You are here

Children's books by or about African Americans

Last Updated: 11-Jul-2014

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library by or about African Americans.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Operations Manager
(650) 723-2121 (650) 723-9463

Recently received

Cover image of Knock knock
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E2632 K66 2013
Ages 5-8; K-gr.2
Cover image of Words with wings
1st ed. Honesdale, Penn. : WordSong, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R489982 W67 2013
Lexile measure 850; Ages 8-12;  gr.5-8
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .K68 H55 2013
Lexile measure AD910L; Ages 6-9; Gr.2-4
Cover image of March
Marietta, GA : Top Shelf Productions, 2013-
Green Library » Stacks » E840.8 .L43 A3 2013 BK.1
Ages 11 and up
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 T67 2013
Ages 4-7; Prk-gr.3
Cover image of Crow
1st ed. New York : Random House, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .R493 C76 2012
Lexile measure 800; Ages 11-15; Gr.5-8
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 T48 2013
Lexile measure AD1090L: Ages 5-9; Gr.1-3
Cover image of Josephine
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .B3 P68 2014
Lexile measure 790; gr.5-8
Cover image of Let it shine
[Reprint edition]. Boston, MA : Sandpiper/Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, [2013], c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.96 .P565 2013
Lexile measure 940; Book level 7.2; Ages 8-12; gr.5-8
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K5 P54 2013
Lexile Measure AD570L, Ages 6-12; gr.2-4
New York, NY : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 P87 2012 F
Ages 5-9; Gr.k-4
Grand Rapids Mich. : Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R3275 I15 2012 F
Lexile measure 990; Ages 10 and up; Gr.4-7
Cover image of Fifty Cents and a Dream
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .W4 A85 2012
Lexile measure 740; Ages 5-9, gr. 2-4
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 D36 2013
Ages 12-18
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic Society, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E444 .N87 F73 2012
Lexile measure 1060; Ages 11-17, gr. 5-9
New York : Amistad, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .I5473 P7 2013
Lexile measure 770; Ages 8-12, gr. 4-7

Elementary level

Cover image of As good as anybody
1st ed. New York : A.A. Knopf, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K5 M44 2008
Sydney Taylor Book Awards 2009; Notable Children's Trade Book/Social Studies 2009; ages 7-11; book level 4.1, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R848 Z46 2009
Lexile measure 970; ages 6-12, book level 6; biography, gr. 3-7
New York : Clarion Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .O88135 A96 2001 F
Lexile measure 400; Ages 4-9; Grade level 3.6; Realistic fiction, gr. PreK-4
Minneapolis : Carolrhoda Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F697 .R44 N45 2009 F
Lexile measure 860; ages 9-12; book level 5.2; biography, gr. 3-5
Cover image of The bat boy & his violin
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .C9415 B37 1998
Lexile measure 700; Book level 4.1; Ages 5-9, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .L463 B57 2008
Lexile measure 720; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-6
1st ed. New York : HarperCollins, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .H565 B53 2008 F
ages 4-8, gr. K-2
New York : Holiday House, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 B58 2003
Book level 5; Ages 9-14; Gr.3-7
New York : Delacorte Press, 1999.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3553 .U712 B83 1999
Lexile measure 950; ages 8-12; book level 5; historical fiction, gr. 4-6
Cover image of Come on, rain
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, c1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E797867 C66 1999
Lexile measure 780; Book Level 3.6; Ages 5-8; Realistic fiction, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Katherine Tegen Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K47 S53 2009 F
Ages 4-9; Book level 4.9, gr. K-3
New York : Puffin Books for, 2003, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L39218 D36 2003
Lexile measure 540; Ages 5-8; Grade level 3.2; Fiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. K-2
1st yearling ed. New York : Dell Yearling, 2001
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 D37 2001
Lexile measure 730; ages 7-12; book level 4.6; horror and supernatural, gr. 4-9
Cover image of Dave the potter
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » NK4210 .D247 H55 2010
Lexile measure 1100; Ages 6-10; Book level 6; Biography; Poetry, gr. K-3
1st ed. Cambridge, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F294 .S2 H24 2005 F
Lexile measurement 850; Ages 5-11; Grade level 5.3; General fiction, gr. 2-4
New York : Nancy Paulsen Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 E13 2012
Awards: Charlotte Zolotow Award, 2013.; Awards: Coretta Scott King Award, author, 2012.; Lexile measure 640; Ages 5-9, gr. K-3
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown and Co., 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .W4 A85 2012
Lexile measure 740; Ages 5-9, gr. 2-4
Cover image of Freedom summer
1st Aladdin Paperbacks ed. New York : Aladdin Paperbacks, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3623 .I543 F74 2005
Lexile measure 460; Ages 6-12; Grade level 2.7; Historical fiction; Library has 6 copies, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .M79 N43 2006
Lexile measure 1110;ages 9-18; book level 7.7; nonfiction, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c1987.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3570 .A9463 F75 1987
Lexile measure 750; ages 8-12; book level 4.8; general fiction, gr. K-3
Cover image of Goin' someplace special
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 G65 2001 F
Lexile measure 550; ages 5-12; book level 4.3; general fiction, gr. K-4
1st U.S. ed. New York : Walker, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .E4356 G73 2010
Ages 5-9; Book level 5.3; Realistic Fiction, gr. 1-3
1st ed. New York : Amistad, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R39416 G74 2011
Lexile 730; grade level 4.5; Informational history, Poetry, Awards: Coretta Scott King Author Honor, 2012, gr. 1-4
1st Aladdin books ed. New York : Aladdin Books, 1990.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ8.3 .D77 H34 1990
Grades K-2; African American, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Disney/Jump at the Sun, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.86 .P56 2012
Awards: Coretta Scott King Author Award, 2013.; Ages 11-18; Biography, gr. 5-8
1st ed. Orlando, [Fla] : Gulliver Books/Harcourt, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .I34 H37 2005
Lexile measure 700; Book level 3.3; Ages 6-11; Historical fiction, gr. K-3
Cover image of Heart and soul
1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185 .N427 2011
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 9 and up; gr. 3-7
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E8958 H46 2007
Lexile measure 380; ages 4-8; book level 3; historical fiction, gr. K-3
New York : Viking, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 H66 2008
Lexile measure 570, Ages 8-11; Book level 3.6; Realistic fiction, gr. 3-6
New York : Egmont USA, 2012
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y363 H67 2012 F
Ages 5-10, gr. 2-5
Cover image of I have a dream
1st ed. New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E195.97 .K5 A5 2012
Ages 8 and up, gr. K-3
1st ed. [New York] : HarperCollins Publishers, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .T36696 I3 1998
Book level 3.1; Ages 6-10, gr. 3-5
Grand Rapids Mich. : Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R3275 I15 2012 F
Lexile measure 990; Ages 10 and up; Gr.4-7
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3515 .U274 I3 2012
Lexile measure 390; Ages 5 and up, gr. 1-4
1st ed. New York : HarperCollins, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .R39416 I5 2004
Book level 3.8; Ages 4-8, gr. K-2
Cover image of Jimi
Boston : Clarion Books, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .H45 G65 2010
Lexile measure 900; Ages 3-9, Book level 5.6; Biography, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Lothrop, Lee & Shepard, c1986.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .A472285 J87 1986
Lexile measure 620; ages 9-12; book level 3.9; general fiction, gr. 4-6
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV1785 .B3486 B37 2004
Lexile measure 880; Ages 5-10; Grade level 4.7; Biography, gr. 1-4
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BV353 .L48 2007 F
No lexile measure, ages 3+, no book level, Poetry and Rhymes
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E457.905 .G56 2008
Ages 5-10; book level 4.9; informational, gr. 1-4
Cover image of A long hard journey
New York : Walker, 1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD8039 .R37 U46 1989
Lexile measure 1050; book level 7.9; autobiography and biography, gr. 4-8
New York : Egmont USA, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 L66 2009
Ages 5-9, gr. 3-6
New York : Dell Pub. Co., 1975, c1972.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A736 C7 1975
Gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Hyperion Books for Children, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .K5 R36 2001
Lexile measure 410; ages 3-9; book level 3.4; biography, gr. K-4
Chicago, Ill. : Raintree, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185 .C96 2012
Lexile measure 820, ages 8-12, gr. 4-6
New York : Knopf, c1988.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 M57 1988
Lexile: 690; Ages: 5-12; Grade level: 3.5; Fiction, gr. K-3
Cover image of The moon over Star
New York : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .S857 M66 2008
Ages 6-11; book level 4.3; historical fiction, gr. PreK-3
1st ed. New York : Hyperion Books for Children, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E444 .T82 W43 2006
Lexile measure 660; ages 5-10; Book level 4; Historical fiction, gr. 1-4
New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers/ginee seo books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3515 .U274 M9 2009
Ages 3 and up; poetry, gr. PreK-3
Mahwah, N.J. : BridgeWater Books, c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .E62 N4 1996
1st ed. New York, NY : Disney Jump at the Sun Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3515 .U274 N34 2009
Poetry, gr. 1-3
Cover image of Never forgotten
New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 N48 2011
Awards: Coretta Scott King Honor, Author, 2012.; Awards: ALA children's award.; Ages 8-14, gr. 4-
1st ed. Cambridge, MA : Candlewick Press, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HT871 .R36 2002
Lexile measure 830; Ages 7-12; Grade level 5.0; Historical fiction, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Amistad, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .I5473 O54 2010
Lexile measure 750; Ages 8 to 12; Book level 4.6; Historical Fiction, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Knopf : c1985. New York Distributed by Random House, c1985.
Green Library » Stacks » GR103 .H36 1985
Lexile measure 480;; ages 5-12; book level 2.9; fables, folktales and myths, gr. 3-9
New York : Amistad, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .I5473 P7 2013
Lexile measure 770; Ages 8-12, gr. 4-7
Cover image of Puss in boots
New York, NY : Dial Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3566 .I5247 P87 2012 F
Ages 5-9; Gr.k-4
1st ed. New York : Marshall Cavendish Children, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .O839 R35 2008
Ages 4-10; book level 2.2; general fiction, gr. K-2
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LC214.2 .M67 2004
Lexile measure 660; ages 9-up; book level 5; general nonfiction, gr. 4-8
Tarrytown, N.Y. : Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.61 .H365 2008
Ages 9-12, gr. 4-7
New York : Clarion Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551.D66 R66 2011
Awards: Notable Social Studies Trade Books for Young People, 2011; Notable Book for a Global Society 2012.; Ages 10-14, gr. 4-6
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.61 .P596 2010 F
Lexile measure 500; Ages 7-12, Book level 5.2, gr. 2-4
Cover image of The snowy day
New York : Viking Press, c1962.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » TX 428.51 .K25S
Lexile: 500; Ages: 3-9; Grade level 3.2; Fiction, gr. K-2
1st ed. New York : Disney/Jump at the Sun Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .T8 P56 2009
ages 5-9, gr. 1-4
New York, N.Y. : Philomel Books, 1982.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3558 .A444 S89 1982
lexile measure 550; book level 3.8; general fiction; horror, gr. 4-8
1st ed. New York : Dial Books, c1987.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ8.1.L434 T34 1987
Lexile measure 760; Ages 9-12, gr. 3-5
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Books for Children : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A81742 T48 2011
Ages 4-8, gr. PreK-3
Cover image of This jazz man
1st ed. Orlando : Harcourt, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3605 .H744 T48 2006
Ages 3-7, gr. K-2
New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .O6366 U53 2002
Lexile measure 580; ages 5-11; book level 3; historical fiction, gr. 1-4
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E450 .E94 2011
Awards: Coretta Scott King Award, illustrator, 2012.; Ages 8-12 ; Historical fiction, gr. 2-4
Toronto, Ont. : Tundra Books ; Plattsburgh, N.Y. : Tundra Books of Northern New York, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .K675 W56 2012
Ages 7-11, gr. 2-5
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .A5 R93 2002
Lexile measure 780; ages 7-10; book level 5.2; biography; gr. K-5
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .O6565 Z67 2010
Lexile measure 860; Ages 8-12; Book level 5.3; Biography, Historical fiction, gr. 4-7

Middle school level

Cover image of Abraham Lincoln and Frederick Douglass
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Harcourt/Clarion Books, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E457.905 .F725 2012
Lexile measure 1110; Ages 8-14, gr. 5-9
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573.O64524 A37 2008
Lexile measure 750; ages 10-15; book level 4.7; realistic fiction, gr. 6-9
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .H455 N445 2008
Lexile measure 1030; Ages 10-14; Book level 6.6, gr. 6-9
New York : Viking, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .K67 A63 2011
Lexile measure 590; Book level 4.2; Ages 11-14, gr. 6-9
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3552 .R848 Z46 2009
Lexile measure 970; ages 6-12, book level 6; biography, gr. 3-7
Cover image of Birmingham Sunday
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Calkins Creek, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .B69 B75 2010
Lexile measure 1190; Ages: 10 up; Grade level: 9.8; Informational (Violence warning), gr. 5-8
1st ed. Honesdale, Pa. : Calkins Creek, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .B657 B75 2011
Awards: Sibert Honor Book; Ages 11 and up, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .I45689 B53 2005
Lexile measure 860; Ages 11-18; Grade level 5.4; Historical fiction, gr. 7-12
Cover image of Blues journey
New York : Holiday House, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 B58 2003
Book level 5; Ages 9-14; Gr.3-7
New York : Dial Books, c2002.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3557 .R489982 B76 2002
Lexile measure 670; ages 12-up; book level 4.5; poetry and rhymes, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Melanie Kroupa Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .M753 C6554 2009
Lexile measure 1000; ages 10-18; book level 6.8; biography, gr. 5-10
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » D769.347 .S766 2013
Lexile measure 1090; Ages 11-15, gr. 5-9
Cover image of Darius & Twig
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 D36 2013
Ages 12-18
1st yearling ed. New York : Dell Yearling, 2001
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 D37 2001
Lexile measure 730; ages 7-12; book level 4.6; horror and supernatural, gr. 4-9
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185 .T198 2012
Lexile measure 1370; Ages 10 and up, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3553 .U6944 E45 2007
Lexile measure 1070; Coretta Scott King Award; ages 8-12; historical fiction, gr. 6-8
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E453 .B68 2013
Gr. 7-10
Cover image of Fallen angels
[Econoclad ed.]. New York : Scholastic Inc., c1988.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 F35 1988
Lexile measure 650; book level 4.2; realistic fiction, gr. 7-12
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 F43 2007
Lexile Measure 760; ages 10-15; book level 4.4; realistic fiction, gr. 6-9
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2003.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3560 .O37129 F57 2003
Lexile measure 790; ages 12-up; book level 4.7; realistic fiction, gr. 6-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LA2317 .C73 J87 2005
Lexile measure 920; Ages 9-14; Grade level 6.2; History, gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .R24 F67 1997
Lexile measure 780; ; ages 12-18; book level 4.7; general fiction, gr. 7-10
Cover image of Francie
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .E7232 F73 1999
Lexile measure 660; Book level 4.2; Ages 9-13, gr. 5-12
Mankato, Minn. : Creative Editions, 2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E9465 F74 2000
Nonprose; Grade level 4.7; Poetry & rhymes, gr. 5-12
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .M79 N43 2006
Lexile measure 1110;ages 9-18; book level 7.7; nonfiction, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Amistad/HarperTeen, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .L5629 G83 2008
Lexile 870; ages 13-up
1st ed. New York : Disney/Jump at the Sun, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.86 .P56 2012
Awards: Coretta Scott King Author Award, 2013.; Ages 11-18; Biography, gr. 5-8
1st ed. New York : Balzer + Bray, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185 .N427 2011
Lexile measure 1050; Ages 9 and up; gr. 3-7
Cover image of Heaven
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c1998.
Green Library » Stacks » PZ7 .J629 HE 1998
Lexile measure 790; ages 12-up; book level 4.7; realistic fiction, gr. 6-9
Lexile measure 880; ; ages 8-12; book level 4.6; fables, folktales, and myths, gr. 5-8
New York : Putnam's, 2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 H87 2002
Lexile measure 640; Ages 11-15; Grade level 5.4; Fiction, gr. 5-9
New York, NY : Bantam Doubleday Dell Books for Young Readers, c1994.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .W868 I47 1995
Lexile measure 740; Book level 4.1, gr. 5-9
Grand Rapids Mich. : Eerdmans Books for Young Readers, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .R3275 I15 2012 F
Lexile measure 990; Ages 10 and up; Gr.4-7
Cover image of Land
New York : Dial, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .A9463 L36 2001
Lexile measure 760; ages 12-up; book level 5; historical fiction, gr. 7-12
New York : Puffin Books, 1991, c1981.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3570 .A9454 L48 1991
Lexile 850; Ages 13-18; Grade level 7.3; historical fiction, gr. 6-12
Chelsea, MI : Sleeping Bear Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV880.5 .R38 2005
Lexile measure 1100; Ages 6-12; Grade level 7.9; General nonfiction, gr. 6-8
1st ed. New York : Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children, c2003.
Green Library » Stacks » E185.61 .L56 2003
Lexile measure 560; Ages 10-15; Grade level 5.8; Nonfiction, gr. 5-9
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3612 .E9239 L56 2012
Lexile measure 630; Ages 10 and up; Historical fiction, gr. 5-8
Cover image of A long hard journey
New York : Walker, 1989.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD8039 .R37 U46 1989
Lexile measure 1050; book level 7.9; autobiography and biography, gr. 4-8
1st ed. New York : Harper & Row, c1983.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7.H1828 M35 1983
Lexile measure 620; book level 4.2; gr. 6-9
1st ed. New York : H. Holt, 2006, c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O5613 M35 2006
Lexile measure 890; Ages 13-18; Gr. 7-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Hill and Wang, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BP223 .Z8 L5745 2006
Ages 14-18; book level 6.6; biography, gr. 7-12
New York, N.Y. : Viking, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.93 .A3 P37 2009
Ages 10-18, gr. 6-12
Ages 12 and up, gr. 5-8
Cover image of Maritcha
New York : Harry N. Abrams, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F128.9 .N4 B65 2005
Lexile measure 1190; Ages 8-14; Grade level 7.1; Biography & autobiography
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, 2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O64524 M57 2000
Lexile measure 660; ages 11-15; book level 4.3; general fiction
Honesdale, Pa. : Wordsong, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L3494 M57 2007
Ages 10-15; book level 5.9; poetry, middle school & high school
1st ed. New York : Viking Kestrel, 1984.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 M68 1984
Lexile measure 750; book level 5.1; general fiction, gr. 7-12
New York : Schwartz & Wade Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .C38323 N48 2011
Awards: Coretta Scott King Honor, Author, 2012.; Awards: ALA children's award.; Ages 8-14, gr. 4-7
Cover image of Ninth ward
1st ed. New York ; Boston : Little, Brown and Co., 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .H63 N56 2010
Lexile measure 470; Ages 8-11. Book levlel 3.3; Realistic fiction, gr. 5-8
1st ed. Cambridge, MA : Candlewick Press, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HT871 .R36 2002
Lexile measure 830; Ages 7-12; Grade level 5.0; Historical fiction, gr. 4-7
[Book club ed.] New York : Scholastic Inc., c1991,
Green Library » Stacks » E185 .M96 1993
Lexile measure 1030; biography, gr. 6-8
1st ed. New York : Amistad, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .I5473 O54 2010
Lexile measure 750; Ages 8 to 12; Book level 4.6; Historical Fiction, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Knopf : c1985. New York Distributed by Random House, c1985.
Green Library » Stacks » GR103 .H36 1985
Lexile measure 480;; ages 5-12; book level 2.9; fables, folktales and myths, gr. 3-9
Cover image of P.S. be eleven
New York : Amistad, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3545 .I5473 P7 2013
Lexile measure 770; Ages 8-12, gr. 4-7
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Co., 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » LC214.2 .M67 2004
Lexile measure 660; ages 9-up; book level 5; general nonfiction, gr. 4-8
Tarrytown, N.Y. : Marshall Cavendish Benchmark, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.61 .H365 2008
Ages 9-12, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Dial Books, c1990.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3570 .A9463 R63 1990
Lexile measure 670; ages 12-up; book level 4.5; general fiction, gr. 7-10
1st Aladdin ed. New York : Aladdin, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A3467 R63 2009
Lexile measure 550; ages 12-18; book level 3.9, gr. 6-10
25th anniversary ed. New York : Dial Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .A9463 R65 2001
Lexile measure 920; Ages 9-12; Grade level 6.9; Historical fiction, gr. 5-8
Cover image of Stolen into slavery
Washington, D.C. : National Geographic Society, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E444 .N87 F73 2012
Lexile measure 1060; Ages 11-17, gr. 5-9
1st ed. New York : Amistad : HarperTempest, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 S77 2006
Book level 5.4 ; Ages 12 and up; gr.7-12
New York, N.Y. : Philomel Books, 1982.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3558 .A444 S89 1982
Lexile measure 550; book level 3.8; general fiction; horror, gr. 4-8
New York : Scholastic, Inc., 1994, c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .O37129 T66 1994
Lexile measure 760; ages 12-up; book level 4.7; realistic fiction, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E254 T76 2002
Lexile measure 720; Ages 11-16; Grade level 5.4; Historical fiction, gr. 5-10
New York : Jump at the Sun/Hyperion Books for Children, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV875 .A1 N45 2008
Lexile measure 900; ages 10-up; book level 5.9; informational, gr. 5-8
Cover image of We've got a job
Atlanta, Ga. : Peachtree Publishers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .B69 N4476 2012
Lexile measure 1020; Ages 10 and up, gr. 6-12
Berkeley Heights, NJ : Enslow Publishers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .B69 N4485 2008
Ages 11-18; biography, middle & high school
New York, N.Y., U.S.A. : Puffin Books, 1989, c1979.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3563 .Y48 Y68 1989
Lexile measure 820; ages 10-up; book level5.1; general fiction, gr. 6-12
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F548.9 .N4 N47 2010
Ages 12- up, gr. 6-12
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .O6565 Z67 2010
Lexile measure 860; Ages 8-12; Book level 5.3; Biography, Historical fiction, gr. 4-7

Young adult literature

New York, N.Y. : HarperCollins Publishers, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 Z47 2001
Lexile measure 970; Ages 12-18; Grade level 6.6; Biography & autobiography, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Margaret K. McElderry Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .I45689 B53 2005
Lexile measure 860; Ages 11-18; Grade level 5.4; Historical fiction, gr. 7-12
New York : Dial Books, c2002.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3557 .R489982 B76 2002
Lexile measure 670; ages 12-up; book level 4.5; poetry and rhymes, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Melanie Kroupa Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .M753 C6554 2009
Lexile measure 1000; ages 10-18; book level 6.8; biography, gr. 5-10
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .R24 C67 2006
Lexile measure 820; ages 12-up; book level 5.2; classics, gr. 9-12
Cover image of Darius & Twig
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 D36 2013
Ages 12-18
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185 .T198 2012
Lexile measure 1370; Ages 10 and up, gr. 7-12
New York : Knopf, c1994.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3515 .U274 D7 1994
Ages 11-up; poetry, gr. 8-12
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E453 .B68 2013
Gr. 7-10
[Econoclad ed.]. New York : Scholastic Inc., c1988.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 F35 1988
Lexile measure 650; book level 4.2; realistic fiction, gr. 7-12
Cover image of The first part last
New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2003.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3560 .O37129 F57 2003
Lexile measure 790; ages 12-up; book level 4.7; realistic fiction, gr. 6-12
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, 1997.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .R24 F67 1997
Lexile measure 780; ; ages 12-18; book level 4.7; general fiction, gr. 7-10
1st ed. New York : Farrar Straus Giroux, 1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .E7232 F73 1999
Lexile measure 660; Book level 4.2; Ages 9-13, gr. 5-12
1st trade pbk. ed. New York : One World, 2004, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.97 .D76 D84 2004
Lexile measure 380; book level 8.1, gr. 9-12
Mankato, Minn. : Creative Editions, 2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3562 .E9465 F74 2000
Nonprose; Grade level 4.7; Poetry & rhymes, gr. 5-12
Cover image of Growing up in slavery
1st ed. Chicago, Ill. : Lawrence Hill Books, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E444 .G5 2005
Lexile measure 1130; ages 11-18; biography and autobiography, gr. 9-12
[1st ed.] Cleveland, Western Reserve Historical Society, 1972 [c1973]
Green Library » Stacks » HD9570.R6.I9
Lexile 870; ages 13-up
1st ed. New York : Little, Brown, c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.6 .H515 2003
Lexile measure 1270; ages 11-18; book level 6; general nonfiction, gr. 8-12
New York : Putnam [1972]
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV865 .R6 A29
Lexile measure 1130; book level 8; autobiography and biography, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Dial Books, c1998.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .G88429 J3 1998
Lexile measure 980; Book level 5.8; Ages 12-18, gr. 9-12
Cover image of Jimi & me
1st ed. New York : Jump at the Sun/Hyperion, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3601 .D59 J56 2005
Ages 12-18; Grade level 6.3; General fiction, gr. 8-11
New York : Dial, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .A9463 L36 2001
Lexile measure 760; ages 12-up; book level 5; historical fiction, gr. 7-12
New York : Puffin Books, 1991, c1981.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3570 .A9454 L48 1991
Lexile 850; Ages 13-18; Grade level 7.3; historical fiction, gr. 6-12
1st ed. New York : HarperTeen/Amistad, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 L63 2010
Lexile measure 730; Ages 12 and up; Realistic fiction, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : H. Holt, 2006, c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3573 .O5613 M35 2006
Lexile measure 890; Ages 13-18; Gr. 7-12; Guided reading Z
1st ed. New York : Hill and Wang, 2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » BP223 .Z8 L5745 2006
Ages 14-18; book level 6.6; biography, gr. 7-12
Cover image of Marching for freedom
New York, N.Y. : Viking, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » E185.93 .A3 P37 2009
Ages 10-18, gr. 6-12
Honesdale, Pa. : Wordsong, 2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L3494 M57 2007
Ages 10-15; book level 5.9; poetry, middle school & high school
1st ed. New York : Viking Kestrel, 1984.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 M68 1984
Lexile measure 750; book level 5.1; general fiction, gr. 7-12
Ages 12-18; fictionalized biography, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3554 .R24 P36 2013
Ages 14 and up, gr. 10-12
1st ed. New York : Dial Books, c1990.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3570 .A9463 R63 1990
Lexile measure 670; ages 12-up; book level 4.5; general fiction, gr. 7-10
Cover image of The rock and the river
1st Aladdin ed. New York : Aladdin, 2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A3467 R63 2009
Lexile measure 550; ages 12-18; book level 3.9, gr. 6-10
Point signature ed. New York : Scholastic Inc., c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 S53 1996
Lexile measure 750;ages 12-up; book level 4.5; realistic fiction, gr. 8-12
Point signature ed. New York : Scholastic Inc., c1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 S53 1996
Lexile measure 750;ages 12-up; book level 4.5; realistic fiction, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Amistad : HarperTempest, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .Y48 S77 2006
Book level 5.4 ; Ages 12 and up; gr.7-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .O37129 S94 2010
Lexile measure 750; Ages 12-16; Book level 4.6, gr. 8-12
1st ed. New York : Knopf, 1980.
Green Library » Stacks » PN2287 .P57 A37
Autobiography and biography, gr. 9-12
Cover image of Toning the sweep
New York : Scholastic, Inc., 1994, c1993.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .O37129 T66 1994
Lexile measure 760; ages 12-up; book level 4.7; realistic fiction, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Knopf : Distributed by Random House, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3616 .E254 T76 2002
Lexile measure 720; Ages 11-16; Grade level 5.4; Historical fiction, gr. 5-10
Atlanta, Ga. : Peachtree Publishers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .B69 N4476 2012
Lexile measure 1020; Ages 10 and up, gr. 6-12
Berkeley Heights, NJ : Enslow Publishers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F334 .B69 N4485 2008
Ages 11-18; biography, middle & high school
New York, N.Y., U.S.A. : Puffin Books, 1989, c1979.
Green Library » Stacks » PS3563 .Y48 Y68 1989
Lexile measure 820; ages 10-up; book level5.1; general fiction, gr. 6-12
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2010
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » F548.9 .N4 N47 2010
Ages 12- up, gr. 6-12