You are here

Children's books by or about Latinos and Hispanic Americans

Last Updated: 18-Nov-2014

This guide lists children's books and young adult literature in Cubberley Education Library by or about Latinos and Hispanic Americans.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Kelly Roll
Operations Manager
(650) 723-2121 (650) 723-9463

Recently received

Cover image of Nino wrestles the world
First Edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O68 N56 2013
Ages 4-7; gr.k-2
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3604 .O459 M37 20130
ages 3-6; prk-gr.2
Cover image of Yaqui Delgado wants to kick your ass
1st ed. Somerville, Mass. : Candlewick Press, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .E338 Y37 2013
Lexile measure 670L; Ages 12 and up; Gr.9-12
Cover image of Pancho Rabbit and the coyote
New York : Abrams Books for Young Readers, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3620 .O58285 P36 2013
Ages 5-9
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » QL696 .P7 R68 2013
Lexile measure 960; Ages 6-11; Gr.2-5
Cover image of How Tia Lola saved the summer
1st ed. New York : Alfred A. Knopf, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .L845 H68 2011
Lexile measure 850; Book level 5.5; Ages 8-12; Gr.4-7
First edition.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » ML3930 .P83 B76 2013
Lexile Measure AD740L; Ages 4-8; Gr.k-3
Cover image of Featherless
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press/Editorial Libros para Niños, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558.E79 .F48 2004
Book level 2.4; Ages 6-8, gr. K-3
Ages 2-6, gr. PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Scholastic, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .A587 R48 2012
Lexile measure 720; Ages 12 and up; Historical fiction, Multicultural, gr. 6-9
1st ed. New York : Tu Books, c2012
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C34486 S86 2012
Lexile measure 840; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12
Cover image of Antonio's card
San Francisco, Calif. : Children's Book Press, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3557 .O4695 A68 2005
Book level 3.2; Ages 5-9, gr. 1-5
Pura Belpre Illustrator Honor, 2012.; Ages 5 to 10; Realistic fiction, gr. PreK-3

Elementary level

Book level 4.9; Ages 7-12, gr. 3-6
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PN6110 .C4 A77 2004
ages 3-7; poetry and rhymes, PreK-Kindergarten
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GT2490 .H69 2002
Lexile measure 950; ages 9-13; book level 6.1; general nonfiction, gr. 5-7
Berkeley Heights, NJ : Enslow Publishers, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD6509 .C48 C78 2005
Gr. 5-8
Cover image of Cesar
1st ed. New York : Marshall Cavendish, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3602 .E7624 C47 2004
Ages 8-12; book level 4.3, gr. PreK-1
1st ed. New York : Henry Holt and Co., 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GV865 .C439 P47 2010
Ages 4-9; Book level 4.3, gr. 1-3
1st ed. New York : Scholastic, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 E87 2000
Lexile measure 750; ages 10-14; book level 5.3; historical fiction, gr. 5-8
Cover image of Finding our way
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JC599 .U5 C35 2003
Lexile measure 760; ages 11-18; book level 4.9; short stories
Houston, Tex. : Pinata Books, 1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .B4196 F5 1996
Book level 5.4; Ages 11-15
1st ed. El Paso, Tex. : Cinco Puntos Press, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .A832 G49 2004
Lexile measure 920; Ages 8-12; Grade level 3.8; Mystery suspense
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O73 G73 2009
Ages 3-6; Bedtime stories, PreK-2
Cover image of Grandma's gift
1st U.S. ed. New York : Walker, 2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3622 .E4356 G73 2010
Ages 5-9; Book level 5.3; Realistic Fiction, gr. 1-3
1st ed. San Diego : Harcourt, inc., c2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD6509 .C48 K78 2003
Lexile measure 800; Ages 5-12; Grade level 4.8; Biography, gr. K-4
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3551 .D22 I2 2002
Lexile measure 510; ages 4-8; book level 3.2; general fiction, gr. K-3
New York : G.P. Putnam's Sons, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .O72 I38 2002
Lexile measure 730; Ages 4-8; Grade level 3.2; Fiction, gr. 3-5
1st ed. New York : HarperCollins, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O5422 J83 2000
Lexile measure 390; Ages 3-10; Book level 2.6; Fables, folktales and myths, gr. K-2
Cover image of Just in case
1st ed. New York : Roaring Brook Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .O68 J875 2008
Book level 2.3; Ages 5-9; Gr.k-3
Houston, TX : Piñata Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .U99 L67 2001
Ages 12-15; Book level 4.8, gr. 4-7
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS595 .M64 L68 2001
Ages 8-12; Book level 4.5, gr. K-5
1st ed. El Paso, TX : Cinco Puntos Press, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .A7833 M39 2011
Awards: ALA children's award.; Awards: Pura Belpre Author Honor, 2012.; Lexile measure 820, gr. 2-5
New York : Delacorte Press, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H3766 P75 2006
Lexile measure 690; Book level 4.1; Ages 9-13; General fiction, gr. 5-9
Cover image of Tales our abuelitas told
1st ed. New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GR230 .C357 2006
Book level 6; Ages 6-10
Berkeley, Calif. : Tricycle Press, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .A255 W48 2009
Book level 2.9; Ages 3-6, gr. PreK-2
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books Inc., c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3563 .O73 Y86 2007
Lexile measure 970; Book level 5.3; Ages 4-9; Gr.3-5

Middle school level

Book level 4.9; Ages 7-12, gr. 3-6
Cover image of Bait
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A515 B35 2009
Lexile measure 630; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Scholastic Press, 2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 B43 2004
Lexile measure 830; ages 9-13; book level 5.4; realistic fiction, gr. 6-9
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .I55 B74 2001
Lexile measure 750; Ages 12-up; book level 5.3; autobiography and biography, gr. 7-12
1st ed. New York : Holiday House, c2002.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » GT2490 .H69 2002
Lexile measure 950; ages 9-13; book level 6.1; general nonfiction, gr. 5-7
Cover image of Cesar Chavez
Berkeley Heights, NJ : Enslow Publishers, c2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » HD6509 .C48 C78 2005
Gr. 5-8
New York : Razorbill, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .S645 S25 2007
Lexile measure 730; Ages 11-16; Book level 4.7; General fiction, gr. 7-10
1st ed. New York : Scholastic, c2000.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3568 .Y3926 E87 2000
Lexile measure 750; ages 10-14; book level 5.3; historical fiction, gr. 5-8
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JC599 .U5 C35 2003
Lexile measure 760; ages 11-18; book level 4.9; short stories
Houston, Tex. : Pinata Books, 1996.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .B4196 F5 1996
Book level 5.4; Ages 11-15
Cover image of Ghost Fever
1st ed. El Paso, Tex. : Cinco Puntos Press, c2004.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .A832 G49 2004
Lexile measure 920; Ages 8-12; Grade level 3.8; Mystery suspense
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A27 H4 2008
Gr. 8-12
1st ed. San Antonio, Tex. : Wings Press, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3570 .A255 H66 2008
Houston, TX : Piñata Books, c2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3607 .U99 L67 2001
Ages 12-15; Book level 4.8, gr. 4-7
Cover image of Prizefighter en mi casa
New York : Delacorte Press, c2006.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .H3766 P75 2006
Lexile measure 690; Book level 4.1; Ages 9-13; General fiction, gr. 5-9
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .I55 R43 2008
Lexile measure 910; Ages 12-up ; Book level 6.1; autobiography and biography, gr. 6-12
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, 2005.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3603 .A53 T47 2005
Lexile measure 830; ages 10-14; book level 4.6; general fiction, gr. 6-9
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C3448 U53 2011
Awards: William C. Morris Award finalist, 2012; Awards: Pura Belpré Author Award, 2012; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12

Young adult literature

Cover image of Aristotle and Dante discover the secrets of the universe
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A27 A75 2012
Lexile measure 380; Ages 15 and up, gr. 9-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3619 .A515 B35 2009
Lexile measure 630; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin, 2001.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .I55 B74 2001
Lexile measure 750; Ages 12-up; book level 5.3; autobiography and biography, gr. 7-12
1st ed. Albuquerque : University of New Mexico Press, 1999.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .E79 C73 1999
Lexile measure 520; ages 14-18; book level 3.6; general fiction, gr. 9-12
Cover image of Dark Dude
New York : Atheneum Books for Young Readers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3558 .I376 D37 2008
Lexile measure 980; ages 14-up; book level 5.6, gr. 9-12
New York : Razorbill, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3615 .S645 S25 2007
Lexile measure 730; Ages 11-16; Book level 4.7; General fiction, gr. 7-10
New York : Wendy Lamb Books, 2003.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » JC599 .U5 C35 2003
Lexile measure 760; ages 11-18; book level 4.9; short stories
Cover image of He forgot to say goodbye
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3569 .A27 H4 2008
Gr. 8-12
Boston : Houghton Mifflin Company, 2008.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3560 .I55 R43 2008
Lexile measure 910; Ages 12-up ; Book level 6.1; autobiography and biography, gr. 6-12
1st ed. New York : Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers, c2007.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PZ7 .A37338 S64 2007
Lexile measure 670; Book level 4.5; Ages 13 and up, gr. 10-12
1st ed. New York : Lee & Low Books, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Curriculum Collection » PS3613 .C3448 U53 2011
Awards: William C. Morris Award finalist, 2012; Awards: Pura Belpré Author Award, 2012; Ages 12 and up, gr. 7-12