You are here

Communicating science

PWR 2CR - Fall 2014 - Instructor: Ross, C.
Last Updated: 14-Oct-2014

A guide to print and online resources for PWR 2CR:  Communicating Science and the Environment.   Topics include communicating science and environmental research about climate change, biodiversity, energy, agricultural and water issues and the activism and policies surrounding these topics.

Background/Reference sources

Use these sources to help you pick a topic and to provide context to your research based argument.

[United States] : McGraw-Hill, [2000?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
An online collection of articles, bibliographies, study guides, dictionaries, etc. serving as a searchable encyclopedia of science and technology.
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : Sage Publications, c2003.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » QA76.575 .E5368 2003
More than 250 entries that place new communication technology, multimedia, entertainment and e-commerce within their social context. Each subject is examined in depth in a single, coherent article and the Encyclopedia is the first comprehensive, A-Z reference on the ongoing revolution in communications.
2nd ed. Amsterdam ; Boston : Elsevier, c2013.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
E-book with practical advice alongside numerous examples to aid learning.  Makes the preparation of documentation much easier for all students. The steps to writing abstracts, theses, journal papers, funding bids, literature reviews, and more.  Written in modular format, so you only need to access the relevant chapters.
Expanded ed. Singapore ; Hackensack, NJ : World Scientific, c2011.
Marine Biology Library (Miller) » Stacks » T11 .L456 2011
Helps scientists write papers for scientific journals. Using the key parts of typical scientific papers (Title, Abstract, Introduction, Visuals, Structure, and Conclusions), it shows through numerous examples, how to achieve the essential qualities required in scientific writing, namely being clear, concise, convincing, fluid, interesting, and organized. To enable the writer to assess whether these parts are well written from a reader's perspective, the book also offers practical metrics in the form of six checklists.
Berlin ; New York : Springer, c2006.
Chemistry & ChemEng Library (Swain) » Stacks » T11 .L37 2006
This book has two main parts, corresponding to the type of scientific communication task at hand: addressing peers and the general public, plus a third briefer section on how to inform decision-makers.  This book is geared to engineers and scientists, educators and journalists, science administrators and the medical profession, editors and publishers, whether native or non-native-speakers - in short to anyone having to convert scientific data into an easily intelligible and interesting narrative.
Oxford ; New York : Oxford University Press ; Walton Hill, Milton Keynes [U.K.] : Open University, 2009.
SAL1&2 (on-campus shelving) » Stacks » Q224 .I68 2009
Investigating Science Communication in the Information Age is a collection of newly-commissioned chapters by leading science communication scholars. It addresses current theoretical, practical and policy developments in science communication, including recent calls for greater openness and transparency; and engagement and dialogue on the part of professional scientists with members of the public.
2nd ed. Washington, D.C. : CQ Press, c2010.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JZ1242 .W67 2010
Provides in-depth analysis of current global hot topics. Arranged topically, the 32 essays address a wide range of key issues, including demographics, economics, education, health, politics, and security.

Suggested databases

Not sure what other databases to try?  Check here .  To locate additional databases by name or topic, use the SearchWorks online catalog and select the database facet.  For other topics check the related guides listed in the right sidebar of this page.

Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text for over 4,650 scholarly publications, more than 3,600 of them peer-reviewed. Includes topics in the social sciences, humanities, general science, education and most areas of academic study.
Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Full-text information and perspectives from over 600 U.S. and over 700 international sources.
[Stamford, Conn.] : Softline Information, [2001]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
This is the site for full text alternative press coverage. Use this in combination with Access World News to see the entire range of media coverage on your topic.
Bethesda, Md. : Cambridge Scientific Abstracts ; Thousand Oaks, Calif. : SAGE Publications, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers such subjects as Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication, Cultural Studies / Intercultural Communication, Television / Film Studies, Media Studies, Business Communication, Organizational / Management Communication, Written Communication, Rhetoric, and Literacy Studies.
Wallingford, Oxfordshire : CAB International, [19--]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Covers the fields of agriculture, forestry, animal and veterinary sciences, human health and communicable diseases, human nutrition, food science, animal health and welfare, microbiology and parasitology, leisure and tourism, plant science and crop science, and the management and conservation of natural resources. The database indexes literature published from 1910 to the present.
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides access to various sub-databases, including current news, business information, company directories, federal and state laws, regulations, legal cases, medical and references.
[Bethesda, Md.] : Congressional Information Service
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.
Bethesda, MD : National Center for Biotechnology Information, [1997]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Index to over 5,000 journals in medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system, and the preclinical sciences, including both basic biomedical sciences and clinical practice.
Nashville, Tenn. : Television News Archive, Vanderbilt University
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Searchable archive of abstracts of news broadcasts from 1968 to present (ABC, CBS, NBC), 1995 to present (CNN), selected content from PBS and FOX News.  Video content from CNN viewable with RealOne media player.