You are here

Civil engineering resources

Last Updated: 30-Jul-2014

A listing of selected online and print resources for research in Civil and Environmental Engineering - CEE .   For interested students, Stanford has a student chapter of the American Society of Civil Engineers.  http://www.asce.org/

General engineering resources

A selection of good general databases with multidisciplinary holdings.

Ipswich, Mass. : EBSCO Pub., c2005-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A good source for articles on the business and market aspects of civil, environmental, and construction engineering.
Hoboken, N.J. : Elsevier Engineering Information, Inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Engineering Index / Engineering Village covers the entire spectrum of engineering in depth, with abstracts from over 2,600 international journals, conference papers and proceedings, and technical reports.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and abstracts to the literature in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, telecommunications, computers, control technology, and information technology. Covers journal articles, conference papers, significant books, technical reports, dissertations, and patents. INSPEC is the premier database for physics & related disciplines but also covers areas like systems management and operations research.
Springfield, Va. : U.S. Dept. of Commerce, National Technical Information Service,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Containing over 2.0 million bibliographic records, the NTRL Database is the preeminent resource for accessing the latest research sponsored by the United States and select foreign governments.Contents include research reports, computer products, software, video cassettes, audio cassettes and more. The complete electronic file dates back to 1964. Access via NTRL (National Technical Reports Library) also includes full-text access to more than 500,000 documents.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The world’s largest abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources. Contains 41 million records, 70% with abstracts including 18,000 titles from 5,000 publishers worldwide and over 3 million conference papers. Particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Also includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research. Linking between ScienceDirect and Scopus is available to access the full text of the article and related research.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides for forward or backward cited searching. With a recent article, you typically use the bibliography to go back in time. In a way, the citation index lets you do the reverse. You can take an older article and see who has cited that article since it was published.

Selected civil engineering resources

Detroit, Mich. : American Concrete Institute,
Engineering Library (Terman) » Stacks, non-circulating item » TA439 .A24 2014:PT.7

Stanford users can access full-text American Concrete Institute Manual of Concrete Practice via the TechStreet platform. Please note, you must have the File Open plugin for Acrobat, to view the full-text files.

New York, N.Y. : American National Standards Institute
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Provides journal papers from 1983-present for all 32 Journals, and proceedings papers from 2001-present for more than 257 conference proceedings. A mobile version is available.

Reston, VA : ASCE Publications, 2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Provides journal papers from 1983-present for all 32 Journals, and proceedings papers from 2001-present for more than 257 conference proceedings. A mobile version is available.

Brattleboro, VT : BuildingGreen.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Helps building-industry professionals design and build construction projects that minimizes ecological impact and maximizes economic performance. Includes product specifications and case studies.

[California] : National Information Service for Earthquake Engineering, University of California, Berkeley, [199-]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Covers topics in structural dynamics, seismology, geology, architecture, political science, economics, planning, public policy, and hazards mitigation as they relate to earthquake studies. Coverage 1971 to present.

Alexandria, Va. : American Geological Institute,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Provides access to journal articles, books, maps, conference papers, reports and theses. Includes more than 25,145 publications.

Quincy, MA : National Fire Protection Association, c2004--
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Stanford users can access full-text online standards from the National Fire Protection Association via the TechStreet platform. Please note, you must have the File Open plugin for Acrobat, to view the full-text files.

Buffalo, N.Y. : National Center for Earthquake Engineering Research, 1987-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Covers Earthquakes, earthquake engineering, natural hazards mitigation, and related topics. An attempt is made to exclude the items already listed in NTRL, Engineering Index/Compendex, and GeoRef.

Specialty civil engineering resources

In addition to these resources, Stanford also has access to the Institution of Civil Engineers Virtual Library.  The papers from all the ICE Proceedings,  Selected Engineering Papers, Transactions of the ICE and Journal of the ICE are covered from 1836 to the present. Also contains selected e-books. All the items are cataloged in SearchWorks.

Boca Raton, FL : CRC Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This large online e-book library includes a collection of over 139 Civil engineering books.
[Norwich, N.Y.] : Knovel, 2003-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Over 800 e-books. Subject areas include civil engineering & construction materials; eurocodes; concrete and related materials; structural engineering and buildings and energy efficiency.
New York, N.Y. : Material ConneXion
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
A constantly growing database of materials and processes. The information, includes high-quality photographs and company/vendor contact information. Search all of the materials by keyword, material type, manufacturer name, etc. Seek a creative or competitive edge through strategic material selections.
[London, England] : IWA Publishing, 2002-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Access books, research reports, research papers and conference proceedings covering water, wastewater and related environmental topics. Coverage varies by resource, but is in general 2002 to present.

Internet resources for civil engineering