You are here

Cognitive Psychology

Last Updated: 9-Apr-2014

[Stanford] "Faculty in the cognitive area investigate a wide range of topics including language, meaning and mental representation, perception, learning, memory, decision making and reasoning. We use methods including behavioral experimentation, computational and mathematical modeling, naturalistic observation and cross-cultural fieldwork, and neuro-imaging methods, and collaborate with neurophysiologists, neuopsychologists, developmental psychologists, linguists, and anthropologists."

Subject Librarians

Head of Cubberley Education Library, Curator for Education Resources, Subject Librarian for Psychology
(650) 996-0592
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Overviews

2nd ed. Hoboken, N.J. : Wiley, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF121 .H213 2013 V.1
Select the Table of Contents to see the chapters available electronically.

Recently received

Cover image of Educational neuroscience
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Guilford Press, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF311 .H3336 2013
Cover image of The Oxford handbook of cognitive psychology
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF201 .O94 2013
1st ed. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » BF311 .H3346 2013
Cambridge ; New York : Cambridge University Press, 2012.
Green Library » Stacks » BF455 .C36 2012
Cover image of Cambridge handbook of cognitive science
Cambridge : Cambridge University Press, 2012, ©2012.
Green Library » Stacks » BF311 .C186 2012
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » QL785 .C535 2012
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2012.
Green Library » Stacks » BD418.3 .O93 2012
Cover image of The Oxford handbook of social neuroscience
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press, c2011.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » RC343 .O94 2011

Other books

1st ed. Washington, DC : American Psychological Association, 2012.
Education Library (Cubberley) » Reference (non-circulating) » LB1051 .A618 2012 V.1
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Corwin Press, c2005.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » RC334 .S98 2005
Oxford ; New York: Oxford University Press, 2001.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » BF311 .O94 2001
"Based on the seminal Oxford Companion to the Mind, this Guide presents a thematically organized tour of the mind: what it is, what it does, and what happens when things go wrong."
1st ed. Amsterdam ; New York : Elsevier, 2001.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » H41 .I58 2001 V.1
"This Encyclopedia is the first attempt in a generation to map the social and behavioral sciences on a grand scale. "
4th ed. Cambridge, Mass. : MIT Press, c2009.
Biology Library (Falconer) » Stacks » QP360.5 .N4986 2009
"Each edition of this classic reference has proved to be a benchmark in the developing field of cognitive neuroscience. "
3rd ed. New York : John Wiley & Sons, c2002.
Green Library » Social Sciences Resource Center (non-circulating) » BF181 .H336 2002 V.1
"This revised and updated edition of the definitive resource for experimental psychology offers comprehensive coverage of developments in the field, as well as the explosion of research in neuroscience."
2nd ed. Chichester, West Sussex, U.K. ; Malden, MA : Wiley-Blackwell, 2011.
Green Library » Stacks » BF723 .C5 B5 2011

Databases

Psychology databases

[Bethesda, Md.] : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association,
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides full text access to articles from journals published by APA and allied organizations since 1988. Covers general psychology and specialized basic, applied, clinical, and theoretical research in psychology.
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : American Psychological Association.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Related Databases

Library ed., trial version. Cambridge : Massachusetts Institute of Technology, 2000-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

"This is a growing collection of searchable electronic texts in the field of cognitive and brain sciences."

[Bronx, N.Y.] : H.W. Wilson Co.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Indexes and abstracts articles of English-language periodicals and books on education from 1983 on. Abstracting coverage begins with January 1994. Full-text coverage begins in January 1996 and is available for over half the 600 journals indexed.

[Washington, DC : National Library of Education?, 199?-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Bibliographic database of educational resources including articles, reports, and curriculum.

New York, N.Y. : Ovid Technologies [distributor, 19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

A database designed to help identify measurement tests used in health, psychosocial sciences, organizational behavior, and library and information science; provides sources, abstract, and reviewer(s) when applicable.

La Jolla, Calif. : Sociological Abstracts, Inc., 1985- 2004.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » P1 .L26 V.27 PT.2 1993

Websites

Journals

Key Journals

Hove [East Sussex]; Hillsdale, USA : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, Publishers, 1987-
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Austin, TX : Psychonomic Society, c2001-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP351 .P542 V.10 2010
Lausanne [Switzerland, etc.] Elsevier Sequoia [etc.] 1972-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF311 .C5 V.110 2009:JAN.-FEB
New York, Academic Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF311 .C6 V.57-58:NO.1 2008-2009
New York, Plenum Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » RC489 .C63 C6 V.32 2008:FEB.-JUN
Kidlington, Oxford, UK : Elsevier Science, c1997-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF309 .T74 V.12 2008:JAN.-DEC
San Diego [i.e. New York, N.Y.] : Academic Press, c1985-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF455 .A1 J6 V.59 2008:JUL.-NOV
[New York] Cambridge University Press.
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Cambridge, Mass. : Published by the MIT Press with the Cognitive Neuroscience Institute, c1989-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP360 .J695 V.22 2010:NOV.-DEC
Oxford [etc.] Pergamon Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » RC321 .N435 V.39:NO.1-4 2001

More Journals

Norwood, N.J., Ablex Pub. Corp.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF311 .C633 V.32:NOS.7-8 2008
London, UK : Current Biology Ltd., c1991-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP351 .C885 V.19 2009
Hove [England] ; Hillsdale, NJ, USA : Published for the European Society for Cognitive Psychology by L. Erlbaum Associates, c1989-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF309 .E9 V.22:5-8 2010
[Buffalo, N.Y.] Creative Educational Foundation.
Green Library » Stacks » BF408 .J6 V.45 2011
New York, Academic Press.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » 370.5 .J849 V.104 2009
Washington, D.C. : American Psychological Association, 1982-
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Hove, UK : L. Erlbaum Associates, c1985-
Green Library » Stacks » P37 .L362 V.26:NO.8-10 2011
[Austin, Tex.] Psychonomic Society.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » BF371 .M45 V.38 2010:JUL.-DEC
Mahwah, NJ : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c2000-
Green Library » Current Periodicals
New York : Academic Press, [c1982-
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP376 .B69595 V.69 2009:FEB.-MAR
London ; Hillsdale, N.J. : Lawrence Erlbaum Associates, c1984-
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Oxford, UK : Oxford Journals, Oxford University Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Utrecht, The Netherlands : VNU Science Press, 1985-2009.
SAL3 (off-campus storage) » Stacks » QP474 .S68 V.22 2009