You are here

Communication 143/243 Communication Policy and Regulation

COMM 143, 243 - Spring 2014 - Instructor: James T. Hamilton, Anita Varma (TA)
Last Updated: 21-Apr-2014

Communication Policy and Regulation: COMM 134, 243

 

This course explores the creation and implementation of communication policies in the US. The course focuses on how individual decisions of political actors – whether they are in interest groups, legislatures, agencies, or audiences – are translated into collective choices in communication policies.

Subject Librarians

Bibliographer for Anthropology & Archaeology, Communication & Journalism, Feminist Studies, Lusophone Africa Collections, and Sociology
(831) 251-5700
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Economics and Political Science Subject Specialist
(650) 521-4341
US Government Information Librarian
(650) 862-9871
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.
Government Information Librarian, State, Local and International Documents
(650) 723-2851
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Government Info & Interest Groups

Government information & resources related to interest groups

Washington, D.C. [etc.] Barone & Co. [etc.]
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JK1012 .A44 2010
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Congress.govCongress.gov is gradually replacing the near 20-year-old THOMAS.gov site. Congress.gov currently includes all data sets available on THOMAS.gov except nominations, treaties and communications.
[Washington, D.C. : CQ Press
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
CQ's authoritative and balanced coverage of public affairs includes the CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government, the electronic version of Washington Information Directory (eWID).
Helena, MT : National Institute on Money in State Politics.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The National Institute on Money in State Politics states it is the only nonpartisan, nonprofit organization revealing the influence of campaign money on state-level elections and public policy in all 50 states. 
Florence, KY : Gale Cengage Learning, [200-?]-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Online compendium of directories on companies, publishers, associations, etc. Includes the National Directory of Nonprofit Organizations.
[Washington, D.C.] : Civic Impulse, LLC
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
GovTrack is a civic project to track Congress.The site allows users to track legislation and votes in the United States Congress with customized RSS feeds and email updates, and provides information on members of Congress, voting records, district maps, and congressional committees. Also provides the status of federal legislation, and access to the Congressional Record. GovTrack.us is a non-commercial, non-partisan, and open-source project.
[Berkeley, Calif.] : MapLight.org. [Berkeley, Calif.] : TakeBackCA.org.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
MapLight is a non-partisan, non-profit organization that "connects data on campaign contributions, politicians, votes, industries, companies, and more to show patterns of influence.
Washington, D.C. : National Center for Charitable Statistics.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The National Center for Charitable Statistics (NCCS) serves as the national repository of statistical information on the nonprofit sector in the United States.
Washington, D.C. : Sunlight Foundation ; Participatory Politics Foundation
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
OpenCongress collects every publicly-available piece of legislation (i.e., every bill), vote, committee report and official government data and combines it with news and blog coverage, social networking, and participation tools to give you the real story behind what's happening in Congress. 
Washington, DC : Center for Responsive Politics
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
The Center for Responsive Politics is 'a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington, D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy.' Opensecrets.org, the Center's Web site, provides information from the Federal Election Commission about campaign contributions to Congress, to the political parties and the presidential campaigns. 

Select Books on Interest Groups

Los Angeles : SAGE ; Washington, DC : CQ Press, c2012.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JK1118 .G85 2012
Upper Saddle River, N.J. : Prentice Hall, c2000.
Green Library » Stacks » JK1118 .M299 2000
2nd ed. New York : Routledge, 2013.
Green Library » Stacks » JK1118 .N68 2013
Thousand Oaks, Calif. : CQ Press, c2013.
Green Library » Stacks » JK1118 .G62 2013

Public opinion resources

Selected public opinion resources

Nashville, TN : Latin American Public Opinion Project, Vanderbuilt University
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Ann Arbor, MI : Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Storrs, Conn. : Roper Center for Public Opinion Research
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Includes but not limited to the Gallup Poll, Harris Poll and the Pew Research Center
[Bethesda, Md.?] : SilverPlatter International, c1996-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Washington, DC : Matthew C. MacWilliams, Thomas H. Silver,
Green Library » Current Periodicals
See also, current polls at the Polling Report website.

News & media

Selected news and media databases and resources

Search here: 

Lexis/Nexis is a major news, business.  and legal publications index. 

Proquest Newsstand is also a good source of current US news.  and media

Web link to FAIR - Fairness and accuracy in Reporting.

Web link to Federal Communications Commission (FCC) and Transistions FCC for headlines news from the FCC.

The FCC regulates interstate and international communications by radio, television, wire, satellite and cable in all 50 states, the District of Columbia and U.S. territories and is an independent U.S. government agency.

See also: Finding Newspapers Guide

Additional News Databases listed below:

-----------------------------------------------------------

Chester, Vt. : NewsBank, inc.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Fort Washington, Penn. : AccuNet.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Image databse from the Associated Press
[San Francisco] : blinkx, c2009-
Medical Library (Lane) » Check Medical Library (Lane) catalog for status » (no call number)
Videos of news and politics online.
[Ipswich, MA] : EBSCO Pub., c2004-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
New York : Dow Jones & Reuters.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Has latest 2 weeks for The New York Times, The Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and more; older issues available by using Search Builder.
Ipswich, MA : EBSCO Publishing, c2006-
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Detroit, Mich. : Gale Research, c1990-
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » Z6951 .A97 ED. 150 V. 5 2014
[Miamisburg, OH] : LexisNexis, division of Reed Elsevier
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Cambridge, Mass., Nieman Foundation at Harvard University.
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)

Secondary Sources: Journal article databases & encyclopedias

Selected article databases

Acdemic Search Premier - Comprehensive multidisciplinary journal literature database. Includes full-text access.

Ciao: Columbia International Affair Online - A comprehensive source for theory and research in international affairs. 

Communication & Mass Media Complete - Offers information from over 600 journals in communication, mass media and related fields; includes abstracts, indexing, bibliographical citations and author profiles, as well as full text from more 240 titles.

Communication Studies - SAGE full-text -Includes the full-text of 16 journals published by SAGE and participating societies related to  Journalism, Public Opinion, Political Communication, Mass Communication, Interpersonal Communication.

Congressional Publications -Congressional Information Service publications via Proquest. Full-text access to Congressional hearings, reports and documents, as well as reports from the Congressional Research Service (CRS), Congress' thinktank.

CQ Electronic Library - CQ's authoritative and balanced coverage of public affairs includes the CQ Researcher, CQ Weekly, CQ's Electronic Encyclopedia of American Government, the electronic version of Washington Information Directory (eWID), and the CQ Public Affairs Collection, CQ Insider.

ERIC - The Educational Resources Information Center (ERIC) is a national information system providing access to education-related literature. Urban Education. 

GenderWatch - Full text collection of journals, magazines, newsletters, regional publications, books, booklets and pamphlets, conference proceedings and governmental n-g-o and special reports devoted to women's and gender issues. 

IBSS - International Bibliography of the Social Sciences. This database is compiled by the British Library of Political and Economic Science of the London School of Economics and Political Science.

Index to Current Urban DocumentsThe Index to Current Urban Documents (ICUD), contains reports and research generated by local government agencies, civic organizations, academic and research organizations, public libraries, and metropolitan and regional planning agencies from more than 500 major cities in the United States and Canada. 

LexisNexis Statistical Insight-Provides statistical data from U.S. government publications from 1973, state and private sources from 1980, and international organizations from 1983.

PAIS international- The Public Affairs Information Service covers issues in the public debate.

SCOPUS - Social Sciences - Social Science abstract and citation database, including peer-reviewed titles from international publishers, Open Access journals, conference proceedings, trade publications, quality web sources.

Social Science Citation Index - An international, multidisciplinary index to the literature of the social, behavioral, and related sciences.

Sociological Abstracts - Sociological Abstracts abstracts and indexes the international literature in sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. 

Sociology - Sage Journals Online - See also "Journals" tab.

Urban Studies Abstracts - Urban Studies Abstracts includes bibliographic records covering essential areas related to urban studies, including urban affairs, community development, urban history, and other areas of key relevance to the discipline. 

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts - This database provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.

Select journals related to political communication

Melbourne, Vic. : RMIT Pub.
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
London : Routledge, c1998-
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Washington, D.C., National Journal Group Inc.
Green Library » Current Periodicals
Note: this is also a database of the website of National Journal
Washington : Crane, Russak, 1992-
Green Library » Current Periodicals
New York : Crane Russak, 1980-c1991.
Green Library » Stacks » JA76 .P64 V.8 1991
Bethesda, MD : CSA ; Thousand Oaks, CA : Sage Publications
Stanford University Libraries » Online resource » (no call number)
Sage database of full text articles related to politica science.

Encyclopedias for background information

Detroit, Gale Research Co.
Green Library » InfoCenter: Ready Reference (non-circulating) » AS22 .E5 ED.53 SUPPL. 2015
Available online to Stanford-affiliated users as part of Gale's ready reference shelf.
Armonk, NY : Sharpe Reference, c2000.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JK1118 .N47 2000 V.1
Los Angeles : Sage Publications, c2008.
Green Library » InfoCenter (non-circulating) » JA85 .E64 2008 V.1
Political communication