You are here

Children's books with a LGBT theme

Last Updated: 19-May-2014

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library by or about lesbians, gays, bisexual or transgender people.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Operations Manager
(650) 723-2121 (650) 723-9463

Recently received

Cover image of Kissing Kate
New York : Speak, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .Y73 K57 2004
Lexile measure 710; Book level 4.1: ages 13 and up, gr. 7-12
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E922175 T96 2013
Lexile measure 780; Ages 13 and up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 O38 2012
Ages 13 and up, gr. 8-12
Cover image of The miseducation of Cameron Post
1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .A524 M57 2012
Lexile measure 1120, Ages 14 and up, gr. 9-12
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .O4695 A68 2005
Book level 3.2; Ages 5-9, gr. 1-5
1st ed. Berkeley : Tricycle Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 D33 2009
Awards: American Library Association Stonewall Book Awards Honor Book, 2010.; Ages 1-
1st ed. Berkeley : Tricycle Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3564 .E91628 M66 2009
Awards: American Library Association Stonewall Book Awards Honor Book, 2010.; Ages 1-4

Other books

Cover image of The accidental adventures of India McAllister
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .G4352 A57 2010
Lexile measure 690; Ages 8-11; Book level 4.2, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Delacorte Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3611 .A7883 A63 2009
Awards: Stonewall Children's and Young Adult Literature Award, Lexile measure 620; Book level 4.5; Ages 14 and up, gr. 9-12
New York : HarperTrophy, c1994 [i.e. 1995?]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS509 .H57 A4 1995
Lexile measure 760; Ages 13 and up; Book level 5.4, gr. 8-12
Cover image of Annie on my mind
Farrar, Straus and Giroux paperback ed. New York : Farrar, Straus, Giroux, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .A711266 A66 2007
Lexile measure 1000; ages 12-18; general fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A27 A75 2012
Lexile measure 380; Ages 15 and up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A515 B35 2009
Lexile measure 630; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : HarperCollinsPublishers, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .L617 D36 1998
Ages 14 -up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Dutton Children's Books, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .T1229 F74 2007
Lexile measure 660; Ages 13-up; Book level 4.2, gr. 9-12
Cover image of Gravel Queen
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E466 G73 2003
Ages 12-up; Book level 4.6, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Little Brown & Co., 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .P44158 .G75 2007
Ages 15-18
New York : Hyperion, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O5663 H47 2007
Lexile Measure 880; ages 12-18, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .O2 H86 2011
Lexile measure 860; Ages 14 and up, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Macmillan, c1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .H7453 J3 1989
Lexile measure 810; Book level 4.7
Cover image of Luna
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .E75534 L86 2004
Lexile measure 500; ages 15-18; book level 3.5; general fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .U7295 M36 2006
Ages 9-12; Book level 5.2, gr. 6-9
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .E994 M9 2002
Lexile measure 700; Ages 15-18; grade level 5.6; General Fiction, gr. 9-12
New York : Dial Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3561 .L82 M9 2008
Lexile measure 1030; ages 12-up; book level 6.1, gr. 8-12
New York : Pocket Books, c1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .H3469 P47 1999
Lexile measure 720; Ages 15-18; Grade level 6.1; Mystery and suspense
Cover image of Putting makeup on the fat boy
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .R4938 P88 2011
Awards: Stonewall Book Award, 2012; Lexile 820; Book level 5.4; Ages 12 and up; realistic fiction, gr. 7-12
1st Knopf trade pbk. ed. New York : Knopf, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E922175 R43 2006
Ages 12-18; Book level 5.2; General fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Farrar, Straus and Giroux, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .A4344 S66 2007
Lexile measure 1010; Ages 14-up; Book level 6, gr. 9-12
New York : Speak, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .U7353 V37 2011
Lexile measure HL 730; Ages 14 and up
Cover image of Will Grayson, Will Grayson
1st ed. New York : Dutton, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R43293 W55 2010
Ages 12-18; Book level 5.1; Realistic fiction, gr. 9-12