charles E. Carraher Jr.. 2014

  2. William Barford. 2013

  3. Charles E. Carraher. 2013

  4. Manas Chanda. 2013

  5. Xiao Dong Chen, Monash University, Australia, Aditya Putranto, Monash University, Australia. 2013

Journals

Encyclopedias

[United States] : McGraw-Hill, [2000?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
AccessScience gathers and synthesizes vast amounts of information, and organizes it to give you fast, easy and accurate access to authoritative articles in all major areas of science and technology.  The McGraw-Hill Dictionary of scientific & technical terms, 5th ed, is integrated into AccessScience.
3rd ed. San Diego : Academic Press, c2002.
Earth Sciences Library (Branner) » Reference (non-circulating)
"Although the World Wide Web is a mighty river of information and data, there was still a great need for our articles, which comprehensively explain, integrate, and provide scientific and mathematical background and perspective.  Over 1000 authors prepared the manuscripts at an average length of 17-18 pages. The manuscripts were peer reviewed, indexed, and published. The result is the eighteen volume work, of over 14,000 pages, comprising the Third Edition.
7th ed. Weinheim, Germany : Wiley-VCH ; New York : J. Wiley & Sons, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This state-of-the-art reference work details the science and technology in all areas of industrial chemistry. Subject areas include: inorganic and organic chemicals, advanced materials, pharmaceuticals, polymers and plastics, metals and alloys, biotechnology and biotechnological products, food chemistry, process engineering and unit operations, analytical methods, environmental protection, etc."
Van Nostrand's Encyclopedia of Chemistry
5th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2005.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD4 .V36 2005
Scientists, engineers, and technologists in many fields need a knowledge of chemistry because of the importance of chemistry in diverse technologies. In addition, to "classical" topics of chemistry, the new Encyclopedia covers nanotechnology, fuel cell technology, green chemistry, forensic chemistry, supramolecular chemistry, combinatorial chemistry, materials chemistry, and proteomics. This fifth print edition has been revised and updated, and includes over 200 new articles, as well as 1,300 updated articles.

Handbooks

Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). (Structure searching)
Cleveland, Ohio, CRC Press.
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » QD65 .H3 95TH 2014/2015
Continues to be the most accurate, reliable and current resource available on data needed by chemists, physicists and engineers. It provides wide coverage of data on properties of inorganic and organic compounds. Now searchable by chemical structure. Note: Section 18 contains sources of physical and chemical data.
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Knovel provides access to over 2,000 leading reference works and databases from over 50 international publishers and professional societies through a single interface. Includes the ability to search numeric data.  Some books have interactive tables.
Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.

Reference

3rd ed. / Washington, DC : American Chemical Society ; Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Request at circulation desk » QD8.5 .A25 2006
"An essential constant in this changing environment is the requirement that information remain accurate, clear, unambiguous, and ethically sound. The ACS Style Guide is the definitive source for all information needed to write, review, submit, and edit scholarly and scientific manuscripts. It is also an excellent resource for learning how to effectively communicate scientific information." (publisher's description)
Premium collection Oxford ; New York, N.Y.: Oxford University Press, c2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Oxford Reference Online brings together language and subject reference works from one of the world's biggest and most trusted reference publishers into a single cross-searchable resource. The Premium Collection offers a huge range of fully-indexed, extensively linked, up to date, and cross-searchable dictionary, language reference, and subject reference works published by Oxford University Press.

* Analytical Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Amsterdam ; Burlington, Mass. : Elsevier, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
In its four volumes, this major reference work contains a complete treatment of the theory and methodology of sampling in all physical phases and the theory of sample preparation for all major extraction techniques. Fundamentals of sampling and sample preparation are reinforced through comprehensive sections dealing with Biological and Medical, Environmental and Forensic, and Food and Beverage applications.
[Hoboken, N.J.?] : John Wiley & Sons.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia is the most comprehensive analytical chemistry reference available, covering all aspects from theory and instrumentation through to applications and techniques. The chemistry and techniques are described as performed in the laboratory, in the field, or by remote sensing. The level of detail is similar to that of a laboratory protocol and, together with the cited references, will support the analysis of complex inorganic, organic and biological structures by researchers.

Databases

[London] : Royal Society of Chemistry
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Items in Analytical Abstracts fall into three main categories: Journal articles, technical reports, and books. More than 250 key international journals are scanned regularly by the Analytical Abstracts editorial team. Over 75% of the original material is published in English, with other major languages being French and German, Russian and other eastern European languages, Chinese, and Japanese." Updated monthly. Covers 1980-present.

Handbooks

2nd ed. / New York : McGraw-Hill, c2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD78 .P37 2004
This essential resource for the analytical chemist has been revised and updated with 40 percent new material. Readers will find all the conventional wet and instrumental techniques in one exhaustive reference along with all the critical data needed to apply them. Worked examples, troubleshooting tips, and numerous tables and charts are provided for easy access to the data.
Arlington, Va. : AOAC International, 1995-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » S587 .A7 ED.18 2005
A standard resource for internationally validated and standardized analytical methods for over 100 years. The 18th edition contains over 3,000 methods, divided into more than 50 categories. Each method gives procedural directions for the specific analysis and at least one bibliographic reference. Cross-references to other related procedures are also included, when applicable.

* Biochemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Encyclopedia of Biological Chemistry 2nd Edition
Second edition.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Representing the current state of a dynamic and crucial field of study, the 2nd edition of this encyclopedia pulls together over 500 articles that help define and explore contemporary biochemistry.  It acknowledges that understanding every living process-from physiology, to immunology, and genetics is impossible without a grasp on the basic chemistry that provides its underpinning.  Written by experts, each article provides an up-to-date snapshot of a given topic, as well as suggestions for further readings for students and researchers wishing to go into greater depth. 
[S.l.] : Wiley, c1999-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Spanning the entire spectrum of the life sciences, ELS is a monthly-updating reference work containing over 4,500 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles written by leaders in the field. ELS has articles on these subject areas: Biochemistry, Cell Biology, Developmental Biology, Ecology, Evolution and Diversity of Life, Genetics and Disease, Genetics and Molecular Biology, Immunology, Microbiology, Neuroscience, Plant Science, Science and Society, Structural Biology, and Virology.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley & Sons, c2009.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QP512 .W48 2009 V.1
This encyclopedia illuminates the crucial role of chemistry and chemical techniques in the life sciences. WECB is an evolving online database of information, combining the most useful features of traditional reference works and review journals in a compelling format designed to exploit the full potential of the online medium. Includes extensive linking to the primary literature and to other online resources.

Handbooks

Rahway, N.J. : Merck & Co., 1968-
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » RS356 .M524 2001
The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact.  Each monograph in this authoritative reference source is a concise description of a single substance or a small group of closely related compounds. There is also a supplement of Organic Name Reactions.

Color atlases from Thieme

  1. Torsten B. Moeller, Emil Reif. 2014

  2. Jan Koolman, Klaus-Heinrich Roehm. 2013

  3. Eberhard Passarge. 2013

  4. Berthold Block ; [translator, Terry C. Telger].. 2012

* Catalysis

Encyclopedias and major reference works

[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley-Interscience
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Encyclopedia of Catalysis is a definitive A-to-Z reference work covering the most significant aspects of homogeneous, heterogeneous, asymmetric, biomimetic, and biological catalysis. The principles of catalysis, the scope of catalytic reactions, the preparation, characterization, and use of catalysts including catalytic technology, the modeling of catalytic processes, and related reaction engineering techniques are included.

Handbooks

2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : [Great Britain] : Wiley-VCH, 2002.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD505 .A67 2002 V.1
Homogeneous catalysis is the success story of organometallic chemistry. Bulk and fine chemicals, and even natural products are being produced via homogeneous organometallic catalysis. This handbook contains both basic research and industrial applications. It also has both state-of-the-art and concise treatment of important catalytic reactions and processes.
Handbook of green chemistry
[Place of publication not identified] : John Wiley and Sons, 2010-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook is a one-stop resource covering green catalysis, green solvents, green processes, and green products. [Set I: Green catalysis] v. 1. Homogeneous catalysis; v. 2. Heterogeneous catalysis; v. 3. Biocatalysis   [Set II: Green solvents]  v. 4. Supercritical solvents; v. 5. Reactions in water; v. 6. Ionic liquids   [Set III: Green processes] v. 7. Green synthesis; v. 8. Bioinspired processes; v. 9. Designing safer chemicals   [Set IV: Green products] v. 10. Green engineering; v. 11. Green nanoscience; v. 12. Sustainable product design.
2nd, completely rev. and enl. ed. Weinheim : Wiley-VCH ; [Chichester : ǂb John Wiley, distributor], c2008.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This 8 volume handbook provides easily searchable yet comprehensive information. Major topics include: Preparation of Solid Catalysts, Characterization of Solid Catalysts, Model Systems, Elementary Steps and Mechanisms, Kinetics and Transport Processes, Deactivation and Regeneration, Special Catalytic Systems, Laboratory Reactors, Reaction Engineering, Environmental Catalysis, Inorganic Reactions, Energy-related Catalysis, and Organic Reactions.

* Inorganic Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

[Place of publication not identified] : Wiley.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Updated quarterly, the Encyclopedia of Inorganic and Bioinorganic Chemistry is the result of a merger of the Encyclopedia of Inorganic Chemistry and the Handbook of Metalloproteins. Information is grouped specifically for each major element; by its relations within the periodic table such as electronic structure or coordination chemistry; by detailed descriptions of singular compounds or by the applications or methods of the inorganic or bioinorganic material.
Deerfield Beach, Fla. : VCH Publishers, c1986-
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks
Rather than producing a collection of unrelated review articles, this series creates a framework that reflects the creative potential of this scientific discipline. In a clear, concise, and highly organized manner, it provides an in-depth treatment of bond formation reactions categorized by element type. The series covers all areas of inorganic chemistry including chemistry of the elements, coordination compounds, donor-acceptor adducts, organometallic, polymer and solid-state material, and compounds relevant to bioinorganic chemistry. A unique index system provides users with several fast options for accessing information on forming any bond type, compound, or reaction.
New York [etc.] Wiley [etc.] 1939-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD156 .I56 V.35 2010
This series provides detailed foolproof information needed by lab chemists on procedures for the preparation of important and timely inorganic compounds. With recent volumes covering the latest hot topics and developing areas such as organometallic chemistry, main group chemistry and ligands, co-ordination chemistry and applications in material science, this series is also of use to organic and organometallic chemists, biochemists and materials scientists.

Handbooks

Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). (Structure searching)
Handbook of Inorganic Compounds
2nd ed. Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press, c2011.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD155.5 .H36 2011
This updated edition of the Handbook of Inorganic Compounds is the perfect reference for anyone that needs property data for compounds, CASRN numbers for computer or other searches, a consistent tabulation of molecular weights to synthesize inorganic materials on a laboratory scale, or data related to physical and chemical properties. Fully revised, the second edition includes new data on inorganic optical materials, radiation detection inorganics, thermochromic compounds, piezochromic compounds, catalysts, superconductors, and luminescent (fluorescent and phosphorescent) inorganics.
Blah blah blah
Karlsruhe : Fachinformationszentrum ; Gaithersburg : NIST,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"ICSD (Inorganic Crystal Structure Database) is the world's largest comprehensive database on the complete structural information for crystalline inorganic compounds. The data are carefully evaluated from relevant scientific literature. Besides the bibliographic information each dataset contains compound name, molecular formula, as well as space group, unit cell parameters, atomic coordinates and temperature factors."

* Organic Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

New York : John Wiley & Sons, Inc., 1921-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD262 .O723 V.90 2013
"Organic Syntheses describes checked and edited experimental procedures, spanning a broad range of synthetic methodologies, and provides chemists with a compendium of new or little known experimental procedures which lead to useful compounds or that illustrate important new developments in methodology. For every procedure, safety warnings are presented along with detailed descriptions for the preparation, purification, and identification of the compound in question. Additionally, special reaction conditions are detailed, along with the source of reagents, helpful waste disposal guidelines, discussions of results, references to the primary literature, and an appendix of nomenclature and registry numbers. The print version was published in Annual volumes and Collective Volumes. Online access covers, Vol. 1, 1921-present." (Structure Searching)
New York : John Wiley & Sons, 1942-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD251 .O7 V.84 2014
"Currently containing over 140,000 reactions, Organic Reactions is a comprehensive collection of important synthetic reactions, together with a critical discussion of the reaction and tables that organize all published examples of the topic reactions. Chapters that focus on reactions of current interest are solicited by the board of editors from leading chemists worldwide. The publication process entails a comprehensive peer-review process, ensuring the high quality and attention to detail for which this series is noted. Comprehensive coverage of all examples of a given reaction is provided in tabular form. In addition to providing reaction scope, stereochemical aspects, and side reactions, a selection of representative experimental conditions are given. Online access covers Vol. 25, 1977-present. Also see: Organic Reactions Wiki to view pre-production chapters and condensed versions of published articles."

Handbooks

Web version. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes descriptive and numerical data on the chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. CCD online includes: organic compounds (269,000 records); natural products (178,000 records); inorganic and organometallic compounds (103,000 records); drugs (44,000 records); and analytical reagents (14,000 records). (Structure searching)
Web version 6.0. Boca Raton, FL : Chapman & Hall/CRC Press, c2002.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
POC is a database that contains over 29,000 of the most commonly sought organic compounds, featuring physical data, spectral data, and structures. With a high quality display and powerful search capabilities, it acts as an easy-to-use tool for identifying unknown compounds or for locating additional data and references for a known compound. Search by spectral peak, molecular formula/elements, properties, and substructure. (Structure searching)
Japan : AIST
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
SDBS includes 6 different types of spectra under a directory of the compounds. The six spectra are as follows, an electron impact Mass spectrum (EI-MS), a Fourier transform infrared spectrum (FT-IR), a 1H nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectrum, a 13C NMR spectrum, a laser Raman spectrum, and an electron spin resonance (ESR) spectrum. It is possible to search by compound name, molecular formula, molecular weight, CAS Registry Number, number of atoms, and spectral peaks.

Advanced Organic Chemistry Resources

Stuttgart ; New York : Thieme.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Science of Synthesis (SoS) provides a critical review of synthetic methodology developed to-date in the fields of organic and organometallic chemistry. Features include: Selection of molecular transformations by world-renowned experts with elaboration on scope and limitations; Full-text descriptions of synthetic methods with practical experimental procedures immediately applicable in the lab; Community of over 1,000 experts involved in the review and updating of methods; Logical organization of the synthetic methods for each functional group; and Intuitive search functions to allow rapid lead generation and route optimization."  Please see Science of Synthesis at Stanford to view online help, learn more about content, and see what's new. (Structure and Reaction Searching)
[New York] : John Wiley & Sons, c2001-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"This on-line work utilizes the full potential of the web by allowing alphanumeric searches through e-EROS and across all Wiley products, and by allowing chemical structure, substructure and reaction searching straight from a chemist's desktop. It contains a database of around 70,000 reactions and around 4000 of the most frequently consulted reagents and is fully searchable by structure and substructure, reagent, reaction type, experimental conditions etc. and allows sophisticated full text searches. e-EROS offers a systematic and exhaustive coverage of reagents used in organic synthesis. The Editorial Board are keeping e-EROS up-to-date by regularly adding new reagents and catalysts, and by updating existing articles whenever felt necessary. The A to Z listing covers classical reagents, new "designer" reagents and catalysts." (Structure Searching)
4th ed. / Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience, c2007.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » QD262 .G665 2007
The Fourth Edition of Greene's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis continues to be an indispensable reference for controlling the reactivity of the most common functional groups during a synthetic sequence.
Hoboken, N.J. : John Wiley, c2009.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"With its coverage of 701 organic name reactions and reagents, this online reference is the largest, most up-to-date work of its kind. It offers students and professional chemists a valuable resource for conducting experiments and performing a broad range of applications, from pharmaceuticals to plastics to pesticides. Each reaction listing is clearly organized into uniform sections that allow readers to quickly gather the information they need to conduct their own experimental procedures."
Cambridge : Cambridge Crystallographic Data Centre,
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Permanent reserve » QD921 .C36 2014
"The CSD is the world repository of small molecule crystal structures. Stanford has a license to the web version of CSD which is updated weekly. We also have a site license for the Cambridge Crystallographic Database System, Mercury, DASH, Hermes, and SuperStar. (Structure Searching)

* Physical Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

2nd ed. Boca Raton : Chapman & Hall/CRC, c2003.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A compendium of mathematical definitions, formulas, figures, tabulations, and references, its informal style makes it accessible to a broad spectrum of readers with a diverse range of mathematical backgrounds and interests. It offers concise, readable definitions; weaves mathematical connections through the physical sciences; supplies bibliographies following each entry; profiles a multidisciplinary approach regarding the use of mathematics; provides 110,000 cross-references to other topics and sources; and contains more 3,000 illustrations, equations, figures, derivations, and graphics.
Swain - Encyclopedia of Chemical Physics
Bristol ; Philadelphia : Institute of Physics Pub., c2001.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD451 .E53 2001 V.1
This encyclopedia quickly provides the basics, defines the scope of each subdiscipline, and indicates where to go for a more complete and detailed explanation. Content is grouped into three sections: fundamentals, methods, and applications.
Weinheim : Cambridge : Wiley-VCH, 2002-
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QD553 .E53 2002
This 11 volume work includes: Fundamentals in electrochemistry, Instrumentation, Electroanalytical chemistry, Corrosion and oxide films, Electrochemical engineering, Semiconductor electrodes / Electrodes and modified electrodes, Photoelectrochemistry, and organic electrochemistry/Bioelectrochemistry.
Expanded online ed. New York : Wiley InterScience.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Since the original publication of this encyclopedia in 1996, the area of magnetic resonance has seen extensive developments and now encompasses a whole range of techniques, NMR, MRI, ESR / EPR, NQR and MSR. This expanded online edition covers all the essential information about the theory, applications and history of magnetic resonance.
San Diego, CA : Academic Press, c2000.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QD95 .E55 2000 V.1
Short articles, each covering one aspect of spectroscopy, provide the professional spectroscopist working in academia or industry with the essential facts and background on areas of spectroscopy peripheral to their own. References at the end of each article directs the reader to the level of detail required for professional purposes.

Handbooks

Tables of physical and Chemical Constants
16th ed. Essex, England ; New York : Longman Scientific & Technical, c1995.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Reference (non-circulating) » QC61 .K3 1995
The 16th edition (published 1995) is crammed full of tables of data, formulae, graphs and charts. This information span topics from fundamental constants to fibre optics, superconductivity to Raman spectroscopy and many others. The contents will be regularly reviewed and updated to reflect advances and developments in the fields of physics and chemistry.
Handbook of Electrochemistry
1st ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, 2007.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This handbook serves as a source of electrochemical information, providing details of experimental considerations, representative calculations, and illustrations of the possibilities available in electrochemical experimentation. The book is divided into five parts: Fundamentals, Laboratory Practical, Techniques, Applications, and Data.
Infotherm
Berlin : Fiz Chemie
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Infotherm contains property data for more than 30,000 pure substances and compounds, including PVT-properties, phase equilibria, transport and surface properties, caloric properties, acoustic and optical properties. Searchable by compound, molecular formula, CAS registry number in combination with chemical state, conditions, properties, and/or system. Covers 1919-present.
Physical Chemists Toolbox
Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, 2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covering the basic concepts and working tools in the physical sciences, this reference is a unique, indispensable guide for students and researchers in chemistry, physics, and related disciplines. Everyone from novices to experienced researchers can turn to this book to find the essential equations, theories, and working tools needed to conduct and interpret contemporary research. Readers gain access to not only the core concepts of the physical sciences, but also the underlying mathematics. Among the topics addressed are mechanics, special relativity, electricity and magnetism, quantum chemistry, thermodynamics, electrochemistry, symmetry, solid state physics, and electronics. The book also addresses energy and electrical sources, detectors, and algorithms. Moreover, it presents state-of-the-technology instrumentation and techniques needed to conduct successful experiments.

Advanced Physical Chemistry Resource

Berlin : Springer, 2009-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"SpringerMaterials is based on the Landolt-Börnstein New Series, the unique, fully evaluated data collection in all areas of physical sciences and engineering. SpringerMaterials also comprises the Dortmund Data Bank Software & Separation Technology, a Database on Thermophysical Properties and the Linus Pauling Files, a Database on Inorganic Solid Phases and chemical safety data. Print copy of Landolt-Bornstein is available at the Swain Library." (Structure Searching)

* Polymer Chemistry

Encyclopedias and major reference works

Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley-Interscience.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This encyclopedia presents over 500 articles addressing all areas of polymer science, providing information about polymers, plastics, fibers, biomaterials, elastomers, and polymerization processes. New topics added include nanotechnology, new imaging and analytical techniques, new methods of controlled polymer architecture, and biomimetics.
Polymer science
Amsterdam ; Waltham, MA : Elsevier Science, c2012.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This Comprehensive Reference covers all aspects of polymer science from chemistry/chemical engineering to materials science, biological aspects, applications and fate of polymers in the environment. There are over 250 chapters that cover the following topics: Basic Concepts and Polymer Properties, Polymer Characterization, Chain Polymerization of Vinyl Monomers, Ring-opening polymerization and special polymerization processes, Polycondensation, Macromolecular Architectures and Soft Nano-objects, Nanostructured Polymer Materials and Thin Films, Polymers for Advanced Functional Materials, Polymers in Biology and Medicine, Polymers for a Sustainable Environment and Green Energy.
Weinheim ; Chichester : Wiley-VCH, c2001-
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP801 .B69 B563 2001 INDEX
"Biopolymers provides a comprehensive overview of the occurrence, metabolism, and applications of all important biopolymer classes. This reference work treats processes for biotechnological production, isolation from organisms and modification, material properties and technical uses in areas such as chemical and food industries, medicine, pharmacy, and materials science."

Handbooks

Wiley database of polymer properties
[Hoboken, N.J.] : Wiley, c2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Comprehensive source of physical property data for polymers commercially available, with experimentally determined and selected data for over 2,500 polymers. The initial content is derived from the Polymer Handbook. The database will be updated quarterly. Search features include the ability to search for polymers matching specific properties or ranges of properties, the ability to create custom tables for all the properties of a specific polymer, and the ability to access the full-text html for references to the primary literature via CrossRef.

Software

Desktop Software

  • Access software from a cluster computer (in libraries, residence halls, academic computing areas)
  • Use software via website and Citrix plugin.  Go to http://cdserver.stanford.edu  Login with SUNet ID and open Chemistry folder
  • Install software on your computer. 
Cambridge, MA : CambridgeSoft
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Stanford has campus-wide site license to ChemBioOffice Ultra for Windows and ChemBioDraw Ultra for Macs. A tutorial on how to draw substances and how to do spectral predictions using ChemBioDraw Ultra is on the Sample Searches & Tutorials page of this guide for Chem 130 students. More documentation and training materials are also available. Please note: Access to training materials are limited to current students, faculty, and staff at Stanford.

Instructions to Download & Install ChemBioDraw Ultra

1. Account Verification: go to http://sitelicense.cambridgesoft.com/sitelicense.cfm?sid=188 and enter Stanford domain email address. 

2.  Create Account/login to CambridgeSoft website and then view "Services" on middle right side of page.

    a. Download software: click on "My Site License"

    b. Get Registration Code: click on "My Downloads."  (Please contact Grace Baysinger (graceb@stanford.edu) if you do not see a Registration Code.)

3.  Copy and paste Registration Code and activate software during installation process.

Step-by-Step Instructions Plus Screenshots on How to Download and Install ChemBioDraw Ultra

Downloading and Installing ChemBioOffice Ultra
We have a campus-wide site license for ACD Spectrus Software and ACD’s NMR Prediction Suite. The desktop software is only available in PC format. Users must go to Swain Library in person to receive license key.  Also see: Spectrus Processor NMR Flyer
PyMOL
[S.l.] : Schrodinger
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
PyMOL is molecular visualization software that is available in Mac, PC, and Linux. Stanford has a campus-wide site license that allows users to download the latest version of the software as well as documentation on how to use PyMOL. For more information, please see the PyMOL wiki and the PyMOL website

Prediction Software on the Web

2.0. [Toronto, Canada] : ACD.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The online ACD/I-lab prediction engine may be used to predict physicochemical properties, NMR spectra and chemical shifts and ADME toxicities. It also assesses prediction reliability and includes searchable content databases.  Also see: iLab Flyer
BrowZine
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
BrowZine is a tablet application that lets you browse, read and monitor thousands of scholarly journals available from the Stanford University Libraries.  Browse titles by subject to easily find journals of interest, create a personal bookshelf of favorite journals, be alerted when a new issue of a journal is published, save articles in your personal library.  BrowZine can easily be synced up with Box.com, Mendeley, Zotero, and other services to help keep all of your information together in one place. For installation details, please see this blog post: BrowZine table App Now Available from the Stanford Libraries