You are here

Children's literature

Last Updated: 3-Oct-2014

This is a guide for those researching children's literature.

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Background information

New York : Routledge, 2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » PS121 .H22 2011
"Distinguished by its multidisciplinary approach, it describes and analyzes the different aspects of literary reading, texts, and contexts to illuminate how the book is transformed within and across different academic figurations of reading and interpreting children's literature."

New books

Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin, c2014.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » QA135.6 .J36 2014
Practice-oriented.
1st ed. Portland, Me. : Stenhouse Publishers, c2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1072 .W65 2013
Practice-oriented.
New York : Routledge, 2013.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1575.5 .U5 L45 2013
Stoke on Trent : Trentham, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1042 .S65 2012
Lanham : Rowman & Littlefield Publishers, Inc., [2012], ©2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN1008.8 .T44 2012
Practice-oriented.
Urbana, Ill. : National Council of Teachers of English, c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN1008.8 .M37 2011
Amsterdam ; Philadelphia, Pa. : John Benjamins Pub. Co., c2011.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1140.5 .R4 E43 2011
Urbana, Ill. : National Council of Teachers of English, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN1009 .A1 G76 2010
Practice-oriented.
Rev. and updated 2nd ed. Gainesville, FL : Maupin House, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1576 .M7294 2010
Practice-oriented.
Portsmouth, NH : Heinemann, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN147.5 .R39 2010
Practice-oriented.
Lanham, Md. : Rowman & Littlefield Education, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » B52 .W378 2009
Practice-oriented.
3rd ed. Newark, DE : International Reading Association, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1573 .C455 2009
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, 2009.
Green Library » Stacks » PR990 .G83 2009
Santa Barbara, Calif. : Libraries Unlimited, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1631 .B393 2009
100th anniversary ed. New York : Teachers College Press, Teachers College, Columbia University, c2009.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » Z1037 .A1 B245 2009
Boston : McGraw-Hill Higher Education, c2010.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » LB1575.5 .U5 K54 2010

Journals

[New York, etc., APS Publications, etc.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » Z1037 .A1 C5 V.39 2008
Detroit, Gale Research.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Stacks » PN1009 .A1 C5139 V.169 2012
Boston, The Horn Book Inc.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reading Room
[Brooklyn, N.Y.]
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » PN1009 .A1 L54 V.32 2008

Databases

Education databases

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.
[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.
Bethesda, MD : Editorial Projects in Education, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Birmingham, AL : Teachers College Record
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"Teachers College Record Book Reviews provides comprehensive reviews of the leading books in education and educational research by major scholars in these fields. "

Related databases

[New Haven, Conn.?] : Children's Literature
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
"an extensive array of information about children's books, video and audio recordings, film strips, and other children-focused media."
[New York] : H.W. Wilson, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The most important index to journals, books and dissertations in literature and language. Produced by the Modern Language Association.

Stanford collections

Websites