Children's books with a Jewish theme

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library featuring Jewish lands, people, and culture.

Table of Contents

Recently received

Cover image of What the night sings : a novel
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T3643 W43 2018
Lexile measure HL720L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.7 and up
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .I42 Y34 2017
Lexile measure AD530L; Ages 4-9; PrK-Gr.3
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3608 .E7632 U53 2017
Lexile measure AD840L; Ages 3-8; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of The best Sukkot pumpkin ever
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T476197 B47 2017
Lexile measure AD600L; Ages 4-9; PrK-Gr.3
New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, ©2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .A934 N49 2009
K-Gr.3; Sydney Taylor Book Award, younger readers, 2010
Minneapolis, MN : Kar-Ben Pub., ©2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .O344 E54 2008
Ages 4-9; PrK-Gr.3
Cover image of The language of angels : a story about the reinvention of Hebrew
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .I34 L36 2017
Lexile measure 690; Ages 5-9;  K-Gr.3; Sydney Taylor Book Award, 2018
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .H736 Q44 2017
Ages 4-8; PrK-Gr.1
Minneapolis : Kar-Ben, ©2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .C4492 T37 2010
Gr.K-3
Cover image of On Blackberry Hill
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A5498 O5 2016
Middle school; high school; National Jewish Book Award for Young Adult Literature, winner 2017
Lexile measure GN300L; Ages 8-10; Gr.4-7
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T463 H36 2016
Ages 3-8; PrK-Gr.2
Cover image of Rabbi Benjamin's buttons
Watertown, MA : Charlesbridge, ©2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C4834 R33 2014
Lexile measure AD850L; Ages 4-8;  PrK-Gr.2;  Sydney Taylor Book Award, 2015, Notable Book, Younger Reader
Lexile measure 620; Ages 6-8; Gr.2-4
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6727 .K879 Z46 2016
Gr.9 and up
Cover image of Here is the world : a year of Jewish holidays
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BM690 .N49 2014
Ages 3-7; K-Gr.2
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .O8734 T74 2016
Lexile measure 590L; Ages 5-8; K-Gr.3; Sydney Taylor Notable Book for Younger Readers, 2016
Revised edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS135 .A93 R388 2015
Lexile measure 1040L; Ages 12-18; Gr.9-12
Cover image of Adam & Thomas
First English-language edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PJ5054 .A755 Y3513 2015
Lexile measure 630; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6; Sydney Taylor Book Award winner, 2016
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 K48 2015
Lexile measure 730; Ages 5-8; PrK-Gr.2; Sydney Taylor Book Award, 2016
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .I56258 O85 2015
Lexile measure AD570L; Ages 4-8; Prk-Gr.2
Cover image of Chik chak Shabbat
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .O354464 C48 2014
Lexile measure 680; Ages 5-8; Pk-Gr.3
New York : HarperCollins, ©1994.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PJ5129 .S49 A2 1994
Lexile measure 850; Book level 5.2; Gr.3-5
First American edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2704 .A9345 E5413 2014
Lexile measure GN300L; Ages 8-12; Gr.3-6; Batchelder Honor book, 2014
Cover image of The patchwork Torah
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .F36 P38 2014
Ages 4-8
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .N928 A56 2014
Lexile measure AD850L; Ages 5-9; gr.1-3; Sydney Taylor Book Award for younger readers
1st ed. Atlanta : Peachtree Publishers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .I577 Z39 2012
Lexile measure 490; Ages 6-9; Gr.Prk-2
[Rev.] ed. New York : Holiday House, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .I4219 H36 2013
Ages 4-8; gr.K-3
Cover image of The Nazi hunters
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DD247 .E5 B374 2013
Lexile measure 1000; Ages 11-18; Gr.6 and up
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3555 .N4254 T76 2009
Lexile measure 1170; Ages 12-15; Gr.7-10
[Rev.] ed. New York : Holiday House, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .I4219 H36 2013
Ages 4-8; gr.K-3
Cover image of The war withinin these walls
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PT6467.29 .A95 K5913 2013
Lexile measure HL510; Ages 14 and up; Gr.9-12

Other books

Cover image of Annexed
Boston [MA] : Houghton Mifflin, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PR6104 .O43 A8 2010
Ages 13-18; Historical fiction, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : A.A. Knopf, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K5 M44 2008
Sydney Taylor Book Awards 2009; Notable Children's Trade Book/Social Studies 2009; ages 7-11; book level 4.1, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : HarperTeen, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .H35634 B47 2011
Lexile 880; Reading level 5.7; Ages 12+; Grades 7-10
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D804.6 .R37 2012
Ages 10 and up; gr. 7-12
Cover image of A bottle in the Gaza Sea
1st U.S. ed. New York, N.Y. : Bloomsbury, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PQ2726 .E53 B6813 2008
ages 13-18; book level 5.8, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York, NY : Feiwel and Friends, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E797867 B76 2008
Lexile measure 0680; ages 10-14, gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DS135 .C97 W45537 2006
Lexile measure 800; Book level 5; Ages 10-14; Gr.4-7; Guided reading T
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .I884 C66 2005
Lexile measure 930; Book levle 5.5; Ages 11-15; gr.4-7
Puffin Modern Classics ed. New York, N.Y. : Puffin Books, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3575 .O43 D48 2004
National Jewish Book Award; ages 10-14; historical fiction, gr. 4-5
Cover image of Emily Goldberg learns to salsa
New York : Razorbill, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .S645 S25 2007
Lexile measure 730; Ages 11-16; Book level 4.7; General fiction, gr. 7-10
Boston [Mass.] : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS2234 .G55 2010
Lexile measure 790; Ages: 5-9; Book Level: 5.5; History & Biography, gr. K-3
1st ed. Tarrytown, NY : Marshall Cavendish Children, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .I4219 G65 2011
Ages 6-9, gr. PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .R438 H36 2006
Book level 4; Ages 8-11
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .H7685 H69 2008
Lexile measure 660; ages 6-12; book level 4.4; fantasy, gr. K-3
Cover image of Julia's kitchen
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3606 .E7 J85 2006
Lexile measure 620; Book level 3.9; Ages 9-13; gr.5-8 Guided reading Q
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .A568 K56 2005
Lexile measure 560; Ages 11-16; Grade level 4.4; Historical fiction, gr. 6-9
New York : Dial Books, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PT2724 .O6 L5813 2012
Lexile measure 900; Ages 12 and up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .A7676 N33 2011 F
Ages 4-8; Fiction, gr. PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .H667 O73 2011
Ages 12 and up; Gr.8 and up
Cover image of Passage to freedom
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D804.3 .M63 1997
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4.1; Ages 5-10, gr. 3-6
Hardcover ed. Woodstock, Vt. : Jewish Lights Pub., c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BM657 .M4 S278 2012 F
Ages 3-6, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PJ5129 .R2 Z845 2005
Lexile measure 660; Ages 7-12; Grade level 4.8; Biography, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Wendy Lamb Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3618 .E564555 T49 2010
Lexile measure 650; Ages 14- adult; Book level 4; Realistic fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » DR267.5 .M65 A3 2010
Lexile measure 870; Ages 13 - up; Book level 5.4, gr. 7-9
Cover image of The white ram
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .E723 W48 2006
Lexile measure: 700; book level 3.6; ages 5-9; winner of the National Jewish Book Awards, 2006.
Cover image of An unspeakable crime
Minneapolis : Carolrhoda Books, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HV6534 .A7 A57 2010
Lexile measure 1210; Ages 12-18; book level 8.8; gr. 8-12
Chicago : A. Whitman & Co., c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .T3643 W66 2012
Ages 6-11, gr. K-3
accessibilityaccessprivsarrow-circle-rightaskus-chataskus-librarianbarsblogsclosecoffeecomputercomputersulcontactsconversationcopierelectricaloutleteventsexternal-linkfacebook-circlegroupstudyhoursindividualinterlibrarynewsnextoffcampusopenlateoutdoorpeoplepolicypreviousprinterprojectsquietreservesscannersearchstudysupportingtabletourstwitter-circleworking