You are here

Computer science

Last Updated: 24-Feb-2014

This guide provides a general overview of research resources in computer science.

Subject Librarians

Sarah Lester
Engineering Librarian for Outreach, Instruction and Electronic Resources
(650) 725-1018
Live chat with librarians requires JavaScript.

Subjects

Research databases

This site provides searchable and browsable access to many ACM journals and transactions beginning with volume 1. It also includes conference proceedings as far back as 1954, as well as many Special Interest Group (SIG) publications. Part of the ACM Portal to Computing Literature which includes the ACM Guide to Computing Literature.
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.
Allows researchers to search, browse and download papers from its free online repository.
Contains over 9 million records and references over 5,000 international engineering sources including journal, conference, and trade publications. Also known as Engineering Index.
Provides full-image access to the publications of both the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE); includes all journals, magazines, standards and conference proceedings.
[United States] : Institution of Electrical Engineers, INSPEC service, [19--]-
Provides a comprehensive index to the published literature in physics, electrical/electronic engineering, computing, control engineering, information technology, production, manufacturing and mechanical engineering as well as materials science, oceanography, nuclear engineering, geophysics, biomedical engineering and biophysics. Coverage begins in 1898.
[New York] : Elsevier, 2004-
Scopus has particularly strong international coverage of science and technology. Scopus includes sophisticated tools to track, analyze and visualize research.
Philadelphia, PA : Institute for Scientific Information, c1998-
Provides access to the Science citation index expanded from 1900 to the present, and records from January 1991 to the present include abstracts.

Books and manuals

Technical reports

Searching the technical reports collection

Print versions of computer science technical reports are held by the Mathematics & Statistics Library. Records for the reports can be found in SearchWorks, by searching for the title of the report.

The collection includes computer science, mathematics, statistics, and operations research technical reports from various sources around the world from the mid-1950's to the present. The bulk of the collection is composed of computer science-related reports issued by U.S. institutions from the 1970's and 1980's. Many were later published in magazines and refereed journals.

Searching for and downloading Stanford Computer Science technical reports and notes

The most recent technical reports (2000+ ) can be found at on the Computer Science Technical Report server. To search for technical reports or browse the Computer Science Department technical reports and notes available online (with abstracts) by decade and by type. Click on the link of the report (if available) to download a copy from the ftp site. Please note that only some Stanford technical reports are available online. Reports published prior to 2000 can be found in SearchWorks.

For other sources of Technical Reports and instructions on accessing Stanford CS Technical Reports via FTP, please see the Mathematics & Statistics Library Technical Reports page.