You are here

Children's books about science

Last Updated: 14-Apr-2014

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in the Cubberley Education Library about science and scientists.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Operations Manager
(650) 723-2121 (650) 723-9463

Recently received

Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC16 .E5 B437 2013
Lexile Measure AD680L, Ages 5-8; Gr.1-3
Cover image of Maz goes to the moon
Planetarium show ed. Boulder, Colo. : Big Kid Science, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E664483 M39 2013
Ages 5-14; gr.k-8
Science; Biology; Lexile measure IG1030L; Ages 8-10; gr.3-6
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QE707 .B77 F47 2012
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 5-9, gr. 1-4
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .C48 H66 2012
Awards: Robert F. Sibert Informational Award Honor Book (2013); YALSA Award for Excelleing in Nonfiction for Young Adults Finalist (2013); Lexile measure 1150; Ages 10 and up, gr. 7-12

Elementary level

Cover image of The amazing circulatory system
New York : Crabtree Pub. Co., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP103 .B88 2009
Lexile measure 800; Ages 8-11; Book level 5; General nonfiction, gr. 2-5
St. Catherines, Ontario ; New York : Crabtree Pub., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP361.5 .B87 2009
Lexile measure 770; Ages 8-11; Book level 5.3; General nonfiction, gr. 2-5
Cover image of The beetle book
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL576.2 .J46 2012
Lexile measure AD980; Ages 5-12, gr. 2-5
Toronto ; Tonawanda, NY : Kids Can Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » T173.8 .L44 2011 F
Ages 8-11; Informational science and technology, gr. 3-6
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN293 .D43 2008
Lexile measure 1180; ages 10-18; book level 8.3; nonfiction, gr. 4-7
New York : H. Holt, 1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QK495 .C11 G85 1993
Lexile measure 790; Grade level 4.8; Nonfiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. 3-5
Boston, [MA] : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U53 M2274 2010
Lexile measure 900; Book level 4.9; Ages 5-9, gr. 3-5
Cover image of The circulatory system
Edina, Minn. : Abdo Pub., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP103 .P375 2007
book level 5.2; general nonfiction, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB461 .C45 2011
Ages 5-9, gr. K-3
New York : Children's Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP145 .T37 2008
Lexile measure 720; ages 8-11; general nonfiction, gr. 2-5
Minneapolis : Lerner Publications Co., c2005
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP145 .J64 2006
Lexile measure 600; ages 7-12; book level 4.4; general nonfiction, gr. 1-5
New York : Scholastic, c1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GB662.3 .W53 1997 F
Lexile measure 870; Ages 4-11; Book level 5.8;Informational, gr. 3-6
Cover image of The exciting endocrine system
New York : Crabtree Pub., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP187 .B87 2009
Lexile measure 900; ages 8-11; book level 6.2; general nonfiction, gr. 2-5
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C432 W427 2011
Awards: A Junior Library Guild Selection; Ages 10 and up, gr. 4-6
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL112 .B468 2004 F
Lexile measure 900; Ages 5-12; Grade level 3.6; General nonfiction, gr. 3-6
New York, NY : Scholastic Nonfiction, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL668 .E2 B47 2008
Lexile measure 890; ages 5-12; book level 4.8; informational, gr. 2-4
Minneapolis, Minn. : Picture Window Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RA784 .T683 2009
Lexile measure 670; ages 3-7; book level 2.6, gr. PreK-1
Cover image of Genius of Islam
New York : Alfred A. Knopf, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BP163 .B2684 2011
Lexile measure 1210; Book level 8.8, Ages 8 and up; gr. 3-6
New York : Viking, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A7326 G48 2006
Physical Description: 1 v. (unpaged) : col. ill. ; 27 cm.; ages 3-6, gr. PreK-K
Minneapolis, Minn. : Picture Window Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RA777 .T68 2009
Lexile Measure 630; ages 3-7; book level 2.5, gr. PreK-1
1st ed. New York : HarperCollins Publishers, c1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP141 .R536 1999
Lexile measure 570; Ages 5-9; Book level 4.2; General nonfiction, gr. K-2
London : Franklin Watts, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP111.6 .B35 2005
Ages 8-12; book level 6.5; general nonfiction, gr. 2-6
Cover image of How did that get in my lunchbox
1st U.S. ed., Reinforced trade ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TX355 .B97 2011
Lexile measure 870; Book level 4.6; Ages 5-9, gr. K-3
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL49 .J455 2008
Lexile measure 1060; ages 4-12; book level 6.3, gr. K-3
1st ed. Nevada City, CA : Dawn Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.8 .C5 C475 2008
Lexile measure 1170; ages 10-14; book level 8.4, gr. 4-7
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TR729 .W54 H33 2010
Book level 6.2; Ages 8-11, gr. 2-4
1st ed. New York : Scholastic, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL799 .M6 M34 2005
Lexile measure 690; Ages 4-10; Grade level 2.7; Nonfiction, gr. K-3
Cover image of Island
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH198 .G3 C44 2012
Lexile measure 900; Ages 6-9, gr. 2-4
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6923 .L33 B97 2003 F
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 10-14; Grade level 5.9; Nonfiction, gr. 4-8
New York : Crabtree Pub., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .S473 K33 2007
Lexile measure 880; Ages 8-12; Book level 5.5; Nonfiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. 3-6
New York : Viking Children's Book, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QD22 .C8 K75 2007
Ages 9-12; biography, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C35848 M4 2011
Awards: Caldecott Honor, 2012.; Awards: Charlotte Zolotow Award, 2012.; Lexile measure 740; Book level 3.2; Ages 3-6; Biography, gr. K-2
Cover image of Micro monsters
London : Kingfisher, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL467.2 .M52 2009
Gr. 3-6
New York : Crabtree Pub., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP301 .B93 2009
Lexile measure 710; Ages 8-11; Book level 4.9; General nonfiction, gr. 2-5
New York : Harper Arco Iris, c1995.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP434 .A4318 1995
Gr. K-2
New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TL789.8 .U6 F56 2009 F
Lexile measure 990; ages 4-9; book level 4.8; informational, gr. K-3
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL536 .S54 2005
Lexile measure 920; Ages 6-11; Grade level 5.9; General nonfiction, gr. 3-5
New York : Blue Sky Press, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TJ810.3 .B36 2004
Lexile measure 690; Ages 5-10; Grade level 2.7; Informational, Nonfiction, gr. 1-3
Cover image of Nat Geo wild animal atlas
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH541.14 .W55 2010 F
Ages 8-12, gr. K-5
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » T40 .L46 B37 2009
Lexile: 930; Ages 5-10; Science, gr. 1-3
Minneapolis : Lerner Pub. Co., 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP361.5 .R53 2005
Lexile measure 670; Ages 7-12; Grade level 3.5; General nonfiction, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Blue Sky Press, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH515 .B26 2012
Lexile measure 770; Ages 5-8, gr. K-3
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .U57 H38 2006
Lexile measure 920; Book level 5.4; Ages 5-10, gr. K-5
Cover image of The penguin
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .S473 F65813 2004
Lexile measure 820; Ages 5-10; Grade level 4.5; General nonfiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, c2008 +
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » SB63 .M22 N58 2008
Lexile measure 1030; ages 5-12; book level 5.9, gr. K-3
New York, NY : Crabtree Pub., c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP121 .B94 2009
Lexile measure 740; ages 8-11; book level 4.8; general nonfiction, gr. 2-5
Logan, Iowa : Perfection Learning, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP121 .G57 2004
Gr. 2-5
Edina, Minn. : Abdo Pub., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP121 .P45 2007
Ages 9-12; book level 5; general nonfiction, gr. 2-5
Cover image of Saving the Baghdad Zoo
1st ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL76.5 .I722 B342 2010
Ages 8-12; Book level 7.1, gr. 4-7
Toronto : Maple Tree Press, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.8 .G56 T46 2007
Ages 9-14; book level 7.6; nonfiction, gr. 3-7
English-language ed. New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2666 .R584 A61513 2006 F
Book level 3.1; Ages 5-10, gr. K-4
New York : Children's Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QR46 .T38 2005
Gr. 2-5
Morton Grove, Ill. : Albert Whitman & Co., 2007, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP37 .M347 2007
Gr. 1-3
London : Usborne ; Tulsa, Okla. : EDC Pub., 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QM27 .C48 2004
Ages 10 and up, gr. 4-8
[Newly illustrated ed.]. New York : HarperCollins, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP145 .S49 2001
Lexile measure 520; ages 5-8; book level 3.7; general nonfiction, gr. 1-3
Berkeley, Calif. : Tricycle Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TX353 .M438 2008
Lexile measure 1150; ages 10-up, gr. 4-8
Cover image of When the wolves returned
New York : Walker : Distributed to the trade by Macmillan, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL737 .C22 P385 2008
Lexile measure 1040; age 6-13; nonfiction, gr. 3-5
New York : Sterling Pub. Co., c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL768 .A77 2008
Lexile measure 1040; ages 7-9; book level 5.5; informational, gr. 1-3
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Boyds Mills Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL430.5 .S65 C36 2008
Ages 6-10; book level 4.4; nonfiction, gr. PreK-2
Toronto, Ont. : Owlkids Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GF48 .K453 2012
Ages 5-11, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TK140 .E3 D77 2005
Lexile measure 830; Ages 7-11; Grade level 4.6; Biography, gr. 1-3

Middle school level

Cover image o Albert Einstein
New York, N.Y. : Viking, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC16 .E5 K75 2009
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 11-14, gr. 6-9
New York : Clarion Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RA644 .Y4 M875 2003
Lexile measure 1130; ages 10-14; book level 9; informational, gr. 7-10
London : Marshall Editions, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL768 .J636 2008
ages 10-18; general nonfiction, gr. 6-10
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN293 .D43 2008
Lexile measure 1180; ages 10-18; book level 8.3; nonfiction, gr. 4-7
New York, N.Y. : Franklin Watts ; Washington, D.C. : J. Henry Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN50.6 .F8 H66 2005
Lexile measure 950; ages 10-14; biography, gr. 7-10
Cover image of Cool stuff exploded
New York, N.Y. : DK Pub., c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » T48 .W86 2008 F
Gr. 5-12
1st ed. New York : Random House, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QE861.5 .H645 2007
New York, N.Y. : DK Publishing, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP37 .W36 2008
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN282.5 .R83 2010
Lexile measure 1010; Ages: 12 up; Grade level: 8.6; Informational: Archaeology & Anthropology, gr. 8-12
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH437.5 .S567 2008
Ages 8-14; nonfiction, middle & high school
Cover image of How we know, what we know, about our changing climate
1st ed. Nevada City, CA : Dawn Publications, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.8 .C5 C475 2008
Lexile measure 1170; ages 10-14; book level 8.4, gr. 4-7
Palo Alto, CA : Klutz, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB46 .M87 2011
Ages 8 and up
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » N6923 .L33 B97 2003 F
Lexile measure 1120; Ages 10-14; Grade level 5.9; Nonfiction, gr. 4-8
New York : Viking, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q143 .L5 K78 2005
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 9-14; Grade level 6.2; Biography, gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, and Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL31 .S277 T87 2008
Lexile measure 1020; ages 11-18; book level 7.2; biography, gr. 5-8
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH327 .T87 2008
Gr. 7-12
Cover image of Saving the Baghdad Zoo
1st ed. New York : Greenwillow Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL76.5 .I722 B342 2010
Ages 8-12; Book level 7.1, gr. 4-7
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q162 .S416 2008
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP123.8 .S59 2007
Lexile measure 1070; ages 4-12; book level 6.8, gr. 6-9
Toronto : Maple Tree Press, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC981.8 .G56 T46 2007
Ages 9-14; book level 7.6; nonfiction, gr. 3-7
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GC232 .B87 2007
Lexile measure 1200; ages 10-16; book level 8.5; informational, middle & high school
Cover image of Usborne first encyclopedia of the human body
London : Usborne ; Tulsa, Okla. : EDC Pub., 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QM27 .C48 2004
Ages 10 and up, gr. 4-8
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP37 .M28 2008
Ages 11-up; informational, middle and high school
Berkeley, Calif. : Tricycle Press, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » TX353 .M438 2008
Lexile measure 1150; ages 10-up, gr. 4-8
Minneapolis, Minn. : Carolrhoda Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN69.8 .W35 2009
Gr. 6-12

Young adult literature

Cover image of An American plague
New York : Clarion Books, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » RA644 .Y4 M875 2003
Lexile measure 1130; ages 10-14; book level 9; informational, gr. 7-10
London : Marshall Editions, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL768 .J636 2008
Ages 10-18; general nonfiction, gr. 6-10
New York, N.Y. : Franklin Watts ; Washington, D.C. : J. Henry Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN50.6 .F8 H66 2005
Lexile measure 950; ages 10-14; biography, gr. 7-10
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH31 .D2 H42 2009
Lexile measure 1020; ages 8-18; book level 7.6; autobiography and biography, gr. 8-12
New York, N.Y. : DK Pub., c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » T48 .W86 2008 F
Gr. 5-12
Cover image of Dr. Frankenstein's human body
New York, N.Y. : DK Publishing, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP37 .W36 2008
Ages 10-18; nonfiction, gr. 5-12
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN282.5 .R83 2010
Lexile measure 1010; Ages: 12 up; Grade level: 8.6; Informational: Archaeology & Anthropology, gr. 8-12
Palo Alto, CA : Klutz, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QB46 .M87 2011
Ages 8 and up
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QH327 .T87 2008
Gr. 7-12
Cover image of One kingdom
Boston, [Mass.] : Houghton Mifflin, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL85.N69 2006
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » Q162 .S416 2008
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GC232 .B87 2007
Lexile measure 1200; ages 10-16; book level 8.5; informational, middle & high school
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QP37 .M28 2008
Ages 11-up; informational, middle and high school
Toronto : Groundwood Books, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QC903.15 .E93 2007
ages 12-up, gr. 8-12
Cover image of Written in Bone
Minneapolis, Minn. : Carolrhoda Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GN69.8 .W35 2009
Gr. 6-12