You are here

Chinese biographies

Last Updated: 19-May-2014

This guide identifies major Chinese biographical resources in Stanford's collections as well as links to outside resources.

Subject Librarians

Chinese studies librarian
(650) 388-8295

Subjects

Finding research books and articles on individuals

- Searchworks or Socrates. Please note, if one searches in Chinese characters for Chinese materials, for the best results, please use Socrates. Currently the CJK searching functionalities for Searchworks are still under development.

- Bibliography of Asian Studies, This is the online version of the Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS), referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.

Historical abstracts with full text, covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present, including world history, military history, women's history, and history of education. Provides selective indexing of historical articles from more than 1,800 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955 as well as the full text of more than 300 journals and over 130 books.

- China Academic Journals, a full text databases covering approximately 6,600 journal titles from the People's Republic of China.

- Taiwan Electronic Periodical Service (TEPS), covers full text articles published in leading Taiwanese academic journals.

- Duxiu 读秀知识库, provides full-text access or bibliographical information to over 2 million core Chinese monographs and journals, as well as over 500 yearbooks published in mainland China.

- National Index to Chinese Newspapers & Periodicals 全国报刊索引, an index database covering information from 1833 to the present. It lists about 18,000 kinds of newspapers and periodicals published in China.

- Chinamaxx, fulltext database of hundreds of thousands of books published in China since 1949 concentrating on social sciences and humanities.

 

Selected general Chinese reference works

Di 1 ban. Shanghai : Shanghai shu dian, 1980
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .C62 1984

中國人名大辭典 / 臧勵龢等編

Di 1 ban. Shanghai : Shanghai gu ji chu ban she, 1999.
East Asia Library » Reference (Chinese) (non-circulating) » DS734 .C6254 1999 V.1

中国历代人名大辞典/ 张撝之, 沈起炜, 刘德重主编

Di 1 ban. Shanghai : Shanghai ci shu chu ban she, 1990.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .C651 1990

中国人名大词典. 历史人物卷/ [廖盖隆, 罗竹风, 范源主编].

Di 1 ban. Shanghai : Shanghai ci shu chu ban she, 1992.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .C652 1992

中国人名大词典. 当代人物卷

Di 1 ban. Beijing Shi : Beijing tu shu guan chu ban he, 2002.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .W78 2002

中國古代名人生卒, 歷史大事年譜 / 吴榮光編 ; 陳垣校注

Di 1 ban. Beijing Shi : Beijing tu shu guan chu ban she, 2002.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .Q527 2002

歷代名人生卒錄 / 錢保塘編

Di 1 ban. Zhengzhou Shi : Zhongzhou gu ji chu ban she, 1997.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS735.A2 E695 1997 V.1

二十五史人名大辞典 / 主编黄惠贤 ; 副主编赵泽轩

Di 1 ban. Jinan : Qi Lu shu she, 2000.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .E75 2000 V.1

二十五史外人物总传要籍集成 / 董治安主编

Washington, United States Government Printing Office, 1943-44.
Green Library » Stacks » DS734 .U65 V.1

清代名人傳略

Di 1 ban. Shanghai : Shanghai shu dian, 1983.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .P38 1983

古今同姓名大辭典/ 彭作桢辑著

Di 1 ban. Beijing : Zhongguo guo ji guang bo dian tai chu ban she : Xin hua shu dian zong dian Beijing fa xing suo fa xing, 1989.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .L5 1989

中国近现代人名大辞典/ 主编李盛平

Quan bian zeng ding ben, di 1 ban. Hangzhou : Zhejiang gu ji chu ban she, 2005.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .C576 2005

中国近现代人物名号大辞典 / 陈玉堂编著

Zeng ding ban, Di 2 ban. Shijiazhuang Shi : Hebei ren min chu ban she, 2007.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS776 .M5654 2007 V.1

民國人物大辭典 / 主編徐友春

Di 1 ban. [Peking] : Zhongguo jing ji chu ban she : Xin hua shu dian jing xiao, 1989.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS778.A1 C482 1989

中华人民共和国人物辞典, 1949-1989 / 王乃庄, 王德树主编

Di 2 ban. Beijing : Wai wen chu ban she chu ban : Zhongguo guo ji tu shu mao yi zong gong si fa xing, 1994.
East Asia Library » Reference (non-circulating) » DS734 .C65 1994

中国人名大词典. 现任党政军领导人物卷 / 《中国人名大词典》编辑部编

Internet biographical resources